We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Reasonable priced, close to almost everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced, close to almost everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My family of five stayed here during Spring Break and we had an awesome time. The rooms were large enough to accomodate us. The sofa turned into a bed. We had two queen beds with partial view of the ocean. I say partial only because there were buildings obstructing the view. Bathroom was modern and clean. In-room safe for our valuables. Free breakfast and wi-fi. Breakfast could use a little variety though. Service was pretty efficient. Waikiki beach is a 5-minute walk and close to restaurants and shopping. You have a choice of whatever takes your fancy. Transportation is easy. Ride on the trolleys for a quicker ride to points of interest. The Bus is cheaper $2.50 adults, $1.25 kids but is slower with frequent stops. If you're going sight seeing book a trip at the hotel lobby where they have Expedia local experts who will arrange everything for you. Pearl Harbor tour arranged thru them with the $55 Day Pass takes you to every site. They also arranged a tour of the North Shore and the island with Hawaii Turtle Tours. We had a blast with Eric our guide who showed us around. Plan for a whole day. Fumi's shrimp shack was delicious! Stop by the Old Sugar Mill and taste their Waialua coffee. Secret beaches and snorkeling. Thanks Hyatt Place and Hawaii Turtle Tours for making our vacation a great one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavaoDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha DavaoDuo,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach during spring break. We are happy to hear that you took advantage of the Expedia Tour desk and booked all your sightseeing tours there. It would be a pleasure to be your preferred hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    942
    251
    67
    35
See reviews for
809
801
107
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was newly renovated and that is always a plus when searching for a place to stay for 3 days. This room was spotless and well appointed but was it ever small!
There was not an inch to spare in the room or the very narrow balcony. I wish now that I had gone to the management and discussed the difference between the posted photographs and the actual room! Next time.
The free WiFi was very nice, the breakfast was quite adequate, the valets were quick in retrieving our car and the proximity to "the stroll" was fine

Room Tip: Ask if there are larger rooms if you feel your is too small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha Sara M,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay with us. We apologize if the size of your guest room failed to exceed expectations. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back and provide you with a guest room that better suits your needs.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel because my 3 day stay ended up on a bad note with the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel. Wanted to extend our vacation one more day and did NOT want to go back to the other hotel. Spoke to the front desk and to our surprise its a Great hotel! Walking in to the lobby it smell great! Nice touch! The staff was friendly with the people in front of us for check in and with us too. At check in we were notify we got our room upgraded to Ocean View. Keep in mind this Hotel is block away from the beach. CLEAN! CLEAN! CLEAN! Nice elevators and secure. Complimentary wifi for your stay, access to computer and printer, activity and tour booking center, 2 mini store inside the hotel (no need to walk to the ABC Store), bar and deli open 24/7, clean pool, free warm breakfast and room very clean and modern. Breakfast includes, cereal, breakfast sandwich, French toast, oat meal, 4 kind of slice bread and a toaster, fruits, rice and other kind of food to cater to the oriental crowd, few type of juices, actual plates and utensil, other food I might have fail to mention too. Plenty of seating area in the pool for breakfast! If you like to eat in the room just bring your food tray that's in the room to take the food to your room.

The room was quiet and beautiful. The bed were comfortable and AC was good. The bathroom was nice and the look on the sink is so slick! Balcony is small but with chairs and small tables. The flat screen was great and it had Direct TV and there was a lot of options to watch on tv if you need to. Complementary toothpaste! Mini fridge and nice ice bucket. There is complementary Wall Street Journal newspaper at your door. Phones on every elevator waiting area to call front desk. Ice machine is at every other floor if you need ice.

Over all I will be looking forward staying here again. The hotel had no extra charges or hidden fees like other hotels (Aston Waikiki Hotel). Staff is amazing and friendly! Smells good everywhere and it's clean. It's a little gem in Waikiki! Can't wait to come back! Props to all staff & management for a great job! No complain... Well actually that I wish I had stay here from the begining!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PixieFairyDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha PixieFairyDust,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our spotless accommodations, complimentary amenities and comfortable guest rooms. It gives us great pleasure to hear that our hotel staff exceeded your expectations during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next return to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in march 2013. We selected this hotel based off the positive reviews we read here on tripadvisor. The rooms are large, nicely appointed and very modern. The free breakfast is EXTREMELY helpful and really quite good, well above average.

My only negatives are 1. The pigeons at the breakfast area need to be dealt with. As funny as it is to watch the newbies have their food pounced on the second they walk away ... It's annoying to have to be on "watch" your entire meal. 2. The pool area needs some love ... Some plants, decor, something ... It's just concrete. Yes the beach is only a block away, but sometimes it's nice to hang by a hotel pool.

Overall I highly recommend staying at this hotel, we have previously stayed at the Prince, Hyatt and Sheraton in Waikiki and this hotel offers the best value overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingClan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha teebore,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach based on our positive TripAdvisor reviews! It gives us great pleasure to read how how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. Allow us to apologize if the pigeons caused any distraction during your breakfast experience. Thank you for recommending our hotel to fellow travelers.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We just got back from staying at the Hyatt Place Waikiki for almost 2 weeks. The hotel was located close to Waikiki beach, but a bit further away from the main hustle and bustle of the Waikiki strip. The hotel was new and modern, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The complimentary buffet breakfast was one of the best features of the hotel. There was a large variety of hot and cold foods, as well as juices, and Starbucks affiliated coffee and tea. It was convenient for days we wanted to eat at the hotel, or pick up something and take off for the day. Only complaint was for about half the time we were staying there, every time we came back to our hotel after it had been cleaned there was a distinct odor that was not very pleasant. I believe it was the smell of a damp and dirty cloth that had been used to wipe and clean our room. As much as the room looked clean, the smell was very off putting, and we had to open our lanai door and spray as much body spray as we could to try to eliminate the smell. Please make sure house keeping uses clean and non-smelly cloths to clean the rooms. Other than that we loved the hotel and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha amwgirl,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for almost two weeks! We are delighted to learn how much you appreciated our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and Starbucks coffee/tea items. Your comment about the unpleasant odor will be shared with our Executive Housekeeper, so they can investigate this issue further. Thank you for bringing to our attention. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
encino, california
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We are lifetime Diamond Hyatt members who have stayed at both Hyatt properties. All tolled we've logged in 65 visits to the Hyatt Regency Waikiki and just tried the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach for the first time. The Hyatt Place is a winner in our book.

Hospitality is a top priority as are the fantastic staff, great and spacious, newly renovated guest rooms and lovely appointed common areas. No name tags here as employees are encouraged to introduce themselves to guests and interact with them by name. Genuine smiles abound whether the employees think they are being watched or not. No glum faces here. Two books away from the beach, across the street from The Bus stop.

Friendly, courteous and quick to respond to guest needs. Hawaiian music fills the air, beautiful tasteful Hawaiian decor, true Hawaiian hospitality at its finest...they way the Hyatt Regency Waikiki once used to be years ago when repeat guests were cherished.

Good selection for included breakfasts and happy hour deals. Kudos to General Manager Bonnie Kiyabu who has put together a great crew of employees who exceed all expectations. Hyatt corporate would do well to realize that local Hawaiians are quite capable of managing their properties in Hawaii. A few more locals in the executive offices of Hyatt properties in Hawaii would be a welcome change and frankly is long overdue. Well done Ms. Kiyabu and everybody at he Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We'll be back or sure.

In the meanwhile we'll return to the Hyatt Place and recommend it highly to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dave and rocky b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha dave and rocky b,
Mahalo for your terrific review. We sincerely appreciate you labeling us as the "best Hyatt in Oahu"! What a wonderful compliment! We truly believe that our success is built on our superior hospitality efforts and personalized service, and we are glad you were able to experience this firsthand. Your comments will be shared with our General Manager, Bonnie Kiyabu, and she too will be delighted to hear them. We can't wait to welcome you back and turn you into a loyal fan of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

In the interest of discloure, we booked this room using points so I can't speak to the price/value compared to other places. But I was so glad we chose this property, it turned out to be a great fit for us. About 2 blocks from the beach it was close to tons of shops & restaurants and was incredibly convenient. And the room was huge! Lots of space, a big bathroom, in-room safe, and a balcony overlooking the ocean which was nice. Partial view since there is a huge building between the hotel and the beach but it was still nice to see water.

The staff was excellent, very helpful and attentive. Limited beach amenities (towels only) - chairs would have been nice. Breakfast was very crowded each morning but there was a nice selection of hot & cold items. I was a little surprised that there weren't any "grab and go" options (whole fruit, yogurt cups) especially given the crowds but we made do. We didn't end up going to the bar or making use of the other amenities on the property but everything was nice and updated.

All in all, a nice choice. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jeax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha jeax2,
Mahalo for your review. We are grateful to learn how much you enjoyed our close proximity to the beach, spacious guest rooms, and attentive staff members. Thank you for your feedback in regards to adding additional menu options in our Grab N' Go area. Great suggestion! We can't wait to welcome you back again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services



Your comment about the lack, change to Great suggestion! Thank you for your feedback regarding adding additional menu options in our Grab N' Go,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,905 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#17 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing