We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HONEST REVIEW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The minute we arrived we felt welcome and comfortable. The Hotel front staff were extremely nice to meet. The one staff member (Ean) in particular at the time of my arrival was a delight. He and his fellow employees were very helpful and made us feel very welcome (honest). The room my wife and I had was excellent , the bed was comfortable and had everything that you would want and expect. They offer a nice buffet breakfast every morning and the staff preparing and displaying , cleaning were inviting and friendly. We stayed for 2 weeks and they (staffers) greeted us with kindness every single day. I have travelled several times over the years to Paris , Mexico , Maui to name a few and I found this hotel offered the best stay my wife and I have ever had. If you ever travel to Honolulu I highly recommend this hotel !

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable try for the lane sde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, The Allerton Hotel Management Team at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha Brad S,
Mahalo for your review. Thank you so much for highly recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It was such a pleasure to read that this was the best stay you've ever had. What a wonderful compliment! Glad you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet and accommodating hotel personnel. If you ever return to Waikiki Beach, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,345 - 2,351 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visiting Hawaii for a week and wanted to have more $$$s for shopping v a 5 star hotel. Hyatt Place was a great compromise! Located a few minutes walk from the beach front, moments from the Zoo and within walking distance of shops etc., we were pleased with the location. Rooms were clean and a very good size. We were on the 14th floor with partial ocean view...leaving the door open at night for fresh air proved noisy so wonder what being on the main road in another hotel would be? Only "ordinary" bit for us (20 and 50 mother/daughter) was the breakfast area. Located on the 3rd floor, beside a smallish but neat pool, it was incredibly windy and exposed (nice on a warm day). Think the hotel could add some wind breaks and definitely plants etc., there to make the ambience better. Staff super friendly and all-in-all very happy with the outcome (20 yo loved the free wi-fi for staying in touch with Australian friends). Thanks Hyatt Place! PS: Expedia travel agents to assist with excursions etc., located on the ground floor and also very helpful. The hotel peaks to 3.5 stars and I'd give it 7/10 for a non-5-star-not-on-the-beach hotel.

Room Tip: Consider ocean views but lifts are slow so you might want to be around floor 9ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HungryJaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha HungryJaks,
Mahalo for your great review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Glad you enjoyed our convenient location, spacious guest room, Expedia tour desk, super friendly hotel personnel and complimentary WiFi. We will be sure to share your suggestions about the breakfast area to our Executive Committee. We hope you and your daughter had a memorable experience in Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful room with great view of the surrounding mountains. A few blocks from Waikiki Beach.
Staff was extremely friendly. Front desk staff gave us a personal tour of the ground floor (lobby) upon our arrival. Would definitely stay there again. Just off te beach enough for a quite relaxing and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Not great for ocean views. So opt for a great mountion view. Cheaper and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha flong1,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel personnel exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Also, it gives us great pleasure to read that you would return again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Waikiki for 5 nights Jan 31 - Feb 6, 2013 and here is my review.

Hotel - Spacious, clean, hallways are newly carpeted, fresh and open, 3 elevators so waiting time is minimal, has convenient 4 internet computers and printer in lobby, a small pool, but the best part is the free hot breakfasts in the morning.

Room - We stayed in a 2x queen city-view room which has a mini-fridge 2 queen-sized beds with excellent soft down pillows and good mattress. Does not come with a tub but has a very large glass shower that is convenient to shower the kids after a day at the beach. There is an in-room safe to keep valuables. Very clean room and quiet. Our friends had an Ocean view room which have a full tub and separate room with t.v.

Breakfast - Serves 2 stations of egg/ham muffin sandwich (type of bun and cheese change every day, waffle, pancake, french toast (changes every day - one of the 3), fruit salad only has pineapple and cantaloupe, pastries, yogurt, toast, miso soup, cereal, toast, bagels, apple, orange juice and milk, and other assorted breakfast items. It is located on the 3rd floor by the pool but is very windy. The best place to sit is undercover near the buffet or along the side wall of the building on the right. Beware the pigeons and birds are everywhere as they lurk around the tables or swoop down and each the food on the tables if left unattended.

Location - It is only 1 block away from Waikiki beach, is very quiet, clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. About a 15 minute walk to International Marketplace. Safeway is only 10 minutes away, costs $2.50 for Bus #13 to get there. (keep the transfer so you can ride back to the hotel free). There is an ABC store every block to buy food or souvenirs but is expensive. Starbucks is just a block away as well. McDonalds is 3 blocks away along the beach. Very close to the zoo as well.

Hotel arranges taxis 10 minutes before your departure to the airport for a flat fee of $29.00

I would definitely recommend this hotel because of location, free hot breakfast, excellent beds and pillows, quiet, and 1 block from the beach and buses.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha Glen K,
Mahalo for your review. We sincerely appreciate you recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to fellow travelers. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast located on the pool deck. We apologize if the wind or pigeons caused any inconvenience during your breakfast experience. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Every aspect of the hotel seemed new and cool. The elevators were slow and the breakfast was cookie cutter buffet. The room and lobby were very modern and well thought out. We very much enjoyed our stay here at the Hyatt Waikiki. It's not far from the beach (although I recommend walking further west the beach directly in front is a bit brackish). The zoo and tons of restaurants are near by.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Room is clean. Location is perfect. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is OK. The only downside is no complimentary parking, it's $28 per day.

Very modern and the staff are very welcoming. Love the aroma as soon as you exit the elevators. Walking distance to convenience store, coffee shops, Subway sandwiches, McDonalds and yogurt shops. Bus stop is walking distance, less than a block. Waikiki Beach is a 2-minute walk and Honolulu Zoo is one block away.

Will definitely stay here again, just have to look for parking on Paokalani / Ala Wai Blvd.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a high room. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwzlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price in Waikiki and decided to give the Hyatt Place a try, and I'm glad I did.

The hotel has obviously recently undergone a remodel, with the public areas being very clean and modern in styling. Check-in went very quickly and my room preferences were honored resulting in a nice high floor room with an ocean/beach view.

One of the best things about this hotel, especially given the area, was its complementary breakfast each morning. The breakfast offering varied somewhat each day, with the hot offering typically being an egg sandwich of some type, usually on a English Muffin. The usual breakfast offerings of bagels, breads to make toast and cereals were also provided, along with juices and milk. Somewhat uniquely (perhaps not for Hawaii) they also offered rice and kimchi each morning. It was never difficult to find a seat, tables were bussed very quickly and in general it was a very pleasant experience.

The room itself was perhaps a bit cramped, but the beds were comfortable with good climate controls, a flat screen HDTV with HD channels and a refrigerator for cooling your own beverages and snacks. The bathroom was lovely, but the shower was severely lacking in water delivery and pressure (do "water saving" shower heads actually save water when it takes you three times as long to shower because it takes five minutes just to rinse the shampoo out of your hair?)

All in all, the hotel's location (two blocks from the beach, and one from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC convenience stores, and about ten minutes' walk from the heart of the Kalakaua Avenue retail strip or the Honolulu Zoo), comfort and value make me confident that I'll return; why pay an extra $200 per night just to be on the beach?

My one piece of advice is to avoid the hotel's rather pricy ($28/day with in/out privileges) valet parking and self-park at the Waikiki Banyan hotel garage located diagonally across the street to the north for only $12/day with full in-out privileges.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly blocked in by other hotels, so a high floor will give you a scenic view rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha AscentGuy,
Mahalo for your review. It is rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast items. Also, we are glad you enjoyed your ocean view guest room, but regret it the water pressure in your shower did not exceed expectations. We will make sure to address this comment with our Maintenance team. It would be a pleasure to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,126 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $200 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing