We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic budget hotel to use as a 'home base'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic budget hotel to use as a 'home base'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hyatt Place is the place to stay when you are serious about seeing the rest of Hawaii. Located down the Diamond Head end of Waikiki, it is one block from the beach and close to bars, restaurants and public transport. The rooms are clean with modern furniture, comfy beds, large flat screeen tvs, they have a free buffet breakfast with good options to start the day and free wifi and computers to use in their lobbies. There is also an Expedia tour desk to book your daily excursions which is very helpful. This is not the place to stay on honeymoon or a luxury getaway, their pool is tiny - you will not use it. Hawaii is awesome, do not stay in your hotel room and do not spend all your time in Waikiki. This hotel is perfect for someone wanting a clean, nice room with free breakfast (which is hard to find in hawaii) to use as their home base as they travel around the beautiful island of Oahu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    834
    218
    60
    28
See reviews for
700
695
99
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
153 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a really well done hotel. It is only a block off the beach and close to the action of down town Honolulu. The rooms are very well done and the public rooms are well maintained. It is not a full service hotel but it does have the service you need. You can get a drink at happy hour and light food through out the day. Free breakfast is always a bonus but it does get crowded and windy. The staff were very kind and helpful. This is a great bargin given the going rate for other hotels in the area. I enjoyed this more than our stay at Turtle Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VrmtTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed for a week at this hotel for our trip to Oahu. We received a complementary upgrade to a mountain view which was really sweet. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is very clean, our housekeepers Leonida and Mirla did such an awesome job refreshing our rooms every day. The staff is always so helpful with our needs. The daily breakfast is also a good deal. The distance to Waikiki Beach is really great, and there are so many nearby restaurants and stores around.

Now this is just a heads-up to the travelers: this hotel only has valet parking. We rented a car throughout this trip and my husband and I both think that might have been a mistake. PARKING is the number one issue when visiting this place.

Luckily, heeding a fellow Tripadvisor's review and the hotel's valet staff, we ended up parking across the street at the Waikiki Banyan, which was $12/night. (Also available for $72/week, but we realized this after they increased the nightly rate to $15/night). So, it was really a crazy dilemma between $28valet at the hotel that we're staying at vs. $15 across the street, self-park. We spent $130 for parking alone. That was my only trouble with this hotel. If you are renting a car, be prepared to pay for this.

Waikiki beach is a beautiful beach, but coming from a tropical country, I think it is average. The number of homeless people along the stretch of the beach and the streets is what's disturbing.

But going back to the hotel, I would recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanMSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kwajalein Island, Marshall Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice location with quick access to the beach. The first room we were put into was so unbelievably small for three people. It had one bed with a small pull out "bed". the pull out was 1/2 the size of a twin bed, and that filled up the room, with no walking space between the bed and the pull-out. When I asked to be moved I was made to pay $100.00 for an upgrade. This did not start my vacation out well. After the move we were somewhat satisfied. Breakfast was generally good. I really liked that it was included.

Room Tip: Do not take the lowest category room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwajalein92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There is nothing not to like about Hyatt Place. The location is fantastic (a two-minute walk to the beach, a slew of restaurants and world-class shopping). The rooms are a nice size, crisply furnished and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful, and I thought the breakfast buffet - which I try to avoid in most hotels - was very good. By which I mean the pastries seemed to come from a bakery that cares, the Kona coffee was hot and delicious and the bacon-and-egg-on-a-bun thingie was fab. And, of course, the place was immaculate and the Wifi was "free." That said, the view wasn't much and it's not a hotel that will wow you with doric columns, wave-pools and a four-story atrium. It's just really nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've been to Honolulu several times over the past 2 years for business and have stayed at the Hyatt Place for several of those visits. This time was a bit disappointing, especially since I was finally able to bring my wife with me.

The staff seemed just a bit less attentive than previous trips - when we arrived to check in, there were two front desk staff chatting casually with a guest while we stood there awkwardly for several minutes waiting. Once we got to our room, I was a bit dismayed to see that we were given a rather small room - not the larger suite I was given on previous trips and booked for this trip. I was told this was an "upgrade" since I could see a sliver of mountain from the window. I would have traded view for space in this case. I called down pretty much every morning and was told that they weren't sure what they had available, or they weren't sure, or they didn't have anything.

Breakfast was the standard Hyatt Place menu - some sort of breakfast sandwich that rotated every morning, along with fresh fruit (why does the pineapple just plain taste better in Hawaii?), yogurt, and assorted pastries/carbs. The coffee was actually very good and I always took a cup to go.

Be warned ahead of time - especially if you've never been to Waikiki - it's a magnet for Japanese and other asian tourists. This is not necessarily a bad thing - I think it's great for the local economy. They do, however, come with a different set of rules and etiquette, particularly when it comes to anything where a bit of order might be expected. Lines are non-existent and people tend to either swarm, walk in front of you if they want something, or otherwise not pay attention to where they're going. Again, not "bad" - just different, and if you're someone who's used to order, this might throw you off some. With that in mind, it can make breakfast an interesting, free for all dining experience. The menu does tend to get a little old after a few days, but it's free, convenient, and if you're really tired of it, there are lots of other places in the area to walk to.

I prefer this property because it's down on the end of "the strip", so it's a little less hectic than the properties smack in the middle. The Sans Souci beach is not too far, and from what I read, one the locals prefer. It's actually nice to be on one end of the strip because you can just walk down one way and back, making a clean loop.

As with all other hotels in the area, the driveway is way too small for the amount of vehicle traffic that comes through. That can make getting a car in/out with the valet service a bit of a challenge at times. The valet staff also seemed hit or miss - hustling at times, disappearing at times.

Another neat thing is that there's a pretty good bike/scooter rental right next door - my wife took a scooter one day while I was at work and promptly claimed that it was one of the top three days of her life - they were very friendly, polite, and took the time to cover all contingencies.

Overall, it was fine for what we needed - a bed, shower, and free breakfast to boot. It was just a little "off" from my previous visits, and I found that a little disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I couldn't say enough good things about this hotel!

From the time that I booked my reservation until check-out, I was very impressed by the service and the quality of the hotel. I came here on a girls trip, with my mom, best friend, and her mom and all four of us really enjoyed our time at Hyatt Place Waikiki. We booked deluxe rooms and the staff were able to accommodate our request for connecting rooms. These rooms were very large, tastefully decorated, and the housekeeping for a "select service" hotel was spot-on. We enjoyed breakfast every morning, which tasted great and was also a nice way to start off our mornings. The staff here are equally as important to mention--everyone from reservations, valet, reception, housekeeping, bartenders, and cooks were extremely nice and seemed to be having a good time. We called down a couple times to request things and the staff were always friendly and eager to help. Special mention to the person that checked us out, he was one of the nicest people that I have encountered in my travels! I only wish he was wearing a name tag so I could have mentioned him here!

One thing I will say, is if you are deciding between here and one of the Waikiki resorts... I have stayed at the Hilton Waikoloa Village, and I didn't miss the pool scene whatsoever--after all we were in Hawaii and enjoying the beaches!

Another thing to mention is that this hotel is not on the beach, but we thoroughly enjoyed our walk down to the thick of Waikiki every morning! Maybe it's a 10 minute walk, but it's definitely not a site for sore eyes. There is also a $12 parking lot across from the hotel (with in and out privileges)--really you can't beat this place!

Room Tip: go for the deluxe room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECN415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,555 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing