We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at Hyatt Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at Hyatt Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just spent 6 night over the christmas period at Hyatt Place. Family of four, in a clean room with two queen beds and lots of space, a desk and lounge sitting area, 42 in HD tv, with all the best channels. Lots of plugs to to charge cameras, cell phones, laptops. Clean bathroom with shower and super-quite flush toilet. The room comes with a large safe, big enough for a laptop bag. Free wifi throughout the hotel. The breakfast was excellent everyday, with lots of healthy food options.

Enjoyed coming back to the hotel after the day's actvities. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There isn't much of an ocean view, as the hotel is blocked by other nearby hotels. Opt for the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hastytravelerYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha hastytravelerYYZ,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach during the Christmas holiday. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed our modern amenities and complimentary hotel-wide WiFi. Can't wait to welcome you back again upon your future return to Waikiki Beach.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,018
    276
    74
    38
See reviews for
918
887
121
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall it as an excellent stay... Our mountain view room had everything we needed and requested, large shower, huge comfortable bed and free wifi that worked well.
Breakfast was perfectly edible and more than sufficient. Yes, it gets busy but we never missed out on a table and enjoyed our food every day.
We were there for a wedding and had groups of friends staying in many different hotels. We were the only ones to get wifi, breakfast, balcony and great service so we chose well and we all paid similar prices. Every hotel we visited had a small swimming pool but in saying that, no one was ever using them either.
Nothing to complain about at the Hyatt Place, they did a great job! Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha JMRW,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that you were the only ones to receive complimentary WiFi, breakfast, a private lanai and friendly service amongst all your friends. That definitely says a lot! Thank you for the great compliment, and we can't wait to serve you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We hail from Melbourne, Australia. Spending 2 weeks in Oahu, thought we'd experience 3 different hotels. After much research, we decided to give Hyatt Place a go. It was a really good decision.

We were in the Diamond Towers, which has ocean views, 12th flr, with 2 queen beds. As we have a 16yr old daughter, the 2 queen beds were a neccesity for us, so everyone can relax on the bed after a long day tour.

The bedroom is partitioned by a huge LCD TV/cabinet and you can turn the TV the other way round facing the other side, which is the lounge area.

Lounge has a 3-seater sofa and single seater, with a computer table. Lots of storage space/cabinets. Free coffee/tea, however, mineral water is $3 per bottle.

The shower space is adequate for a single person, however, the water flow is quite slow. Towels were really clean and sparkling white, which is very important for me, as I gauge the star of the hotel by the standard of the towels, and being a seasoned traveller all over the world, this is normally quite accurate.

The other preference is perhaps they should separate the toilet from the shower, as the other family member cant use the toilet if someone else is showering.

The sink space could be larger as well.

Only valet parking available, $25per day.

The pizza from room service, esp. Vegetarian & BBQ Chicken is the Best we have ever tasted! Must try! As my teenager was too tired, she fell asleep as soon as we checked in, after a long flight, and upon waking after 8hrs later, the BBQ Chicken was still delicious, without the need to warm it.

Every staff in the Hotel very friendly, breakfast and free wifi also included! What else do you want in a regular hotel! Definitely worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bearsticky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha bearsticky,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our pizzas and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet during your stay. Your comments about the water pressure will be addressed with our maintenance team, and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If your travels bring you back to Honolulu in the future, it would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent four nights at the Hyatt Place Waikiki this autumn. Terrific value. The rooms have a sitting area and tiny decks (facing decks on other hotels). The breakfast is just fine. The beach is nearby as are a number of nice restaurants. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, family-friendly hotel in Waikiki this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 849Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Staying here with my wife and 13 & 15 year old kids. Two queen beds are very comfortable. Rooms are clean. Elevators are slow as everyone else says but if you're on floors 5 or lower the stairs are easy. The two big pluses for this place are its excellent breakfast and well equipped fitness room (5 ellipticals and 4 treadmills and free weights). The breakfast is like having endless free egg mcmuffins from mcd's everyday. The food area is windy but it is 73+F so I'm not complaining. We actually used the super-clean laundry room too, which was a nice surprise. Oh, and the hotel staff seem very friendly. Always quick to hand out beach towels for the day. I have no major complaints at all. Well, maybe the street noise is a little loud when we're still adjusting to the time zone but then again we are staying in a city so that can/should be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickytravelerAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha pickytravelerAustin,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy you enjoyed our a.m. Kitchen Skillet breakfast sandwiches. They are definitely a hit amongst most of our guests. Glad the wind and street level noise did not diminish your overall impression of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We hope to become your hotel of choice when returning to Waikiki Beach in the future.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We traveled to Oahu in June 2012. This hotel had just completed renovation in April so we were able to secure a very attractive rate for our room. We were very impressed with the staff and renovations throughout the hotel and our room. The room, although small was warm and inviting (you'll go home wishing your bedroom had a bed as comfortable The Hyatt Place.) The view wasn't great but we didn't pay for that so no love lost there.

The free full breakfast was great... and did I say free? That's worth at least 20 dollars a day for two people in Oahu, can't beat that. However, the location of the breakfast area on the 3rd floor left a little to be desired. It was always very windy and therefore usually a mess during breakfast with juice and food scattered throughout which the wind blew while people were eating. Not unbearable.

The location was good, very close to the Waikiki Beach, Kapiolani Park and Waikiki Zoo. There is also a public parking garage right on the corner opposite of the hotel where you can park for 10 dollars a day. 60 per week. This was awesome considering that parking is generally 20+ dollars a day in most parts of Waikiki.

Overall, this hotel is a great value in a good location with convenient access to cheap parking. You'll be more than satisfied with your stay if you don't expect 5 star accommodations for 3.5 star pricing. We will happily stay at The Hyatt Place during our next trip to Waikiki.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vzehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha vzehler,
Mahalo for your fantastic review! We are grateful to hear how much you enjoyed our brand new guest rooms and convenient location. We apologize if the 3rd floor Guest Kitchen seating area came off unkempt somewhat, but this will be addressed with our Executive Committee. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and can't wait to welcome you back to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

ok the rooms and the bed were awesome, and the hotel staff are friendly and courteous. the problem we had here is the front desk workers. first off, they dont have a 'little maze' like the rest of the hotel check in's do, so its NOT first come, first serve. my husband being a local, complained to the mananger, when that didnt work, he complained to corporate, well they gave us a $50 dollar credit, that we could spend on whatever at the hotel-thanks for that. they had a promotion, that gave a free-continental breakfast, not bad food, the only down part is that its located on the 3rd floor and windy as hell. oh the elevators are a little weird, you have to use your room keys to access the floors, btw, the elevators will they're freak out moments and ultimately skip your floors.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satchel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha satchel b,
Mahalo for your review. It seems our services at the front desk failed to exceed expectations while you were a guest of ours, and for that we sincerely apologize. We are pleased that our Executive Committee was able to compensate you appropriately for your troubles with a hotel credit. It seems you encountered some issues with the elevators during your stay, but this will be addressed with our maintenance department. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.
Mahalo nui loa,
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing