We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt Place - What a Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hyatt Place - What a Place”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a lovely hotel this is, only a two minute walk to the beach, and ABC stores close by for your convenience. All the staff at the hotel were really nice, and it was lovely to be greeted by smiling faces at reception upon arrival. Check in was quick, our room was bright and clean, with a nice big shower. Free Wifi in your room, as well as computers in the lobby. Complimentary breakfast was really good, also a nice touch in the morning was the free coffee and tea trolley in the lobby, so when I had finished my walk I would grab a coffee and take it up to our room.
We are hoping to visit Hawaii again next year, and will definitely be staying at the Hyatt Place, and recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha smerge,
Mahalo for your sincere review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our convenient location, welcoming hotel personnel, and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet items. It is music to our ears to hear that you would return back to the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach again next year.
Mahalo nui loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    1,090
    294
    76
    41
See reviews for
1,005
962
135
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed 5 nights and enjoyed every one. Good location on Kuhio one block from beach. Room was clean and hotel staff polite and efficient. Free breakfast a nice touch as it is served (weather permitting) poolside on the 3rd floor though I'd eat early (6:30 - 7:30) for best seating. Stayed on the top floor (20th) of the tower by the front desk and the noise was minimal. Small balcony nice to have as sandy shoes and towels fit well out there. Only complaint by wife was a lack of vanity or counter space in the bathroom. Well recommended...

Room Tip: Higher is better to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f1stserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha jzirkel,
Mahalo for your review and choosing to stay at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our great location, friendly staff and complimentary breakfast poolside. We apologize if there was not enough counter space in your guest bathroom. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in a King-bed room for 3 nights. The room size and layout is relatively average (maybe even on the small side) but there is a balcony, and plus, how much time will you actually spend in your room in hawaii aside for resting and sleeping?! Everything looked and felt clean and pristine. Bed is comfortable and supportive, decor feels modern and updated. All the staff we encountered--from front desk to bar to cleaning to restaurant--were friendly and helpful.

The complimentary breakfast is great. Its buffet style, not a large selection but all the basics you need and everything is well made, delicious and filling. The spread is usually a hot brkfst sandwich of some sort, waffle or French toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot oatmeal, pastries and cereals, juices and coffee.

Hotel location is great: one block walk to the beach, walkable to all restaurants and shopping on the Waikiki waterfront as well as the zoo, convenient store right next door, bus stop on the corner, 1-2miles walk to diamond head. The only thing you may miss out on is a 100% unobstructed view of the ocean since the hotel is one block in from the waterfront, but that didn't really bother me.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msmaryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha msmaryw,
Mahalo for your very kind review. We are thrilled to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed our great location, friendly and helpful staff, delicious a.m. Kitchen Skillet, and pristine guest room. Here at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, we pride ourselves on our central location and affordable rates. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip – once on the 4th floor & once on the 9th – rooms were exactly the same but the higher one had a glimpse of water.

The rooms were much bigger than usual hotel rooms with a separate sitting area which was nice. The bar fridge was handy too. Everything was in excellent condition.

Location is great – a few minutes walk to the beach & an ABC store and about 10 mins walk to where most of the restaurants & shops were.

Free Wifi as well as computers in the lobby were very useful too.

Breakfast was good – after other reviews we expected chaos but it really wasn’t bad at all – never had a problem getting a table. It wasn’t fancy but there was decent variety and it saved time & money.

Staff were very helpful with information and organising transport.

The main reason we chose Hyatt Place over other hotels was the price and I really think it was excellent value for money. If you're planning a holiday where you stay at the hotel the whole time and sit by the pool then this probably isn't the best place, but for our purposes – a nice room in a good location – it was perfect and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayarbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha jayarbee,
Mahalo for your review and for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. Glad you enjoyed our convenient location, complimentary Wi-Fi, friendly hotel personnel, and complimentary a.m. Kitchen Skillet. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We're here on our way back from other islands in the Pacific and couldn't be happier - everyone here is so helpful and kind, which really makes a difference here in Waikiki. Rooms are clean, spacious -- really great. Would def stay here again, and next time. Makes me a big fan of Hyatt Place. Whoever is in charge of staff here is doing a great job!

The nabe is a little dodgy... but even still we'd return. it's a little off the beaten path - away from the busy shopping areas which we prefer.

Room Tip: we're up on 11, so away from most of the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alice a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha alice a,
Mahalo for your review. We are thrilled to hear that our staff thoroughly impressed you during your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. We pride ourselves on our very accommodating and kind hotel personnel, and glad you were able to experience this firsthand. We will be sure to share your gracious praises with the Hyatt Place team, and everyone will be very appreciative. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

At 426 rooms, the Hyatt place is a boutique sanctuary at the quiet end of Waikiki, down by the zoo and two short blocks from the beach. Compared to the neighboring Marriott with 1175 rooms and the 1239 room Hyatt Regency down the street, Hyatt place is a quiet sanctuary from the bustle of Waikiki. The hotel is a recent purchase by Hyatt, and was remodeled and updated. Hyatt retained many of the former staff, meaning the staff is helpful, professional and happy to be working under the Hyatt brand.
The standard model for the larger hotels on Waikiki is to have shops on the first floors and common areas. The interiors of the Marriott and Hyatt Regency look more like shopping malls than hotels. While the Hyatt Place does not have restaurants, they are within easy walking distance. Instead of shops, the Hyatt Place has a modern contemporary common area with a 24-hour bar.
Hyatt Place has two different towers. The Pali Tower is considered the deluxe tower due to the size of the rooms at 500 to 550 sq feet. The Diamond tower has standard room accommodations room size 220 to 250 sq ft. The penthouse floor is identical to all the other rooms in the Pali Tower, only difference is that the PH floor is the top floor.

Insiders Tip: On your next visit, you can request to be on a higher floor. If you prefer ocean views, on the website you will need to confirm Deluxe King or Queen Ocean View, and request the penthouse floor. If you want to save money, get the smaller standard room; if you want more space, get a deluxe room.
Our room had a sitting area and more plugs than I have ever seen in a hotel room. A skillet breakfast is included with the room. Fried egg is combined daily rotation of breads for an open-faced egg sandwich. Yogurts, fruit, granolas, cereal, miso soup and bagels with cream cheese are additional choices. Breakfast is from 6:30 to 9:30.
The lobby area has a 24-hour bar and snack bar. In the back corner of the area is a gift shop with remarkably competitive prices. The water and juices there were less the neighboring ABC store! Would you rather pay $3.25 for a bottle of water in the room or $.85 in the gift shop?
Insiders Tip: Park at the Aston Banyan diagonally across the street. You get in and out privileges and it is half the price of valet parking at the Hyatt Place.
We had a deluxe city view room, which actually faced Diamond Head and had a partial ocean view. Our room had a small lanai (balcony), which we enjoyed in our down time. We were on Oahu for just a few days so we did not intend Hyatt Place to be a place of relaxation. If you want relaxation, head to Maui or Kauai. If you want mixing with lots of people, nightlife and high energy, Waikiki is the place for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha John K,
Mahalo for your review. We sincerely appreciate you referring to us as a quiet sanctuary near the end of Waikiki Beach. Yes, we completed renovations back in the spring of 2012, and we are glad you were able to experience these new changes firsthand. For clarification, our Penthouse floor is only a reference to the top floor of the Pali Tower. The room sizes and layouts are fairly consistent throughout the hotel, except for different views. Many readers will appreciate reading your review of the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach and the surrounding area in general.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Beware! Switch and bait!! This hotel has two towers. The rooms in the newer tower are small! Previous to this visit I had stayed 3 times in the first tower which was renovated two years ago. Upon arrival today, I was literally put in the smallest room in the hotel (they told me it was) which is in the most recently renovated tower. It was so small it is the only room in the hotel without a desk. I thought it was odd that they would put a single person staying 7 nights in a room with no desk. Meaning it would seem obvious to me that I was there on business. So they moved me to another small room but at least I have a desk. Oh, did I mention the air conditioner didn't work.
So much for the loyalty program!! Time to find a new hotel!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay in the newly renovated tower. The rooms are much smaller then the tower that was renova...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bigredcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha Bigredcpa,
Mahalo for your review and continued loyalty to our hotel. We sincerely regret to learn of the details regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It seems our guest rooms failed to exceed expectations while you were a guest of ours, and for that we truly apologize. Also, we are sorry to hear if your A/C unit was not functioning properly, but this will be addressed immediately with our Executive Housekeeper. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again and regain your confidence in us. We kindly ask that you contact our Hotel Manager, Imre Gonczy, at: imre.gonczy@hyattplacewaikikibeach.com or via phone: 808-931-4387. He would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and find a resolution to your hotel troubles.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,298 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Property: Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing