We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What you expect from Hyatt in Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What you expect from Hyatt in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent location, convenient to the beach, stores, and restaurants. Rates include breakfast (very good), internet, and beach towels. This is what you would expect for Hyatt in Waikiki. I was on the 7th floor, next to the elevator, and you could not hear the elevators. Nice, quiet, calm, good security.

It's about a block from the beach. Caution: Hyatt has another place in Waikiki, about 3 blocks away, and you might end up there. Make sure you put 175 Paoakalani Ave into your GPS. Another way you can tell is the other place has check in on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha OinOhio,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    941
    250
    66
    35
See reviews for
807
799
106
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here during July of 2012 and forgot to review the hotel. Our stay here was so nice and enjoyable that I felt the need to post our review. We have stayed in other very nice and expensive hotels on Waikiki beach in the past, but have to say that this place was just as good, if not better. Our room was clean, modern, and upscale with plenty of space for our family. The fitness room was also clean and up to date with nice equipment. An added bonus is the tasty complimentary breakfast which serves both hot and cold foods. If you like the hustle and bustle of the marketplace and the strip, but don't want to sleep around it, you should consider this hotel. It is short walking distance from Prince Kuhio beach and is a longer walk or short bus ride to the marketplace. We will definitely be staying here the next time we are in the Waikiki area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha 46JY,
Mahalo for taking the time to post your review of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our spacious guest room, complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and fitness room. It gives us great pleasure to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Excellant location 1 block from ocean. We had partial ocean views. Modern rooms in an upscale hotel. Great service from very freindly staff. Rates incude breakfast, free internet and beach towels. Wakiki has many high rises and beautiful beaches. Take bus that circles Oahu that stops nearby the hotel. Uncle Bo's is good reataurant within 2 blocks.

Room Tip: Pay extra for upper rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Aloha Vanh33,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to learn how much you enjoyed our location, modern accommodations and friendly service. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I just returned from a 12 night stay at this fabulous hotel. We were put into a room on the 17th floor, Pali tower with mountain view (free upgrade) with two queen size beds. Beds, oh they are heavenly. Very nice and spacy rooms with huge flat screen TV, fridge, coffee machine, big safe box. Wi Fi worked perfectly both in room and lobby area. Kind and courteous staff with nothing but smile on their faces. Bathrooms equipped with hair dryer (manual not the weak wall version), shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste (Aquafresh), soaps and tons of towels. Upon request they will provide a number of items to guests (car starter cables, razors, little sewing kit, body lotion, universal phone charger and list goes on). Breakfast is fairly repetitious but you can always find something good to eat. Nice selection of juices, coffee (Starbucks) and Tazo teas. Fresh pineapple, melon and cantaloupe are to die for. Fresh towels at the reception any time of day and you can take as many as you want. For those that don't want to carry boogie boards, a convenience store located in the lobby of hotel rents them for $3 per day. The same store also had better prices on souvenirs and pops than ABC stores located on every corner of Waikiki. Four free internet stations at the lobby of the hotel. 24 hour gym (nicelly equipped) and 3 washer and dryers on the 3rd floor ($3 per load).

Only steps away from a family friendly beach with calm waters. Next to this beach is a beach where you can ride your boogie boards on fabulous waves.

One minor thing is that there are only 2 elevator for 20 flooors and these elevators are also used by cleaning and service staff so sometimes waits can be a bit annoying.

Way to go Hyatt. This hotel will make your chain proud.

Room Tip: Request room farther away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank majorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha majorka,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for almost two weeks! We are humbled by your high praises and appreciate you awarding us with five stars. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our wide selection of guest amenities and close location to the beach. We hope to become your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I did a lot of research for this trip trying to find a place for me and my husband, my college age daughter and my pre-teen nephew. I am also in the travel service industry. I've stayed in 5-6 different hotels during our recent Hawaii trips. This was the best!

We didn't want to get two rooms, wanted a decent view, wanted to be close to the beach and wanted separate beds for the kids. I researched on Trip Advisor, Yelp, etc., but ended up booking directly with the hotel for the best price which turned out to be with AAA. We got a Deluxe Ocean Queen. It had 2 queen beds and a full pull out sofa bed.

The rooms were newly renovated and nice. There was a small refrigerator for snacks, water and soda. Wireless Internet is free! No annoying resort fee either. Staff was super, super friendly.

Complimentary breakfast bar 6:30-9:30am daily. It consisted of breakfast sandwiches, waffles/pancakes, fresh fruit (usually a mix of pineapple and melon), yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, cottage cheese, granola, toast, bagels, orange juice, milk, apple juice, tomato juice, water, coffee and tea. Can get really busy depending on when you go. There is a wood tray in each room that some families brought down to take food back to their rooms.

There are free computers for use in the lobby. Printing is also free if you need to print out boarding passes or tickets purchased online.

Beach and pool towels down in a cabinet by the pool. No hassle, just grabbed as many as we needed.

Lobby is totally open, but you need a room key to get up to the rooms. Safes are in each room as well. Felt very secure.

Only downside is valet parking at $28/day. This is pretty normal for Waikiki though. The valet guys are super nice and earn their money. There is self parking diagonally across the street for $17-18, at the Banyan, but is very crowded and hard to park in. We ended up parking at the Hyatt. Like I said, this was the ONLY downside.

This is a great place for families, especially if you don't fit into the 2-queen hotel room model.

Room Tip: Our room was 1134. A Deluxe Ocean Queen, corner room facing the beach on Paoakalani. Some street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicoletteMunoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha NicMunoz,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad our hotel proved to be a great fit for your entire family. It pleases us to learn that our new amenities and spacious guest accommodations exceeded your expectations. Allow us to apologize if the cost of our valet parking caused any inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here at the start of our three week Hawaii trip. We had pre-booked two nights for when we arrived in Hawaii. After an overnight flight it was great to be able to check in at 10am to refresh and have a short rest!

It's so close to everything you need in Honolulu - the rooms were fairly quiet (the quietest we experienced out of the 11 hotels we stayed at in Hawaii!!), the breakfast was terrific, loved the gym - this place is the whole package!

Our only complaint is that when we wanted to extend our stay because we were loving it so much, the price per night suddenly doubled. And it was out of our budget. We wished we'd just booked a longer period online before we arrived!

I have already recommended this hotel to my parents and my best friend for upcoming trips to Hawaii - and if I went to Honolulu again I would happily stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had booked at the Hyatt Regency, however got transferred to Hyatt Place for 2 nights due to over booking.

Couple of points to note (different to all the other positive feedback which I agree with):
- Rooms are nice and modern. We had our room on the 10th floor. Note that the rooms are a bit smaller, which prevented us from leaving our two suitcases open, however it isn't a major issue.
- At the 'end' of the Waikiki strip of shops and hotel. May be an issue if you're walking.
- 'Pink Trolley' stop about a block away.
- Bus stops right outside (on the main road).
- Nice size bed, however we found the pillows 'too' soft.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeautifulMind000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,898 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing