We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This winter, I spent two weeks at this property. As a frequent Honolulu visitor, I have enjoyed many hotels there, but I would say this was my favorite. The staff is great. Very friendly and helpful. Being I was there for 14 days, many came to recognize me. Josephine, the housekeeper on my floor was a great plus to my visit. She tried to learn my schedule and clean while I was out. She was very friendly. I developed a fever one night and the next day, she made it a point of changing my linens.

Reading some of the reviews before I visited, I was concerned about the room size, but mine was great. Very spacious and well designed. The bathroom itself is just a shower and toilet and rather small, but there is a nice vanity outside that makes up for it. The bed and sofa were very comfortable and there is a good sized desk and workspace.

The breakfast was a great benefit. Very plentiful and the hot items seem to change frequently during my stay. The outdoor space was lovely, but just don't feed the birds.

The hotel also had a very comfortable lobby; a four station complimentary computer station; a gift shop; a tour desk; a well equipped gym; a smaller pool (why use when I could take a short walk to the beach!); a coin-operated laundry and a sundeck.

My favorite amenity was the lobby cafe. You could order food from their cafe menu 24/7 (sandwiches, soups, salads, deserts, etc), as well as a full size bar (never used). The staff there was great and I had some great meals.

The location of the hotel was strong. Very close to the beach and near the Zoo and Diamond Head. My balcony gave me a nice view of the latter.

The only downside I encountered was the elevator service. There were only two elevators in my 20+ floor tower. During breakfast or at peek times, you could wait a long time for the cars to come. Also, being that the housekeeping and maintenance staff are use these same two elevators, it created many traffic jams.

Other than that, I would highly recommend this location. In fact, I have already booked my room for my next trip to Honolulu.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha NYCtravelboy,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It pleases us to learn that you were most impressed with our central location, personalized service, amenities, and guest room accommodations. We pride ourselves most on providing superior levels of intuitive service, and we are proud to learn that our team members were so successful in creating fond memories for you. Also, thank you for highly recommending our hotel to fellow travelers, and we are thrilled to hear that you've chosen us as your preferred hotel in Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    1,089
    294
    76
    41
See reviews for
1,005
961
135
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had 4 nights here at the start of our trip. Staff were very helpful. Travelled with my husband and our 2 children, sharing a double room. Room size is good and we didn't feel too cramped. The hotel provided a fold out bed without having to be asked. Breakfast is very good, considering it is included in the price. Free Wifi everywhere is great. Fitness centre is also very good. Pool area is very small, but you are literally a 5 minute walk to the beach. I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel to anyone. Good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dazzchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha dazzchris,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations during your stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow readers and travelers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had an ocean view room on the 15th floor. This great room was very large with two very comfortable queen beds. The staff was superb- everyone was so friendly, courteous and helpful! The location was perfect for us- less than two blocks to the beach, walking distance to most of the downtown attractions, and right by the bus stops for quick and easy transportation. The free wireless and breakfasts were an added plus.We had a great experience and would recommend this facility to anyone going to Honolulu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Aloha Deborah W,
Mahalo for your review. We pride ourselves most on providing superior levels of intuitive and personalized service, and we are proud to learn that our team members were so successful in creating such a lasting impression on you. Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to fellow travelers visiting Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location, convenient to the beach, stores, and restaurants. Rates include breakfast (very good), internet, and beach towels. This is what you would expect for Hyatt in Waikiki. I was on the 7th floor, next to the elevator, and you could not hear the elevators. Nice, quiet, calm, good security.

It's about a block from the beach. Caution: Hyatt has another place in Waikiki, about 3 blocks away, and you might end up there. Make sure you put 175 Paoakalani Ave into your GPS. Another way you can tell is the other place has check in on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha OinOhio,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here during July of 2012 and forgot to review the hotel. Our stay here was so nice and enjoyable that I felt the need to post our review. We have stayed in other very nice and expensive hotels on Waikiki beach in the past, but have to say that this place was just as good, if not better. Our room was clean, modern, and upscale with plenty of space for our family. The fitness room was also clean and up to date with nice equipment. An added bonus is the tasty complimentary breakfast which serves both hot and cold foods. If you like the hustle and bustle of the marketplace and the strip, but don't want to sleep around it, you should consider this hotel. It is short walking distance from Prince Kuhio beach and is a longer walk or short bus ride to the marketplace. We will definitely be staying here the next time we are in the Waikiki area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha 46JY,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your review of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious guest room, complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and fitness room. It gives us great pleasure to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellant location 1 block from ocean. We had partial ocean views. Modern rooms in an upscale hotel. Great service from very freindly staff. Rates incude breakfast, free internet and beach towels. Wakiki has many high rises and beautiful beaches. Take bus that circles Oahu that stops nearby the hotel. Uncle Bo's is good reataurant within 2 blocks.

Room Tip: Pay extra for upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha Vanh33,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed our location, modern accommodations and friendly service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just returned from a 12 night stay at this fabulous hotel. We were put into a room on the 17th floor, Pali tower with mountain view (free upgrade) with two queen size beds. Beds, oh they are heavenly. Very nice and spacy rooms with huge flat screen TV, fridge, coffee machine, big safe box. Wi Fi worked perfectly both in room and lobby area. Kind and courteous staff with nothing but smile on their faces. Bathrooms equipped with hair dryer (manual not the weak wall version), shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste (Aquafresh), soaps and tons of towels. Upon request they will provide a number of items to guests (car starter cables, razors, little sewing kit, body lotion, universal phone charger and list goes on). Breakfast is fairly repetitious but you can always find something good to eat. Nice selection of juices, coffee (Starbucks) and Tazo teas. Fresh pineapple, melon and cantaloupe are to die for. Fresh towels at the reception any time of day and you can take as many as you want. For those that don't want to carry boogie boards, a convenience store located in the lobby of hotel rents them for $3 per day. The same store also had better prices on souvenirs and pops than ABC stores located on every corner of Waikiki. Four free internet stations at the lobby of the hotel. 24 hour gym (nicelly equipped) and 3 washer and dryers on the 3rd floor ($3 per load).

Only steps away from a family friendly beach with calm waters. Next to this beach is a beach where you can ride your boogie boards on fabulous waves.

One minor thing is that there are only 2 elevator for 20 flooors and these elevators are also used by cleaning and service staff so sometimes waits can be a bit annoying.

Way to go Hyatt. This hotel will make your chain proud.

Room Tip: Request room farther away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha majorka,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for almost two weeks! We are humbled by your high praises and appreciate you awarding us with five stars. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our wide selection of guest amenities and close location to the beach. We hope to become your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4,294 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing