We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay, minor exceptions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, minor exceptions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights last week and were extremely happy with it. Paid a few bucks to upgrade, completely worth the more spacious room (King View with separate living area, views of Diamond Head and the ocean). Very clean, renovated/modern furnishings, breakfast was free, staff is friendly, everything was comfortable and easy. TV was a good size, free HBO.

I was there with my hubby and 7 mo baby, so my opinion is based on family friendliness. The closest beach (two blocks) is great for families with little ones because it is less crowded and there’s a surf breaker, so the water is very calm, shallow, and warm. The adjacent beach, San Souci, is also fantastic and less touristy. The hotel provided us with a “crib” (which was really a generic brand pack n play) that was less than stellar – the mattress didn’t fit properly (about 3 inches too short!) and was lumpy. I stuffed the extra blanket under the crib sheet and used it for the baby to play in but didn’t let her sleep in it. However, I saw newer looking Graco pack n plays in the hallway, so maybe we got stuck with the last junky one. There is also a mini fridge in the room which was extremely helpful for storing milk for pumping mamas.

My only complaints were the lack of a bathtub and the loud AC. Without a tub, I had to bathe my baby in the sink or in the standing shower. Not the end of the world but a tub would’ve been a lot easier. It could be a challenge for small children because the shower head is pretty high, or maybe there are rooms with tubs that I’m unaware of. Like other reviewers noted, the AC is loud and next to the bed. Slightly annoying, but would not deter me from staying here again. The pool is small and uninviting. We prefer the beach so it wasn’t an issue, but if you are looking for good pool/lounging time I would go elsewhere. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you have babies/young kids, ask for a room with a bathtub
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezysteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha breezysteph,
Mahalo for your honest and positive review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the crib and shower to accommodate children, and will share these comments with our Executive Committee to find a resolution for future couples traveling with young children. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    853
    223
    61
    29
See reviews for
724
704
100
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Love the location so far. View wasn't worth the extra money. Don't splurge for that. Bathroom is super tiny. Sink area is ok, but shower is very cramped and not the cleanest it could be. Disappointed no lotion provided. But they do provide toothpaste. I would LOVE a room service menu. I was looking forward to a massage, but will have to go elsewhere for that service as no spa here?
But overall clean-ish, friendly, convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JXai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha JXai,
Mahalo for your review. We regret to learn that the view from your guest room did not exceed expectations. Formal room service is not available, but we do provide the option of guests ordering food and having delivered to your guest room. As a select service hotel, spa options are not available, but with our location in Waikiki there are many options for spa services within walking distance. We hope to be your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Large, clean room with all you need. Seems the place was remodeled lately. All personel were very nice and helpfull. Breakfast good. We were on the 6th floor and the street noise was loud. It started about 6 am and got quieter at about midnight. We stayed for five days and as more people arrived the elevator wait got to be a bit long.

Room Tip: I don't know if there're quieter rooms, my wife resolved the noise problem with ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha Laddiez,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our large and recently remodeled guest rooms. Since Waikiki Beach is a densely populated area, street noise at times can be loud. It would be a pleasure to invite you back again for a much improved stay if given the opportunity.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our first hotel on our Hawaii trip, my wife did the excellent job of searching and booking all the hotels, including this one.
After a super long flight from Montreal we finally arrived at Waikiki! The staff at the reception are super friendly, we got to our room in speedy time.
The room is clean, the bed is super comfy to crash a few hours in bed.
The hotel is kind of at the end of Waikiki, and a few blocks from the beach, that did not bother us at all, Waikiki beach is not that big, you can walk round-trip easily.
The hotel provided beach towel, that is a plus!!
We enjoy the included breakfast buffet , not ultra fancy but you can find decent juices, nicely roast coffee, hot meal, nothing negative to say here, we got there every day around 8h and there is always seats available, worse case you can bring the food in the provide tray in your room back to the room, I guess we were visiting in October the low season so we don't have to beat the crow.
Free wifi is also included in our price, that is nice, there are also PC desktop in the hall to if you did not bring your tablet or laptop you can always fall back to use them.
Considering the proximity to Waikiki beach and how pricey are the hotels, I think this hotel has a good quality/price ratio !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Although this hotel seems to have all the mod cons - great location, clean and modern rooms- free wifi with our rate and a reasonable ocean view, the rooms were very small for a family. We had a king size room with an ocean view but once the cot was in the room there was hardly any space to sit or relax except the balcony which is impossible with a 7 year old and a 17month old !Breakfast was chaos with a stampede on the buffet- the (breakfast room) was a small open space which doubled as the terrace for the pool, the wind was gusting every morning and we had to hold onto our napkins and cutlery, the pidgeons were ever present, stealing food off plates that were left on an unattended table. Staff were friendly but we would not choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: we were on the 12th floor with a good view of the ocean- although somewhat obstructed by other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schatzi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha Schatzi_12,
Mahalo for your review. Allow us to sincerely apologize for your disappointing stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We regret to learn if our guest room accommodations failed to exceed expectations, and if the pidgeons caused any inconvenience during your breakfast. Just so you are aware, we do offer our guests the choice to bring their breakfast indoors by providing a tray. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, and hope you find accommodations that better suit your needs when you return to Honolulu.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week.
Breakfast was dull. Room was spacious, had everything we needed .. Customer service was nice. It was good to have it away from the crowds noises.. But overall very nice. The tourist guys were very handful.
The room were pricey but I didn't mind it. The view could be better from the balcony.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kpetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Hyatt Place is an average hotel in a nice location on the far side of the Waikiki strip. It's a clear step (or two) down from the area's well known standards (i.e. - the Haleukulani or Moana Surfrider) and located a bit far from the main action. It's within a few minutes of the beach and seems to target a college-age crowd. Guests staying here should not expect expect much more than a clean, quiet place to sleep.

First, the good things: the hotel is new, clean, reasonably well located, very reasonably priced and the staff is courteous and very friendly. Guests will find very little to fault in these areas. The location is a bit far from the main part of the tourist strip but that also means it's a bit more quiet (and it's still only a few minutes on foot to everything else).

If you're the kind of person who just wants a decent place to sleep - stop reading here because you'll be perfectly happy with this place. However, if you're someone who appreciates things a bit more on the high-end side and looks for attention to detail and luxury - there a few things you should be aware of:

Although the lobby has a nice, open-air feeling to it - the standard rooms are tiny and lacking any kind of ambiance or detail at all. The bathrooms (which lack a separate toilet area) are equally cramped and there's little more that can be said about them other than they are brown.

The staff is extremely friendly and helpful but seem to be limited in number especially in the evening and the concierge desk is sporadically manned it seems.

The complimentary breakfast is a joke - some fruits and yogurt, the worst danish I've ever had and the only "main" was a greasy, egg-bacon-cheese sandwich. It was free (which is good since nobody would pay for this) but seating was limited and guests are semi-encouraged to take-away and eat in their rooms.

Overall, this hotel does not have the desire or try to be the next luxury hotel in Waikiki. The atmosphere is somewhat akin to a youth hostel and that feeling is complimented by the fact that the average guest appears to be around college age (likely because this is also one of the cheaper properties in the area). This is in no way a bad thing necessarily but prospective guests who prefer the attention to detail found at finer hotels should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmm727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha bmm727,
Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of our hotel. WIth the Hyatt Place concept we give our guests a great value without high end luxury pricing. Which attracts guest from all spectrum's looking for a wonderful location at a reasonable price. During your stay we did have a group of college students in house, which may have misrepresented our mix of business. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,621 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Self parking: $25 daily fee. Valet parking: $30 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing