We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #45 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good price, good place”
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Aqua Bamboo is a small hotel (compared to the others in the area) in the heart of Waikiki, Honolulu. The hotel is quite old but clean and nice. The hall has a touch of chicness, staff very helpful and lovely. I stayed in a partial ocean view on the 9th floor, very big room with several balconies, fully equipped with kitchen and with a great LCD TV. Room was a bit noisy. Furniture and bathroom seems to come directly from the 70s but all well maintained and overall the room was very clean. There is also a complimentary breakfast and a very nice pool area with spa. Unbeatale for the are and level of service. Parking is 18$ per day.

  • Liked — location price facilities and service
  • Disliked — old furniture in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    662
    223
    91
    49
See reviews for
397
781
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2007

I love this place, in Italian we have an expression that is "fané" to describe something that is in some way old, ma old in a nice way. The Bamboo seems to come directly from the late 70'. The room was clean (yep, the bathroom need a general upgrade), we have a kitchenette and 3 little balcony.

Hi speed - cable - Internet connection in the room

People in the hotel are friendly and efficient. The complimentary breakfast is made by some muffin and a basic coffe plus fruit.

  • Liked — Old style resort
  • Disliked — Air conditioning too strong in the hall
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank marco_mazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stayed at the Bamboo for a week last Dec. Were it not that I was attending a conference nearby, I would have tried a B&B or something more cozy. Despite the claims that it's a "boutique" hotel, IT IS NOT. The lobby is kitchsy-chic and the pool area is nice but the room was definitely less than average. The full bed was nothing special, and despite the fact we had two balconies -- we hardly used them since it's downtown Waikiki and loud as hell. I was expecting more, even though I only paid around $115/night.

  • Liked — proximity to beach/location
  • Disliked — tired room despite their claims that it was "renovated"
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sailor279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

This hotel is cute and pleasant, the decor is very modern oriental and contemporary, even though the hotel itself is a bit older. It was a comfortable size, with a small kitchenette so you could do some basic cooking and keep cold foods etc. The location is great, 5 mins or less walk to the beach and close to the main strip of Waikiki, we couldn't ask for a more convenient location.

The staff there are very nice and helpful as well, one of our friends left a valuable item there and it was not until we arrived back home in Australia that she realised. We emailed them and received a prompt response. They found the item and offered to send it back for us, all we had to do was pay for postage.

Mahalo Aqua Bamboo!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We had a great time at the Aqua Bamboo. The room was small, but adequate. The pool area was very nice and a relaxing place to wind down in the evening in either the pool or hot tub. The hotel was clean and the staff was very nice and attentive. We didn't have a good view from our room, but some rooms overlooked the pool area, which was a nice view. It was still enjoyable to sit out on the lanai and enjoy the weather, even without a view. The location was wonderful - it was a very short walk to Waikiki beach, stores, restaurants, and whatever else we needed. We even walked around and down to the beach at night and felt very safe. There were two computers in the lobby that we were able to use, which was very handy. They had some nice little extras as well, including a free massage and a free happy hour on Thurdays which was fun. We would definitely stay at the Aqua Bamboo again!

  • Liked — Great location and nice pool area
  • Disliked — room small
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ColoradoPollyesther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo Spa for four days lateJuly 2007, flew onto Kauai for two weeks and then spent four further days at this hotel mid August. The location was very good; a couple of blocks from Waikiki Beach/3 minute walk. Lobby and reception staff very pleasant. For our first stay, we had a family room on the fourth floor, then a family room on the fifth floor for the second stay. Both rooms overlooked the street. The room on the fourth floor had a separate bedroom and two twins in the living area with a kitchenette area and bathroom. On the fifth floor there was a futon and rollaway bed in the living area. We prefered this arrangement as the rollaway could be stored away in the main bedroom and the extra space was welcome. Additionally, this particular room was more up-to-date with a better quality kitchenette area. With both rooms (fourth and fifith floor) water temperature of the shower wasn't that easy to get correct. The biggest problem of both rooms was the noise from the street (even with the patio door shut tight) and the air-conditioning units. Unfortunately, we were told that these family rooms were only on this side of the building. There is, of course, a spa but we didn't use it. There is a small, but nice swimming pool with chairs and tables, sunbeds etc. This is a great area in the mornings to snack on the complimentary continental breakfast consisting of fresh fruit, muffins and fruit juice. There is also complimentary coffee available 24 hours. To conclude, this is a very pleasant small hotel, convenient for the beach and, for a family of four, much better value than going for two rooms. Just be aware that it is noisy!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank loverofkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

The staff was very nice,but the hotel is terrible.I would not give the hotel even a star.We found bugs in the rooms and the rooms were dirty.I would not recommend this hotel to any one.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerome_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo, guest service manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 14, 2007
Aloha Jerome 7,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Even though your comment is not favorable of our hotel, the mention of our staff is fantastic.

With regards to bugs in the room, because Hawaii is a tropical climate it is possible that occasionally you may encounter a few at times. To help eliminate unwanted pest we’ve contracted a professional pest control company to service our hotel monthly.
Each room is inspected by the Executive Housekeeper prior to being release for arriving guests. If in fact we did miss something we apologize for the oversight and wish to assure you that we maintain very high standards for cleanliness. Unfortunately we did not meet your expectation.
Again we appreciate your feedback as it is one of our main tools to continually improve our service for all guests. If you have any questions regarding the Aqua Bamboo & Spa, please contact me at acabauatan@aquaresorts.com.

May Cabauatan
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
459 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,638 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
575 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, The Lovin' Oven specializes in unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. Open daily from noon till 9 PM. Closed on Tue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing