We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bamboo Waikiki Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had stayed in the area on this trip but wound up coming back to Waikiki after not finding what we wanted in Makaha.
We called Bamboo and luckily they had a vacancy they next day.
We felt the room rate was reasonable especially with all of the amenities.
The hotel is centrally located and only a block off of Waikiki park. Restaurants all around. Plenty of prime shopping close by.
We had requested a king bed but ended up with a queen and water/city/pool/garden view. Really nice. Kitchenette in room was nice. Bath was nice with tub/shower.
Parking in basement was secure.
Not a large place so not much waiting at elevators.
The amenities included beach equipment such as chairs, boogie boards and towels.
Sitting around the pool was great, especially with all of the trees and flora they have planted. It felt as if you were out of downtown. Not a large pool but we never saw it crowded. Cabanas poolside.
Restaurant on premises does some cooking.
Window A/C did good.
Clean rooms.
Nice smoking area.
Relaxed atmosphere.
Friendly staff.

Room Tip: All around nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Aloha M J,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in one of our convenient and relaxing Courtyard View rooms. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our tropical pool area that makes you forget that you are in the city!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Spent 1 week at this place and we absolutely loved it. No long lines to join for checking in and out. Perfect location for shopping, restaurants, Waikiki beach and car rentals, even if you want to take the bus, the bus stop is just right across the street. Staff were really friendly and were always helpful, especially Raymond. Our room was nice and cosy with clean fresh linens. Loved the signature scent in the lobby...they had fresh apples & lemonade. Free unlimited Wifi in the rooms, compared to other big hotels you will see guests clogged up in the lobby for internet..whereas in Bamboo you will enjoy chatting home at the privacy & comfort of your own bed. Yes I do recommend Bamboo and Yes I would absolutely return here on our next trip... A Home away from home. Mahalo!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Galuoko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Aloha Galuoko S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you benefited from our convenient location, friendly and helpful staff and cozy room. We are also happy that you enjoyed some of our many complimentary amenities such as the apples, lemonade and Wi-Fi. We are absolutely thrilled to be your “home away from home.”
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Travelled to Honolulu solo and just wanted a convenient little hotel with no fuss and a good location. This place delivers on that score. Good staff, friendly, clean rooms great lobby. If you're there for the beach and the sun, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeBeeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Aloha CeeBeeAuckland,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you found our hotel to be convenient and in a good location. We are also thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, the rooms clean and that you enjoyed our relaxing and tranquil lobby!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband, myself and another couple stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for 2 weeks in March 2014. We are all 55+. Normally I book all our holidays online myself but since we were taking a one-week Hawaiian Island cruise first and then staying 2 weeks in Honolulu after that, we decided to have a travel agent handle all the arrangements and book flights, cruise, transfers, and hotels. This was all booked early in May 2013. Several weeks before we left on our holiday our Travel Agent called the Hotel to confirm our rooms and request quiet rooms, close together, overlooking the courtyard. She assured us the requests had been put on file at the hotel. On arrival at the hotel late on a Saturday afternoon, we were told we had rooms side by side with a city view. When I advised the staff of our Agent’s requests, they told us that they had no record of our requests on file and that there was a $20 per night additional fee for a room overlooking the courtyard. You would think they would have given our Travel Agent that information when she called!? Although disappointed, we went up to our assigned rooms. As we always do on a holiday, the first thing is to check out the view from the balcony. To our absolute horror, our view was of a brown brick wall just a few feet from our balcony!! We immediately returned to Reception and told them that the rooms were absolutely unacceptable! After booking almost a year in advance, that was the best view they could give us, in Hawaii, at $190 per night plus tax!! They assured us that no other rooms were available but that they would try to get us different rooms in a couple days. That evening they did inform us that they had arranged for us to move in 2 days time to rooms overlooking the courtyard at no additional cost, with one room even having a full kitchen, although they were on different floors. We agreed! Once Monday rolled around and we were actually moved into our new rooms with a courtyard view and no wall in sight, we could finally unpack, relax and begin to enjoy our holiday. Oddly, the new Studio kitchenette room assigned to our friends was much, much larger than either of our original rooms. The first rooms were basically the size of any regular hotel room with a mini fridge and microwave in a short wall of cupboards. Not sure how they could be classified the same and valued the same!?? During those 2 days our friend did visit a few other hotels and found out that we could easily have had equal or better accommodations in the area for a much lower price. After having caused such a ruckus, and just wanting to get on with our holiday, we opted to stay put for the duration. On speaking to other Aqua Bamboo hotel guests we did learn we had been charged substantially more than many others for our rooms.

That all being said, the ‘new’ rooms were large and comfy and we enjoyed our stay and our holiday. The lobby area, and pool area were always nice and clean. The pool was tended to daily. Our cleaning lady could have done a better job. There was hair behind our bathroom door for the entire 2 weeks of our stay, so I don’t think it saw a broom or vacuum once. The beds were comfy and the kitchen was great to have. Wi-Fi was available in the rooms and in the courtyard for Free, and that was much appreciated.

We were within easy walking distance to Waikiki beach, many restaurants, a grocery store, liquor stores, a market, and many ABC stores. The bus stop is right nearby so it was certainly easy to get around, and there is a car rental place just around the corner. There is a small restaurant in the courtyard which is open for lunch and supper, with a small menu, but the food was good.

Fresh apples were in the lobby each morning, although you had to get down there fairly early to be sure to get one, as they disappeared quickly and were not replenished. Iced tea/lemonade, coffee and tea were available at all times in the lobby, which was a nice touch.
The staff was very helpful when we had questions for them, and the Concierge was very good. We booked several of our tours with him.

Honolulu is a lovely place, but if I was to visit there again, I would search out a hotel that was closer to the beach instead of in the middle of town, and a little cheaper, especially when staying for a while. Had the wall-view not started off our stay on a sour note, it would have been a much more positive experience, as we had a good time there. It is a relatively small hotel, so not swarming with people, which is what we like...and the courtyard was nice to have.
My suggestions if planning to book at the Aqua Bamboo, is to make sure you are getting a good rate and that your requests are on file. Maybe had our agent made our requests by email instead of phone, it would have been better, as I would have had a paper-trail and proof that the requests had been made. Don’t hesitate to stay here though; it is a quaint little hotel, close to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha LJG,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
I apologize that it wasn’t communicated to your travel agent that our Courtyard View rooms are a different category than our City View rooms. However, I’m happy to hear that we were able to move you to a room you found more comfortable as soon as it became available, and that you were able to enjoy your stay despite the rocky start.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have stayed at the Bamboo several times and would not even consider any where else. This property is in the heart of Waikiki and conveniently located to world famous Waikiki Beach. The staff is one of the bast we have encountered even at 4 star hotels. Raymond the bellman actually greeted us by name and is one of the most friendly person you could meet. We happened to encounter a couple of Japanese guests who were upset over something and guess what Raymond who happens to be Hawaiian spoke to them in Japanese and soon everyone was happy and laughing, what an exceptional young man! We had a room facing Kuhio Ave and with the exception of an ambulance with siren driving by the room was very quiet. This property is reasonably priced and has all the amenity's you would need. Kudos to Aqua Bamboo and their amazing staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less street noise, if possible try to get a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Aloha Randy D,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be amazing and that Raymond welcomed you back warmly. He often pleasantly surprises our guests when he speaks to them in Japanese!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel is good we have had nice stay there. Advantage is location, aprox. 300m to the waikiki beach. At the concierge we met one girl, cant remember her name… She was very friendly and helpfull and my wife recived Lei from her, that was really nice :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mateusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Aloha Mateusz K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you benefited from our convenient location to the beach and that you had a nice stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

From the person who handled the reservations on the phone (Cheyenne-thanks for being so great) to the warm greeting at the front door by Fe and even the maintenance man who came up to make sure the air conditioning was working, I couldn't find a single complaint about the hotel. There were plenty of towels, there were refreshing drinks in the lobby and best of all there was a saltwater pool. They have a small pizzeria on the pool deck and we were unfortunate to miss it but drooled over what we saw coming out of their doors.
It's not a big fancy hotel but they made you feel welcome and as we were right in the heart of Waikiki we were close to everything. I recommend it highly!

Room Tip: The hotel is in the heart of Waikiki and if you open the windows it will be noisy. With the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossinhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Aloha rossinhawaii,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you received great service from everyone that you encountered. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary beverages in the lobby and our salt water pool.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Kimari Pada
Guest Services Supervisor
kpada@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
615 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $159 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing