We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of Jan 2007. Check-in was easy. Parking for 1st night was at the Pacific Monarch next door and 4 nights at Aqua Bamboo. Highly recommend a *compact* car for ease of parking in narrow spaces!

1 bedroom suite was ready when we arrived on the 8th floor, facing Kuhio. Noisy traffic emanated in both rooms via A/C units in exterior walls. We stayed with an 18 month old, so an extra room for naps was essential. Room was stylish, but obviously heavily used. Looked like newer carpets, floor tile and recently upgraded bath/shower area w/simulated marble counters & sink. Didn't go out on balcony since our toddler could slip between railing and fall.

Basically, we used the room for showering, changing and sleeping. Kitchen had electric stove-oven, fridge, sink, dishes, pots/pans, utensils, drinking glasses--no microwave. The cabinets were in poor condition. Hinges were coming off/loose, drawers didn't glide nicely and felt like they were going to slip out onto your foot if pulled out too far. Overall, everything was functional/useable and relatively clean, but heavily used.

Good closet space in bedroom. Actual bed seemed too squishy for me(110lb adult) , but served as an adequate place to sleep. I used the queen sofabed which was in the same condition as the kitchen cabinets. Mattress was uneven, mattress support system was barely holding together. I found common area a little quieter than the bedroom since there is only one exterior wall. I used earplugs some nights when the bus & people noise was bad.

Location was great since it's 2 blocks to the Wakiki beach and restaurants along there. We beached everyday, and saw friends in Kailua and ate out for lunch and dinners (Dukes Canoe Club, Keoni's, Me BBQ, Wolfgang Pucks Express). We bought food & water at the Kitchen Pantry 2 blocks away. It was easier to eat in for breakfast than go out with a toddler. We liked that the housekeeper came to sweep up sand and clean up the room every day we requested. We had no problems with waiting for the elevators. Pool area was clean, but too shaded for getting some sun. We didn't try the complimentary breakfast. Internet access was great for checking email,directions and attractionsout for the day.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Vacationrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2007

I stayed at the Aqua Bamboo from 10th January 2007 for six nights with my colleague on a conference/holiday. We found the staff friendly and helpful on arrival and instantly liked the laid back style of this hotel. (We have vast experience of hotels of all stars around the world). The room was compact but comfortable with everything we needed, i.e. coffee maker, toaster, fridge, safe (free to use). As we were on Kuhio we expected a little noise but our side room was quiet and comfortable with morning sun on the balcony. Room cleanliness was good with minimal staff intrusion on our privacy. The pool terrace breakfast of fruit, muffins and tea/coffee was just right for a start to the day. The hotel location was superb, just a few minutes walk from everything you needed, be it coach trips, restaurants, shops, entertainments etc. It's not four star, but it's a great place to stay to enjoy Waikiki without paying top dollar for flash that you just don't need. I would go back again and be happy with my choice.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2006

I stayed here with my mother and sister for a little reunion and found, for the price, it was a great value. We first stayed in a room on the street side and you'll need ear plugs it's so noisy from the traffic and the bus stop on the other side of the street. We requested to be moved to the other side of the building and were very happy with the room. Both rooms were clean (didn't see a single roach), if a bit rundown, but you can see where the hotel is really trying. The lobby and pool are very pleasant. I actually preferred the pool to the beach just because it was so quiet and relaxing. It's a great little location, only two blocks from the beach and within a few blocks walk from everything else. Tons of great shops and restraunts nearby. My only wish is if they would put a microwave in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank shann481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2006

Been to HI a dozen times and this was hands-down the best low priced hotel I've stayed at. People who slam this hotel are just pampered and silly, and the sort of folks who go to HI to sit in a hotel room 24/7. Clean, well maintained, super location on Kuhio, easy walk to everything, easy access to public transport. Front desk staff were charming and graciously upgraded me to a suite. Nice fluffy towels, clean bathroom. I was there during the earthquake and the hotel staff performed professionally and with great patience. There are 17 underground parking spaces. Forget about a car. I took very convenient shuttle service to the hotel from airport ($15 roundtrip). If you should need a car for a day trip, there is a car rental place two doors down from the Bamboo (prices start at $12 a day and go up). The free breakfast packs in the morning are a nice touch (a snack, really). I put mine in the mini frig and munched on the muffins later in the day.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank TravellerChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2006

We spent 4 nights at the Aqua Bamboo. Overall, we would say that it was just adequate. We certainly wouldn't recommend it for honeymooners, but it would probably do for the casual vacationer who checks their expectations at the door.

Pros:
-Good location, 2 blocks from the beach
-Nice views
-Lovely pool and hot tub area (tranquil when no kids are present)
-Free internet in room
-Spacious rooms with comfortable beds

Cons:
-Quite dated looking, rooms need update
-VERY slow service
-Terrible, tiny, overpriced underground garage; spots are so tight you're likely to damage your car (get rental insurance!)
-Kitchenettes and bathrooms are aged and gross
-Ridiculous "breakfast", insultingly small amount of substandard food (ours was delivered late every morning)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2006

My sister, her 3 month old son, and I stayed at this hotel for one week in August and we were very happy with our experience. We decided on the Bamboo because of the availability of the kitchens with microwaves & refrigerators - traveling with baby is not always easy and we wanted to be able to wash & warm bottles, etc. quickly and easily. My sister and I have stayed in all types of hotels - from crappy pensiones in Europe to 5 star hotels in the US and S. America - we figured the point of a trip to Hawaii is to go to the beach/pool, not to spend time in our hotel room. But traveling with a baby does bring up extra concerns...
While the Bamboo is by no means a 5 star property, it certainly is a very good value for the price. The staff is super friendly and helpful! A couple of tips:
-if you want a microwave, be sure to call ahead and request one
-also call ahead to reserve a parking spot. And, yes, it costs to park, just like in any good city. Also, just like any good city, parking is at a minimum and spaces are small. If the hotel is out of spots, you can park at the hotel next door for a few dollars less.
-you can get internet access in your room or on one of two computers in the lobby for a small fee
-the spa is small (it only accommodates one person or one couple at a time) but it's easy to get appointments and the treatments are good and very well priced.
-the pool area has been nicely upgraded and is great to hang out at (we loved the covered cabanna areas for keeping baby out of the sun!) great lounge chairs and plenty of fresh towels in the lobby (and no annoying towel check out)
-room was large and simple. we weren't thrilled with the rust on the tub or kitchen sink but the place was thoroughly scrubbed and super clean (and considering the price of the room, we easily lived with the rust for a few days)
-breakfast was nothing fancy but just fine and it was nice to have it brought to our room or at the pool (the coffee maker in the room was great too)
-we booked a deluxe room - it was on a corner, had a great view of the pool and 3 balconies! The kitchen was in a seperate room and included a small table and chairs.
-Kuhio street is filled with ABC stores, restaurants, etc., Super short walk to the beach and less traffic than Kalakaua Ave along the beach. Kuhio is great for snacks, souviners, etc. We would buy lunch at the ABC store and bring it back to the hotel pool or beach almost every day.
-There is no hotel restaurant or poolside service but there are tons of places just around the corner for dining, refreshments.
-We really liked the notebook in our room where other visitors had recorded comments/memories of their stay in Hawaii at the Bamboo - it was a very sweet and touching addition to our room.

This place is a good value for the price. We felt very well taken care of and were happy to spend our money on other fun stuff than on an expensive hotel room that we wouldn't be spending much time in anyway!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Nexusgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

Just returned from Hawaii and stayed at the Aqua Bamboo and Spa. Caution: The pictures on the website is false. Every guests that we came in contact with complained about the website advertisement compared to the real thing.
The first room had roaches crawling around. The staff issued us a new cleaner room with a two hot eye stove top and no microwave. The parking garage with maybe ten slots at the price of $15 per night is awful. This hotel has twelve floors and only an average of ten slots parking garage. Also, the garage is awkward and can possibly wreck the car if not careful. The space is not adequate to pull in or back in. The continental breakfast for two people is a one tiny muffin, coffee, two Hawaiian can drinks (not even 100% fruit juice), and two yogurts.
On a positive note, the staff is extremely friendly, Kuhio Avenue has a lot of restuarants and stores, and the walk to the beach is only two blocks.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank Maleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,538 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,624 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $161 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing