We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home base location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good home base location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as the price was right. My king bed room was small but efficient. The bed was too soft for our preference . The direct ocean was great. The breakfast was included in the price which was a deal. The host stand opened the bottles of wine we brought and cut our pineapple. I would suggest bringing ear plugs and down loading a white notice app on your phone to play at night as all of Wikiki is noisy. I would suggest that the management add a way guests can clean the exercise equipment as it is flu season! Also the housekeeping services are below average. Our housekeeper did not wipe down the sink and counter top on two occasions, she left dirty glassware in the room and never replaced the bed throw nor emptied out the ice container. I usually leave house keeping a tip but not this time.

This is my first stay at a Hyatt Place. I would stay again knowing that it is not a resort but a nice safe place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nucleoplasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha Nucleoplasty,
Mahalo for sharing you honest feedback with us. We appreciate your suggestion about the sanitary wipes for our fitness center, and will take this into serious consideration for the near future. Also, allow us to apologize if our housekeeping team did not thoroughly clean your guest room during your stay. This will be addressed with the Director of Housekeeping, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    832
    218
    60
    28
See reviews for
700
695
99
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Hyatt Place Waikiki Place is one of the more reasonably priced hotels and for what we paid, it was very good. The room itself (we got the deluxe room) was spacious with a nice seating area, nicely decorated with modern amenities. The vanity area is separate from the actual bath and toilet itself which was convenient allowing one of us to brush our teeth or to get ready while the other can use the washroom. Very limited counter space though. The bad: there's a lot of noise from the street. I believe our room faced a firestation near by and some bus stops so we could hear the sirens and the bus coming and going at night, even up on the 19th floor. Upon check-in, there was only 2 staff working and unfortunately for us a large tour group had just pulled in and the wait time for assistance was quite lengthy. This is a very busy (not to mention large) hotel and could use more elevators as the wait time for the only 2 elevators took forever. Parking in Waikiki is generally very expensive but we did park across the street in a parkade for $12/day which is much better than the $25/day valet offered at the hotel.

The wifi was included with the room rate and pretty reliable, and the included breakfast was convenient, and decent, including a few hot items including hot breakfast sandwiches. Not fantastic, but good for a morning snack. Given the abundance of good eats on the Waikiki strip, we went out for breakfast more often than not.

All in all a pleasant stay, would come back to stay for sure, assuming they don't drastically jack up their prices once they'be been around for a bit longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha CelineCeline,
Mahalo for your review and choosing the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious deluxe room accommodations. Allow us to apologize for the street-level noise distractions your experienced, but glad this did not tarnish your overall stay. It would be a pleasure to become your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We got a really good deal for this place. The location was off the main strip but not too far from the shops and beach. Everything was walking distance from this hotel including all bus transportation. The staff was great & friendly. Breakfast was included everyday but it was the same breakfast every other day. We stayed for a week & by the 5th day, I was getting sick of it...I can only eat breakfast sandwich, french toast & waffles for so long but overall, I can't complain because it was free. Valet parking only, $28/day. If you didn't have a car, public transportation stops near their neighboring hotel (Aston Hotel)...the Hop On, Hop Off bus, Shuttles, Roberts Hawaii, etc stops at Aston Hotel which is approximately 500 feet or one block away from Hyatt.

Room Tip: Valet parking only, $28/day. Public transportation such as Hop On, Hop Off bus, Shuttles, Roberts H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlust1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The good:
Close to beach, buss restaurants, shopping.
Breakfast included in the price.
Clean rooms.
Nice staff and helping.
The bad:
Noise from the street is terrible in the morning
Same food for breakfast(frozen fruits and no meat)

Room Tip: Stay away from the mountain view NOISE!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claude_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hyatt Place Waikiki was such a wonderfully inviting hotel. The open air lobby is beautiful- and our room was so spacious and clean and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great- very close to the beach and some shops. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and informative. The hotel has a great business center with computers and printers ready for your use so that printing out boarding passes or whatever else you need is very easy. The breakfast they offer was absolutely wonderful. Lots of fresh fruit, warm breakfast sandwiches, and pastries as well as yogurt and cottage cheese. One of my favorite offerings was the kim chee and white rice with soy sauce. Not what you see on typical breakfast buffets- but very warm and comforting to try in the morning.
Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustfamily17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha marmerdave,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled you found the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to be beautiful and inviting. Our guests rave about our friendly staff and spacious guest rooms. Glad you were able to experience these unique features firsthand. It would be a pleasure to invite you back upon your next return to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Once again, the Hyatt name did not disappoint. We stayed for one week in January 2013. We had an ocean view king room on the 12th floor. The room was great. We had a large balcony with two chairs and a little table. The bed was really comfortable, which, anyone who travels will know that the comfort of a bed can make or break a vacation. The room also had a large screen tv, and a comfortable couch. A full Breakfast was included in the price of the room. The food was excellent. If you don't mind the hustle and bustle of Waikiki, then I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Aloha JLP1989,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your ocean view king guest room and modern amenities. Thank you for highly recommending our hotel to fellow readers and travelers.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location, and while the rooms are small and the pool is smaller, the ambiance of the hotel makes up for it. The breakfast is ok but if you happen to have a windy day, not the best location. I had a late flight out so the front desk accommodated me with the use of one of their rooms for 1/2 hour to freshen up before my flight. Nice touch at no cost. Definetly a return for me!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha Hanky53,
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that our hotel personnel was able to provide you with a room to freshen up before your flight. We can't wait to welcome you back again in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,553 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing