We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,551)
Filter reviews
3,551 results
Traveler rating
1,642
1,358
393
104
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,642
1,358
393
104
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastwaikiki beachthe breakfast areakimchiyogurtself parkingacross the streettwo blocksocean viewabc storediamond headhonolulu zooevery morningpineapplethird floorsofa bedbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
2,974 - 2,979 of 3,551 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights and overall it was a pleasant stay.

Check in was smooth and they even gave us a complimentary bottle of red wine for our wedding anniversary.

They have an Expedia tour representative at the lobby who was really helpful. We arranged a few tours through him.

The location of Hyatt Place is really good. It was close to the beach and all the shops. The ABC store and bus stops were just round the corner. Everything was conveniently located which we thought was the best thing about Hyatt Place.

We had a Mountain View room which was pretty standard and nothing special. The complimentary breakfast was good and they even provide you a tray so you can bring breakfast back to your own room.

The only negative point was the night before check out we discovered one of our phone chargers were missing. We had 2 chargers plugged in the sockets and only found 1 when we returned! We reported this to helpdesk and they did handle it professionally.

Despite the mishap from house keeping we did enjoy ourselves and would recommend Hyatt Place to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you have a car then park at the Banyan parking garage (across the street). It was only $12 for 24 hours access.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank g_0010662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Aloha Guest,

Mahalo for your review. We pride ourselves on our central location here in Waikiki Beach. It always brings us great joy to hear that our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay and complimentary services. We are disappointed to hear that your phone charger was missing, and hope that you were able to track it down. Thank you for recommending the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach to your friends and family, and we are sure they will enjoy it too. We look forward to being your hotel of choice when returning to Honolulu in the future

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hyatt Place is one block from the Waikiki beach. It is on the same block as the Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel which sits across the street from Waikiki Beach and across from the Marriott Waikiki Beach Hotel which takes up the whole block. The hotel is newly renovated since the Hyatt chain took over the old Ocean Resort Hotel.

This hotel competes against hotels like the Courtyard Marriott. The rooms are very clean, and modern. We are a family of five and booked two rooms. Both rooms were king beds but one room had a sofa bed which also acts as a sitting area when all of us got together for breakfast. The free breakfast was more than adequate and there is free wireless, beach towels and even live music on the weekends. Both rooms have a shower enclosure instead of a tub and a sink outside the toilet and shower.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They stored our bags during the day after we checked out as our flight home was in the evening. Bus service is just around the corner and the buses we booked for the Polynesian Cultural Centre stopped at the Marriott across the street. The Zoo is a block away and if you are driving, there is easy access to the highway from this location. An ABC store was located 20 yards away which we used for stocking up on water, chips and souvenirs. Other affordable restaurants one to two blocks away include Subway, Burger King, MacDonalds and Eggs'N Things. Hyatt was three blocks away where a Budget rent-a-car was located and was convenient for day rentals so we could avoid paying the daily parking fee.

Room Tip: The free breakfast is located on the third place in the pool area. If your room is on the third floor, you can pick up breakfast and eat in your room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed 1 week, first time visiting Oahu. From the moment we arrived all straff we encountered were friendly and service minded. The location was great, close to beach and walking distanse to shopping and dining. If you like running I recommend the kapiolani Park area and Diamond Head rd nearby. We used the Banyan parking garage (across the street) and paid $72 for 1 week. The breakfast was ok, with a decent selection. We usually ate early and had no problems with crowds or shortage of food. Really enjoyed the option of taking breakfast to the room. Room was on the small side, but was nicely decorated and with comfy bed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kris725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very close to the beach and has a view of the ocean. It's nearby the shopping and food street.
The room (double beds) I lived in is very big and clean, and coz I booked the hotel through a travel agency, the price was very economic.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andylsq200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

for first timers to HNL I thought this was good location, walking distance to most we picked up a car rental for couple of days to check out the dole plantation and visit the north side of the island. its across the street from the beach. surprised at the amount of homeless type near by. Pool was a bit on the smaller size seeing how big the hotel was. Staff was great rooms had great views and clean. did the tourist thing this time I don't think I would stay here again not because of the hotel but because of the tourist mecca this part of Honolulu.

Room Tip: facing the ocean
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Aloha Guest,

Mahalo for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Since you last stay in October 2011, we have completed renovations at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to check out our contemporary accommodations and complimentary amenities.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews