We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week with family. Awesome place, only a short strolll to the beach, ABC store nearby ( and also a small giftshop and convenience store in the hotel ), free breakfast every morning and the rooms are fantastic, very luxurious, modern and clean! Staff members are very helpfull and friendly, we were very sad to leave!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCJ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,689 - 2,695 of 3,205 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Place for 10 days with my 18 and 15 year old sons. We originally booked a Mountain View Room with 2 Queen beds and a sofa pull out. On arrival I asked if we could have an Ocean View Room. The front desk staff member advised this was possible but it would be a King bed and much smaller sofa bed. We decided to risk it and checked in. Arriving in our room we realised it would be way too small, when I returned to the desk they were great about putting us back in the Mountain View room. That room turned out to be great. Two very comfortable Queen beds and a full sofa pullout. Two separate areas in the room plus two small balconies with a combination of city and mountain views. The pillows were too squishy for our liking but hardly a big problem.

The free breakfast was fantastic every morning, although it would be great if it went longer than 9am on weekdays - most people staying in Waikiki are on holidays after all, however, when my sons didn't want to get up I just made use of the tray in the room and took them some breakfast.

We got towels from reception every day to go to the beach and ordered room service for dinner a couple of nights which was priced VERY reasonably - you would pay a ridiculous amount in an Australian hotel. Free wifi also a great bonus.

We used the gym which was well equipped and clean and yes the pool is small but who cares when you're a tiny walk from beautiful Waikiki beach. We booked a dolphin watch and snorkelling day trip through the Expedia consultant in the foyer that was a fantastic.

The hotel is beautifully clean and nothing looks tired and worn out as in so many other hotels. It was also REALLY quiet, we were right around the corner from the elevators (in the tower which had 3 elevators) and yet heard very little noise and slept really well. I've stayed in many other hotels where you're kept awake by people coming and going all night. We had no problem with noise from the a/c either.

Mahalo to all staff who were friendly and very helpful when we needed it. Great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RealityChick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hyatt Place and I was impressed with everything and everyone. The rooms are a very generous size and the balconies are excellent for seeing the ocean from our ocean-view room.

All staff helpful and friendly. 2 blocks from the beach.

Highly recommend!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jansyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Hyatt Place in Waikiki and would highly recommend this hotel. First, the location is perfect - it's in the quieter part of Waikiki - one block to the beach and the zoo. There is an ABC store next door, excellent for stocking up on water, wine, etc.

The breakfast is an excellent added bonus. I have read other reviews that complain about the breakfast - I'm not sure what people expect - but the breakfast was EXCELLENT. There are several choices, and the staff are constantly refilling and topping up supplies. The breakfast area is on the third floor patio, by the swimming pool, and yes, it gets busy, but we never had a problem finding a table. It also gets a bit windy - but its a welcome relief from the heat of the sun.

We did have an small issue with our room upon arrival (we were a family of 3 and our room was only meant for 2) - however, the hotel staff made sure that we were moved the very next day to a City view room with a king bed and a double sofa bed. Thank you again to the staff who made this happen for us.

Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend the Hyatt Place - the staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is roomy and airy and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: City view rooms with 1 king are quite small - they can only accommodate 2 people even though there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJC1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for three nights in July. We checked in late at around 10 PM. I had earlier called in about our late arrival. Check-in was smooth. They had advertised valet parking but the valet said that the parking is full but that parking is available at a nearby hotel. So we decided to park at this place and guess what, that was also full. So we drove around for about an hour and found nothing. Came back to the hotel and they suggested another hotel and luckily after about 1-2 hours after check-in we found a place to park. The valet 'assured' me that this is normal if you arrive late and besides it is cheaper to park elsewhere, so why should I trouble him at this late hour?

The room on the 19th floor was very good with good maid service. No microwave in the room but there was a refrigerator and coffee machine. The breakfast was excellent with good kitchen/cleaning staff. There is a bar in the lobby but the grumpy bartender wants you to sit at the bar and drink even though there is a nice comfortable lounge nearby. There is a small place to buy food etc but you can easily buy everything you need at the ABC store one block away.

All computers are normally occupied mostly by children. I tried to print my boarding passes but never got the chance until next day early morning. I was really excited and finally I printed the boarding passes. But unfortunately the printer had no ink. I asked the front desk and they sent someone with a new cartridge but it was for the wrong printer. So that did not work out.

Except for these 'minor' issues the stay was good.

Room Tip: Street noise very high even on the 19th floor. With the patio door closed, it was not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillionBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guests services at Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Aloha MillionBucks,

I will definitely share these remarks with each department. I can certainly understand your frustration when you did not find any parking. I will notify the Gallery hosts about the printers. I would like to apologize for these issues, I hope that you have enjoyed our bar and we hope to see you again.
I am thankful for your generous comments on your experience with us and I really appreciate you extending such high praise of the Gallery host, Thomas.
We look forward to having you back at the Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach.

Mahalo,
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We are very happy that we chose the Hyatt Place Waikiki hotel for our vacation stay. Although the hotel is not beach front, it is only one block (2 to 3 minutes walk) from the waikiki beach. The free breakfast buffet saved us quite a bit of money for our family because a couple of coffee and a small container of fruit can run you ten dollars. Free Wifi and no resort fee!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Standard hotel, but although we booked a double room, (we were 4 traveling)_, the room we got on arrival had a king and a single pullout. They fixed this the next day with a lot of wrangling, put us in a double queen room, but as they were checking us into the second room, someone arrived and were in the same situation, too many people for a king+1. The check-in clerk admitted that "95% of their rooms" are king+1. This should be advertised somewhere on their website.

Room Tip: Make sure you're confirmed for the room size you need.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,688 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,244 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach

Address: 175 Paoakalani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#20 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $209 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is conveniently located on the Diamond Head end of Waikiki and just a 3-minute walk to the golden sands of Waikiki Beach. The 100% smoke-free Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach is a spring board to many activities and attractions for the visitor on the go. Our Complimentary a.M. Kitchen Skillet™ breakfast available in our Guest Kitchen features freshly prepared breakfast sandwiches, waffles, French toast, pancakes, oatmeal, and Asian specialties. Stay refreshed with a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks(R) espresso roast and a variety of premium beers, wines & cocktails. During Happy Hour (4 to 7 PM daily), enjoy Long Board and Big Wave draft beers for $6, Stella for $7, and Mai Tais for $7. Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, our Gallery Market offers a selection of bottled beverages, perfectly packaged grab 'n go items from salads to sandwiches, while our Bakery Case offers an array of tempting pastries and sweets. Complimentary 24-hour Stay Fit(R) fitness center with Life Fitness(R) cardio equipment located on the third floor. Sliding door access to the pool deck. Valet parking: $32 daily fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Resort Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Honolulu
Ocean Resort Hawaii
Ocean Waikiki Hotel
Hawaii Ocean Resort
Ocean Resort Hotel Waikiki Oahu
Ocean Resort Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Waikiki
Ocean Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Place Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing