We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and Great condo.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marine Surf Waikiki
San Diego
Level Contributor
264 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Great location and Great condo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just returned from our stay at Marine Surf Condo, number 1702, which is privately owned. All the condos in the building are privately owned, so the furnishings, etc will vary from unit to unit. We found ours on VRBO.com through Tom at Waikiki Place. I highly recommend renting through Tom - he has 3 units in the building. He was pleasant and easy to deal with. He has done a nice job remodeling the unit we stayed in (and I believe from looking at the website, all the units are very similiar). Ours had a Palm Tree theme - so it was nicely decorated with palms and palm tree pictures and decorations.

The unit is a studio and a tab small, but great for 2 persons. There is a nice balcony that had a table and two chairs - with a peek a boo view of the ocean and great city views - especially at night when everything was all lit up. There is a queen bed, that while not the most comfortable - it was fine and my back wasn't bothered by it at all.

There is a nice sofa (sleeper I believe) with decorative pillows and coffee table, flat screen tv mounted on the wall, lots of storage place - a double dresser near the bed and another dresser and closet near the bathroom. There is an ipod docking station and stereo which was great! The kitchen has a fridge, oven and stop top, microwave, granite counter tops, had enough plates, dishes, wine glasses, coffee cups for 4 persons, plus toaster, coffee maker, blender, pots and pans. It was great for the little cooking we did - we love have breakfast in the condo or pre-dinner pupus and having a nice fridge to store everything is wonderful. There is also a small round glass top table and 2 chairs in the condo for dining.

The bathroom has a shower/tub combo with a rainhead shower head, great water pressure, tile around the shower and on the floor, really nice and newly renovated. Nice towels and linens were provided.

Parking spot was included - what a nice change from the expensive hotel parking! There is also free wifi. No washer dryer in the unit - but there is one on top floor.

We were on the 17th floor - looking towards Royal Hawaiian Ave - it is also an end unit. Never had a problem with noise. WE did run the fan at night, but never had any problems sleeping or noise from the street. During the day, you have to remember Waikiki is a large city - so expect to hear some noise from the vehicles below - trucks, etc. Never a problem for us.

Location - is GREAT! Right on Seaside Ave and Kuhio Street. Easy walk to everywhere and really right in the middle of everything. You walk any which way and there are restaurants, bars and shopping. Nice!!!

Pool - this part was just OK. It is on the 4th floor - size was OK. But we didn't see any spa nor any BBQs - which would have been a nice plus. However, you are very very close to the beach and the condo did have beach towels, a cooler, chairs and umbrella - everything you needed for a day at the beach.

Safety - we never felt unsafe. You enter with a key fob and use it in the elevator to get to your floor. I would think a safe in the unit would be a nice addition - but we didn't have any problems.

No real big negatives that I can think of about this place - the realy negative is that we had to leave it! I would stay here again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: When arriving to park in the garage, you will need to enter the parking garage off Kuhio St, right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SDSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    16
    3
    7
See reviews for
10
37
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed for 7 nights in october, unit 609, operated by captain cook reservations. Greeted by Paul who kindly met us in the early hours of the morning to store our bags while the unit was being prepared & cleaned for us.
This is a very nice apt. Very handy having the full kitchen with microwave with full Ice trays, &cold filtered water ready to drink in fridge. There is Free wifi, an Ipod/iphone dock. Fox tv. 2x Beach towels. Beach chairs, mats, snorkel & mask, boogie board. Hair dryer. Laundry card for washer/dryer on same floor-$1.25 to wash, 75cents to dry. Free carparking!! Location convenient to shops, trolleyline, 1 block from beach. Is across the road from several popular nightclubs which can get a little rowdy, but with the door closed & the the aircon turned on you dont hear much. This apt is ideal for the budget conscientious dont mind the hustle n bustle type

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bp 380 003 tamanu punaauia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

room 1106 at marine surf hotel, owned by waikikiplace.com. It as a nice room with kitchen, 1 bed and 1 sofa bed. We were 3 (2 adults & 1 child).
The room is very nice, cosy, clean, like at home.
But at night, it's very noisy. you heard people on street, cars.....
I'm a light sleeper and Ididn't sleep very well there.
And at the end of the stay, we had to move to a another room because our room was rent for the last day. It wan't a great deal, because we had to move all luggages.
that was the 2 bad points there.
But very good place if you are on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Nice room but noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank manutau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

As Marine Surf apartments are individually owned, I will not comment on the individual units. However the building is extremely clean and well maintained. There is a modicum of security however entry is via a huge sliding glass door opened via electronic key. When the door opens as someone enters or leaves, there's enough time and capacity for a busload of other folks to enter the building. Nevertheless, I didn't experience any security issues there. Even on the 12th floor, however, the building is NOISY. The gay bars aren't the issue; it's the straight clubs catering to a rough crowd that result in lots of folks shouting their heads off late into the night. Once things finallly quiet down around 4AM, there's an hour or so of peace until the trash trucks arrive and empty the dumpsters at the nearby bars and restaurants. When these trucks back up, the beep beep signal is so loud you could easily mistake it for your alarm clock, even on a high floor with the window shut and A/C on! So while the location is super convenient, you may be bothered by the noise. I would recommend staying east of Liliuokalani or along Ala Wai if you want to be near the action but not disturbed by it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 1NicePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2010

Great location! Fantastic price! Reservations, check-in, services, etc....all were "better to none" It's like a home away from home.

The Condo unit (509) has been renovated. Nice full kitchen with plenty of dishware/pots pans, microwave, etc. Underneath the kitchen sink are plenty of cleaning supplies (nice perk). Nice dining table in the room. Nice lounge area in room with a futon just in case you need extra room to sleep another person. Brand new flat panel TV mounted to the wall to conserve space. Docking station for your iPod. DVD player. Nice surround sound. Private Lani with brand new furniture/table for eating or lounging. Nice bed (full size) with night stands attached to both sides along with built in night lamps. There is also a "secret" compartment in the headboard to store your personals. Free wireless internet access. Free local/U.S. calls on wireless telephone in room.

Nice dresser with towels and beach towels for usage.

Nice, clean full bath with clean towels, toiletries, etc. Nice brand new shower head. Clean toilet, nice brand new vanity

Laundry room conveniently located next to the room (but far enough where you can't be disturbs by other users).

Nice, clean secured swimming pool only for guest.

The Marine Surf is in the heart of Waikiki but yet snuggled off the busy streets which allows you relax until you are ready to take a nice 2 minute walk to engage in the wonderful busy markets/shops of Waikiki.

You will not regret this stay. I will recommend this to all types of travelers - young, old, middle, aged, single, married....it's just a deal you can't beat!

Oh - and the best part of all is - FREE PARKING!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank righteousones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

We booked 2 rooms through VRBO, dealing with two different owners. Both rooms met our needs perfectly. Well appointed, clean and in the heart of Waikiki. Ice chests, sand chairs, and beach towels were available for our use, as well as free Internet access and phone with U.S. long distance. Nice to have a full kitchen, though we found the food prices in Waikiki were very reasonable so we use the kitchen mostly for storing and reheating left-overs. As far as the street noise, we left our slider open at night with the fan on and the street noise was minimal (though loud without the fan). One night we ran the AC and there was no street noise heard. Should we return we would book again with Tom Merrick or Carl Pierce (VRBO.com #265223). Do bring your own shampoo, lotion, Kleenex and bath soap.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

The room itself is fine for the money - nothing special but has all the essentials and most of all is clean and presentable. The neighhood - that is something quite different. If you have insomnia - this isn't the place for you. You are right downtown and that coupled with the heavy trucks, transit and tour buses not to mention the gay bar across the street with live bands open until 4AM EVERY NIGHT, your in an insomniacs hell! Obviously found it hard to get any decent rest near, even during the daytime the noise is non-stop, but then again you are in the middle of a major metro city!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank electron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Surf Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Surf Waikiki

Property: Marine Surf Waikiki
Address: 364 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2532
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Surf Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marine Surf Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Surf Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Honolulu
Marine Surf Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing