We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ewa Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Hotel Renew(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Queen Kapiolani Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Waikiki Resort Hotel(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
Reviews (3,325)
Filter reviews
3,325 results
Traveler rating
1,548
1,277
362
91
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,548
1,277
362
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingabc storeacross the streettwo blocksocean viewdiamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplesofa bedthird floorbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,607 - 2,612 of 3,325 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We loved this hotel, its location, the VERY good price, which made us love it even more! I totally agree with all that the travel agent review just below says : we were on the 14th floor and room was totally updated (i loved the big shower). We saved money here, that we were able to spend "eating out", and we also probably saved at least $25 / per day just from having the complimentary breakfast almost each morning. We would definitely stay here again... location, location, location ! Just a one block walk down to beach, and we didn't feel we were in the "concrete hotel jungle" .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha LK R,
Mahalo for your sharing your lovely review with us. We are happy to learn that you were able to save money while staying at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Also, we were pleased to hear that our prime location exceeded expectations. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Newer hotel, close to airport, close to many attractions, nice amenities. Friendly greeting, friendly helpful staff (at the front desk there is one girl originally from Orange County California, I forget her name, she was very very helpful and friendly), great service overall. Beach toys are given to children at check-in. There is a small pool onsite but you're there to go visit the beach which is only a short 5 minute walk to Kuhio Beach. The hotel provides beach towels and you may borrow, water wings, and water noodles for the kids. The hotel is close to "The Wall" an area on the beach where waves are blocked off so the water is shallow and clear, no higher than approximately 6ft. Great area for kids, bring food to feed the fish.
Free breakfast every morning, bring your wooden tray from your room to carry all the dishes. An assortment of danish, rolls, an egg muffin dish (changes daily), juices, teas, coffee, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, miso soup and rice. There is a 24/7 cafe in the lobby for sandwiches, pizza, desserts, but the cost is high. Happy hour at 5:00 p.m.
There are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk, Tikis (great taro biscuits), Wolfgang Puck Express, Subway, Coldstone and Starbucks and many many other restaurants down Kalakaua Avenue including Cheeseburger Paradise. Not to mention the ABC stores practically every 10ft. You can buy anything from ice cream to beach mats.
This is not a resort hotel, you will have to plan your own activities. Expedia agents are located in the lobby everyday to assist with tours and luaus. Do your homework, have an idea of what you're looking for and the cost before speaking to an agent. Many of the tour companies include transportation such as Discover Hawaii Tours. If you rent a car, you have the option of valet parking $28 per day or self parking across the street at $12 per day. Free Luaus on the beach across from Hyatt Regency on Kalakaua Avenue and at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center. There is a hop on/hop off double-decker bus that will take you around the city for a 1 day pass.The hotel staff has info.

Great view of Diamond Head and close to farmers markets and swap meets for unique souvenirs. Around the corner from the Honolulu Zoo and near-by the aquarium and golf course. Less than 60 minute drive to the Dole Plantation, Waimea Valley and the North Shore. Pearl Harbor is 20 minutes away. Only 10 minutes from the Ala Moana shopping center.
Great Place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeAnn_Irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha MeAnn_Irvine,
Mahalo for your review. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our wide selection of guest amenities and close location to the Honolulu Zoo, Aquarium, and other popular attractions in Waikiki Beach. We hope to become your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we got the rooms for a quite acceptable price
the problem, we were located close from the elevators and I heard the machinery (I'm quite sensitive to noises) all the time, a bit annoying.
but there were very good points. The 1st was the staff, very friendly and helpful! The swimming pool as well as the location.
The breakfast was good but don't expect the real Continental one. The choice was limited.
A very good point: we got a courtesy room after check-out for free to take a shower and change our clothes (just before taking our flight) and that's priceless! thanks to the staff for that!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yanspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Aloha yanspace,
Mahalo for your review. We regret to learn if the noise from the elevators caused any major disruption during your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing superior levels of gracious service, and happy to learn that our entire team was so successful in achieving this with you. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I am a travel agent and was in Waikiki to review hotels. SO glad I chose to stay at the Hyatt place. I found them superior to most of hotels in town including those with much higher ratings. Most of the hotels in Waikiki were built in the 60s and 70s...and they look tired and worn.The Hyatt Place Waikiki is fresh and newly remodeled. It is about 2 blocks walk to the beach. Rooms above the 12th floor on the ocean side do get ocean views. I stayed on the 17th floor city side and yes, there is a good deal of city noise. If you are sensitive then ask for a higher floor.

As one contributor mentioned, the Hyatt Place is more of a city hotel. It is NOT a resort with options like room service, a resort style pool for features like a kids club. Out of all the "resorts" in Waikiki there are only 7 that sit directly on the beach. Several of the larger resort style hotels, including the Hyatt Regency sit across the street from Waikiki and also offers a small roof style pool. Most travelers visit Waikiki for some time on the beach and to do sight seeing around the island of Oahu. For this purpose, the Hyatt Place is perfect.

Daily breakfast is free here and very good...an egg dish, waffles, french toast, fruit, yogurt, miso soup. Bring along the wooden tray from your room to ease with the buffet. You can also grab bread, peanut butter and jelly for sandwiches for later if you are so inclined. They even had a full selection of my favorite tazo teas. The hyatt place is right next to an ABC store. These are mini marts found all over Waikiki that offer quick food shopping, snacks, soda, water etc. The Hyatt place also has a snack/bar area right in their lobby for a fast meal/drink. You are also steps away from Tiki's (restaurant at the Aston Waikiki Beach with the BEST coconut shrimp I've even had!). There is a wolfgang puck,s fast serve, subway & cold stone Ice cream right there too.

The Hyatt Place also offers free WiFi in all their guest rooms. Many of the higher priced hotels charge about $15/day for guest room WiFi. The higher price came with connection problems that I never encountered at the Hyatt.

Most of all the STAFF at the Hyatt Place are AWESOME. They show genuine care and concern for the needs of their guests. My flight didn't leave for home until 8pm. when I asked how much it would be for a late check out they graciously extended me to a 3pm check out without any charge. (and they didn't know I was a travel agent!) If you ask for directions, they give you a map, offer suggestions on public transit and even restaurant options without being prompted. Even housekeeping will always stop and greet you with an aloha and a warm smile. I will definitely recommend the Hyatt Place to my clients.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you are bothered by city street noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Vacationkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha Vacationkids,
Mahalo for your review. It gives us great pleasure to read that a travel agent, such as yourself, found us to be "superior" compared to most other neighboring hotels. We are thrilled you enjoyed our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast offerings, tazo tea selection, awesome staff and convenient location in Waikiki Beach. Thank you so much for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your clients. It would be a pleasure to become your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

One can never be too sure as to where to stay in Waikiki. There are just so many choices!! But the Hyatt place, is just one street behind the beach.

I recommend you ask for a high floor with an ocean view, then you could not be in a better place.

Hotel is modern, with good service. Staff are welcoming and polite. As souls expert from a Hyatt.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tackos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Aloha Tackos,
Mahalo for your review. Fellow travelers will appreciate your tips on where to stay once inside the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We pride ourselves on our superior hospitality efforts, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews