We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,325)
Filter reviews
3,325 results
Traveler rating
1,548
1,277
362
91
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,548
1,277
362
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingabc storeacross the streettwo blocksocean viewdiamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplesofa bedthird floorbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,640 - 2,645 of 3,325 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautiful room with great view of the surrounding mountains. A few blocks from Waikiki Beach.
Staff was extremely friendly. Front desk staff gave us a personal tour of the ground floor (lobby) upon our arrival. Would definitely stay there again. Just off te beach enough for a quite relaxing and wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Not great for ocean views. So opt for a great mountion view. Cheaper and beautiful.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha flong1,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that our hotel personnel exceeded your expectations during your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Also, it gives us great pleasure to read that you would return again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Place Waikiki for 5 nights Jan 31 - Feb 6, 2013 and here is my review.

Hotel - Spacious, clean, hallways are newly carpeted, fresh and open, 3 elevators so waiting time is minimal, has convenient 4 internet computers and printer in lobby, a small pool, but the best part is the free hot breakfasts in the morning.

Room - We stayed in a 2x queen city-view room which has a mini-fridge 2 queen-sized beds with excellent soft down pillows and good mattress. Does not come with a tub but has a very large glass shower that is convenient to shower the kids after a day at the beach. There is an in-room safe to keep valuables. Very clean room and quiet. Our friends had an Ocean view room which have a full tub and separate room with t.v.

Breakfast - Serves 2 stations of egg/ham muffin sandwich (type of bun and cheese change every day, waffle, pancake, french toast (changes every day - one of the 3), fruit salad only has pineapple and cantaloupe, pastries, yogurt, toast, miso soup, cereal, toast, bagels, apple, orange juice and milk, and other assorted breakfast items. It is located on the 3rd floor by the pool but is very windy. The best place to sit is undercover near the buffet or along the side wall of the building on the right. Beware the pigeons and birds are everywhere as they lurk around the tables or swoop down and each the food on the tables if left unattended.

Location - It is only 1 block away from Waikiki beach, is very quiet, clean and staff are very friendly and helpful. About a 15 minute walk to International Marketplace. Safeway is only 10 minutes away, costs $2.50 for Bus #13 to get there. (keep the transfer so you can ride back to the hotel free). There is an ABC store every block to buy food or souvenirs but is expensive. Starbucks is just a block away as well. McDonalds is 3 blocks away along the beach. Very close to the zoo as well.

Hotel arranges taxis 10 minutes before your departure to the airport for a flat fee of $29.00

I would definitely recommend this hotel because of location, free hot breakfast, excellent beds and pillows, quiet, and 1 block from the beach and buses.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha Glen K,
Mahalo for your review. We sincerely appreciate you recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to fellow travelers. It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast located on the pool deck. We apologize if the wind or pigeons caused any inconvenience during your breakfast experience. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Every aspect of the hotel seemed new and cool. The elevators were slow and the breakfast was cookie cutter buffet. The room and lobby were very modern and well thought out. We very much enjoyed our stay here at the Hyatt Waikiki. It's not far from the beach (although I recommend walking further west the beach directly in front is a bit brackish). The zoo and tons of restaurants are near by.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Room is clean. Location is perfect. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is OK. The only downside is no complimentary parking, it's $28 per day.

Very modern and the staff are very welcoming. Love the aroma as soon as you exit the elevators. Walking distance to convenience store, coffee shops, Subway sandwiches, McDonalds and yogurt shops. Bus stop is walking distance, less than a block. Waikiki Beach is a 2-minute walk and Honolulu Zoo is one block away.

Will definitely stay here again, just have to look for parking on Paokalani / Ala Wai Blvd.

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a high room. You won't regret it.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwzlaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was looking for a nice hotel at a reasonable price in Waikiki and decided to give the Hyatt Place a try, and I'm glad I did.

The hotel has obviously recently undergone a remodel, with the public areas being very clean and modern in styling. Check-in went very quickly and my room preferences were honored resulting in a nice high floor room with an ocean/beach view.

One of the best things about this hotel, especially given the area, was its complementary breakfast each morning. The breakfast offering varied somewhat each day, with the hot offering typically being an egg sandwich of some type, usually on a English Muffin. The usual breakfast offerings of bagels, breads to make toast and cereals were also provided, along with juices and milk. Somewhat uniquely (perhaps not for Hawaii) they also offered rice and kimchi each morning. It was never difficult to find a seat, tables were bussed very quickly and in general it was a very pleasant experience.

The room itself was perhaps a bit cramped, but the beds were comfortable with good climate controls, a flat screen HDTV with HD channels and a refrigerator for cooling your own beverages and snacks. The bathroom was lovely, but the shower was severely lacking in water delivery and pressure (do "water saving" shower heads actually save water when it takes you three times as long to shower because it takes five minutes just to rinse the shampoo out of your hair?)

All in all, the hotel's location (two blocks from the beach, and one from one of Waikiki's ubiquitous ABC convenience stores, and about ten minutes' walk from the heart of the Kalakaua Avenue retail strip or the Honolulu Zoo), comfort and value make me confident that I'll return; why pay an extra $200 per night just to be on the beach?

My one piece of advice is to avoid the hotel's rather pricy ($28/day with in/out privileges) valet parking and self-park at the Waikiki Banyan hotel garage located diagonally across the street to the north for only $12/day with full in-out privileges.

Room Tip: The hotel is fairly blocked in by other hotels, so a high floor will give you a scenic view rather than one of other hotel towers.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AscentGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Aloha AscentGuy,
Mahalo for your review. It is rewarding to hear how much you enjoyed our complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast items. Also, we are glad you enjoyed your ocean view guest room, but regret it the water pressure in your shower did not exceed expectations. We will make sure to address this comment with our Maintenance team. It would be a pleasure to serve you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews