We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room, poor view, ridiculous pool, no hot tub, no bath tub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Smallest room I have ever stayed in anywhere, and we upgraded! Speaking of upgrade, the promised "ocean-view" was about 50 yards of beach and ocean between some pretty ugly buildings. This when we were only one floor from the top.

The pool, for this large hotel, is a very simple, ugly, conrete square about 10'x20'. It wouldn't even be a "nice" or decent pool in a lower-middle class backyard in the suburbs. No hot tub at all plus no bathtub. Really wanted to soak my foot after getting a big cut on the coral. Plus, soaking is just relaxing, and that's what vacation is about, right?

The provided breakfast was fairly good, but you had better plan on eating it in your tiny room because there is only covered seating for about 20 people. If it isn't blazing hot sitting in the direct sun and eating or pouring rain (one of which is almost guaranteed), there are dozens of birds walking (and popping) all over the tables and looking to raid your plate.


Staff was good. Valet parking was fast and convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Aloha Randy B.,

Mahalo for your review. We are really sorry that you were not satisfied with the view from your guest room and the pool size. It seems you had trouble finding a place to sit on our patio, but we will address this with our Executive Committee. In regards to the birds, we do our best to prevent the intrusion and apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused. We hope to invite you back for a much improved stay if your travels bring you back to Waikiki Beach.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,990)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,479 - 2,485 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel is newly renovated, has a view of Waikiki beach and Diamond Head. The hotel is only two blocks away from Waikiki beach, shopping and dining. The City Bus service is just around the corner and the buses will take you mostly everywhere. An ABC store is located around the corner, which we used for stocking up on water, chips, souvenirs, and the price is reasonable. The hotel/room is very quite, clean, modern, spacious, and also has a safe in each room. The only thing that is missing is a "MICROWAVE", but if you need to heat up your food, you may ask front desk staff to heat up your food for you.
The lobby is large and pleasant, friendly staff, and continental breakfast included.
I would definately recommended this hotel. One last thing to note is that the maid forgot to clean our room for one night. They cleaned the room the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights and overall it was a pleasant stay.

Check in was smooth and they even gave us a complimentary bottle of red wine for our wedding anniversary.

They have an Expedia tour representative at the lobby who was really helpful. We arranged a few tours through him.

The location of Hyatt Place is really good. It was close to the beach and all the shops. The ABC store and bus stops were just round the corner. Everything was conveniently located which we thought was the best thing about Hyatt Place.

We had a Mountain View room which was pretty standard and nothing special. The complimentary breakfast was good and they even provide you a tray so you can bring breakfast back to your own room.

The only negative point was the night before check out we discovered one of our phone chargers were missing. We had 2 chargers plugged in the sockets and only found 1 when we returned! We reported this to helpdesk and they did handle it professionally.

Despite the mishap from house keeping we did enjoy ourselves and would recommend Hyatt Place to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you have a car then park at the Banyan parking garage (across the street). It was only $12 for 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g_0010662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Aloha Guest,

Mahalo for your review. We pride ourselves on our central location here in Waikiki Beach. It always brings us great joy to hear that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay and complimentary services. We are disappointed to hear that your phone charger was missing, and hope that you were able to track it down. Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your friends and family, and we are sure they will enjoy it too. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hyatt Place is one block from the Waikiki beach. It is on the same block as the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel which sits across the street from Waikiki Beach and across from the Marriott Waikiki Beach Hotel which takes up the whole block. The hotel is newly renovated since the Hyatt chain took over the old Ocean Resort Hotel.

This hotel competes against hotels like the Courtyard Marriott. The rooms are very clean, and modern. We are a family of five and booked two rooms. Both rooms were king beds but one room had a sofa bed which also acts as a sitting area when all of us got together for breakfast. The free breakfast was more than adequate and there is free wireless, beach towels and even live music on the weekends. Both rooms have a shower enclosure instead of a tub and a sink outside the toilet and shower.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They stored our bags during the day after we checked out as our flight home was in the evening. Bus service is just around the corner and the buses we booked for the Polynesian Cultural Centre stopped at the Marriott across the street. The Zoo is a block away and if you are driving, there is easy access to the highway from this location. An ABC store was located 20 yards away which we used for stocking up on water, chips and souvenirs. Other affordable restaurants one to two blocks away include Subway, Burger King, MacDonalds and Eggs'N Things. Hyatt was three blocks away where a Budget rent-a-car was located and was convenient for day rentals so we could avoid paying the daily parking fee.

Room Tip: The free breakfast is located on the third place in the pool area. If your room is on the third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed 1 week, first time visiting Oahu. From the moment we arrived all straff we encountered were friendly and service minded. The location was great, close to beach and walking distanse to shopping and dining. If you like running I recommend the kapiolani Park area and Diamond Head rd nearby. We used the Banyan parking garage (across the street) and paid $72 for 1 week. The breakfast was ok, with a decent selection. We usually ate early and had no problems with crowds or shortage of food. Really enjoyed the option of taking breakfast to the room. Room was on the small side, but was nicely decorated and with comfy bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kris725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the beach and has a view of the ocean. It's nearby the shopping and food street.
The room (double beds) I lived in is very big and clean, and coz I booked the hotel through a travel agency, the price was very economic.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andylsq200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

for first timers to HNL I thought this was good location, walking distance to most we picked up a car rental for couple of days to check out the dole plantation and visit the north side of the island. its across the street from the beach. surprised at the amount of homeless type near by. Pool was a bit on the smaller size seeing how big the hotel was. Staff was great rooms had great views and clean. did the tourist thing this time I don't think I would stay here again not because of the hotel but because of the tourist mecca this part of Honolulu.

Room Tip: facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Aloha Guest,

Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Since you last stay in October 2011, we have completed renovations at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to check out our contemporary accommodations and complimentary amenities.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,500 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
279 reviews
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $200 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing