We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One block from Waikiki beach, small(ish) rooms, free daily breakfast = great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One block from Waikiki beach, small(ish) rooms, free daily breakfast = great value.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers the tourist everything they could need: clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, free wifi & free breakfast. Breakfast is great - not just standard continental items, but also things like cheese and ham toasties.
They have a small pool, but most guests are down at the beach (borrow a towel for free from reception desk), which is just a block away
Ask for a room with ocean views. We were on level 11 and faced the ocean, which was nice (but would be better if two beachfront hotels weren't in the way!).
Walk to shopping, restaurants. Drink at Tiki bar, which is on the corner closest to beach, and if you have time and energy, I recommend doing the mountain walk to Diamond Head mountain - an old volcano with walking trail. 3 mile walk from hotel, so a 2 hour round trip. Views are worthwhile, I promise.
Wifi quality in hotel is excellent. They also allowed us to check in early (at 10am), which after a 10 hour flight, we were very grateful for! Hotel also has concierge desk, with friendly guys who can help plan your activities. It's cheaper to book them from Hawaii (as opposed to through your travel agent at home), so I recommend leaving it to the guys here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha Lee W,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach offered everything you needed during your recent stay. The Expedia Tour Desk does a spectacular job assisting our guests with planning their daily activities. Thank you for recommending our services to fellow readers and travelers. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    1,121
    301
    81
    42
See reviews for
1,064
985
138
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

POOR DESIGN CONSTRUCTION: On the main floor, the hotel has areas open to the outside from the lobby floor through the hallways which, in windy conditions common to the rainy season, creates a wind tunnel. In my 2nd floor room, this created an unreal and bizarre amount of noise, varying from a low loud moan to a high-pitched scream that completely drowned out music and the television, even set to a high volume. As a heavy sleeper that rarely has difficulty resting, I could barely sleep. What little sleep brought unpleasant dreams incorporating the noise. Finally, early in the morning, I inquired at the front desk and was THEN told to put a towel at the base of the door. This did indeed reduce the wind vacuuming into the room, cutting out about 90% of the noise. Sadly, this came too late to be any help for me when I left exhausted for 2 days of flights. This seemed to be a common complaint (based on how the front desk responded to me) so why hasn't the hotel put in some kind of door seal or at the least advise guests beforehand?

Otherwise, the hotel was decent, clean, with nicely appointed rooms, typical comfortable Hyatt beds, and polite staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JUngmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha JUngmo,
Mahalo for your review. We regret to learn if the layout of our hotel did not exceed expectations during your stay. Also, it disappoints us to hear if the neighboring noise disrupted your sleep. We wish you would have brought this to our attention during your stay, so that we could have re-assigned your guest room. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for a much improved stay if given the opportunity.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Waikiki for the New Year night. I was glad to be able to use my Hyatt points instead of paying the $430 per night rate, what would have been outrageous - even for Waikiki.

The hotel was recently renovated. Rooms had all the expected amenities and were comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfast was great, but closing the buffet at 9.30 am sharp was unusual for a hotel in a resort town and on a New Years holiday.
Also make sure to take a tray from your room. No trays were provided at the breakfast buffet.

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to assist.
The pool was small but still larger than the pool at the more expensive and lot larger Hyatt Regency.

The gym was basic, but clean.
The location of the hotel is central and everything in Waikiki, including the main part of Waikiki Beach is only steps away .

Room Tip: The value for money charged on most dates is good, but watch out for overpriced rates during time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just spent 6 night over the christmas period at Hyatt Place. Family of four, in a clean room with two queen beds and lots of space, a desk and lounge sitting area, 42 in HD tv, with all the best channels. Lots of plugs to to charge cameras, cell phones, laptops. Clean bathroom with shower and super-quite flush toilet. The room comes with a large safe, big enough for a laptop bag. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast was excellent everyday, with lots of healthy food options.

Enjoyed coming back to the hotel after the day's actvities. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There isn't much of an ocean view, as the hotel is blocked by other nearby hotels. Opt for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hastytravelerYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha hastytravelerYYZ,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach during the Christmas holiday. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our modern amenities and complimentary hotel-wide WiFi. Can't wait to welcome you back again upon your future return to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall it as an excellent stay... Our mountain view room had everything we needed and requested, large shower, huge comfortable bed and free wifi that worked well.
Breakfast was perfectly edible and more than sufficient. Yes, it gets busy but we never missed out on a table and enjoyed our food every day.
We were there for a wedding and had groups of friends staying in many different hotels. We were the only ones to get wifi, breakfast, balcony and great service so we chose well and we all paid similar prices. Every hotel we visited had a small swimming pool but in saying that, no one was ever using them either.
Nothing to complain about at the Hyatt Place, they did a great job! Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha JMRW,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you were the only ones to receive complimentary WiFi, breakfast, a private lanai and friendly service amongst all your friends. That definitely says a lot! Thank you for the great compliment, and we can't wait to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We hail from Melbourne, Australia. Spending 2 weeks in Oahu, thought we'd experience 3 different hotels. After much research, we decided to give Hyatt Place a go. It was a really good decision.

We were in the Diamond Towers, which has ocean views, 12th flr, with 2 queen beds. As we have a 16yr old daughter, the 2 queen beds were a neccesity for us, so everyone can relax on the bed after a long day tour.

The bedroom is partitioned by a huge LCD TV/cabinet and you can turn the TV the other way round facing the other side, which is the lounge area.

Lounge has a 3-seater sofa and single seater, with a computer table. Lots of storage space/cabinets. Free coffee/tea, however, mineral water is $3 per bottle.

The shower space is adequate for a single person, however, the water flow is quite slow. Towels were really clean and sparkling white, which is very important for me, as I gauge the star of the hotel by the standard of the towels, and being a seasoned traveller all over the world, this is normally quite accurate.

The other preference is perhaps they should separate the toilet from the shower, as the other family member cant use the toilet if someone else is showering.

The sink space could be larger as well.

Only valet parking available, $25per day.

The pizza from room service, esp. Vegetarian & BBQ Chicken is the Best we have ever tasted! Must try! As my teenager was too tired, she fell asleep as soon as we checked in, after a long flight, and upon waking after 8hrs later, the BBQ Chicken was still delicious, without the need to warm it.

Every staff in the Hotel very friendly, breakfast and free wifi also included! What else do you want in a regular hotel! Definitely worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha bearsticky,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our pizzas and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet during your stay. Your comments about the water pressure will be addressed with our maintenance team, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If your travels bring you back to Honolulu in the future, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hyatt Place Waikiki this autumn. Terrific value. The rooms have a sitting area and tiny decks (facing decks on other hotels). The breakfast is just fine. The beach is nearby as are a number of nice restaurants. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, family-friendly hotel in Waikiki this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,392 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,364 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing