We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

After five weeks of trying each island staying in some good and bad b&bs hostels it was just nice to get my own bathroom double bed tv etc 300m from the beach front road
I would rate the room 3.5 star the location 4 star all good at a fair price if you want a better room and sunset location expect to pay twice as much but as ive had sunsets for a month im happy away from the crowds
One last tip if you like a good walk head to kaena point the Albatross reserve is magicallywatching there courtship on sunset with whales rising not far out and the odd monk seal on the rocks was the highlight from this island you have to drive past Dillingham airfield where Obama came into go to the end of the road where the taac runs out there will be losts of cars parked it takes 1-2 hours each way.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freeandeasygoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha Freeandeasygoing,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach and found the hotel to be a good value.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We (my husband and I - in our 50's) and my mother and uncle (in their 80's) had a 3 night stay in one of the two "luxury" suites just before Christmas, capping off a wonderful two week stay in Waikiki. We chose this particular accommodation because we needed a unit with a bedroom with two beds (for the elderly siblings) plus a bed in the living room for ourselves. Many Waikiki one bedroom units have only one bed in the bedroom, so we were happy to find this.

The Aqua Bamboo is very central to all Waikiki has to offer. It is right on Kuhio, the main bus corridor, and is a very short walk to the most lively area of Waikiki beach. Several restaurants are nearby, as is the Food Pantry, a pretty well stocked small grocery store.

The hotel has a welcoming cozy retro vibe. Ceilings in the lobby are very low, which we noticed at some other Waikiki properties built in the 60's and 70's as well. There is a free beverage station (ice water, lemonade/ice tea, coffee) which we really valued. Behind the hotel is a tropical and secluded (for Waikiki) pool area - waterfall, pool, hot tub, comfortable seating, and BBQ. This was a very relaxed place to spend time, an oasis in the city. The pool water was cool (colder than the ocean), and the tiny hot tub was just warm. There is a small restaurant off the pool area - didn't eat there so can't comment.

Staff we encountered at the hotel were warm and helpful. As you enter the hotel, it is necessary to walk right by the front desk (also the place where you pick up fresh beach towels) so we interacted with front desk staff frequently.

Room 903 is quite unique - I would describe it as a beach cottage transplanted to the 9th floor. It has undergone renovations in recent years so is in pretty good condition. It has a fairly open plan and has a huge (party-worthy - not that we tested that) North facing lanai (600 sq feet I believe) including a table for 4, comfortable chairs and coffee tables under a palapa, 2 deluxe lounge chairs for sunning, and a full sized BBQ. A second lanai off the bedroom (East facing) has a nice ocean view. Although lanais were a bit noisy, it helped that we were on the 9th floor, well above the street. The main lanai was so comfortable that we ended up eating breakfast and dinner there all 3 days of our stay. We saw some great rainbows over the mountains from there.

Beds in the bedroom were comfortable, but we found the futon in the living room to be uncomfortable for sleeping - a regular sofa bed would have been a huge improvement. The "bedroom" was separated from the living area by louvred doors only (something we new when booking - this seems to be common in Waikiki).

The kitchenette was tiny and scantly stocked with dishes and equipment. We discovered at the end of our stay that we could have asked for more dishes etc. but we managed to make do with what was provided and didn't make a request.

The bathroom was very functional (2 sinks, a stand-alone shower, plus a tub).

We met several other guests during our stay and many were repeat customers of the hotel. They appreciated the hotel's location, comfortable atmosphere, staff, nice pool/BBQ area, and overall value.

The Aqua Bamboo is not a new or 5* property, but it is clean, has had updates in recent years, is centrally located, seems to be well-managed, and offers good value. The "luxury" suites are unique and worthwhile to stay in - if staying in another room type I would probably request a pool view room to minimize noise and possibly catch a glimpse of the ocean.

This hotel is a solid Waikiki choice and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool would be quieter. Luxury suites (only 2 in the building) do face Kuhio but ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kayteeYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Aloha KayteeYVR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the Bamboo to Waikiki Beach, restaurants and bus stops and that you enjoyed some of our complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby. We are also very delighted that you found the hotel to be a good value for you and your family and that the staff were warm and helpful.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks within which the staff were knowledgeable when we had questions, prompt when we had nagging problems with our room, and friendly throughout our stay.

The room we booked was equipped with a kitchenette which was important for our needs in addition to saving money by preparing and eating in-situ. Our room on the 6th floor faced the road and to be honest, noise intrusion was not too bad despite the reviews here. I agree that the a/c unit was noisy and leaked from the outside when it was in operation but you soon get use to the drone. Beds were made daily with the exception on 1 day and we had to request for shower lotion when it had runout.

The location is only 1 block away from the beach, and is in close proximity to convenience stores (ABC and food pantry) and some decent and reasonable eateries including Me BBQ (Korean) and Marukame Udon. It is also situated on a principal bus route into downtown and beyond so there are numerous bus options from the bus stop opposite the hotel.

Beach towels, floats, inflatables and surf boards are available to guests upon request to avoid unnecessary hire for the latter.

We parked our hired car for several days in the hotel underground parking for $25 a night which is about the same charge as other parking that can be found in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hairylaury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha HairyLaury,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very happy to hear that our staff was friendly and accommodating during your stay with us and that you found the kitchenette to be beneficial for you to eat in. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and our many complimentary amenities such as beach equipment.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to book the Aqua Bamboo for a 5 night stay. We booked directly with the hotel and asked for a Studio Kitchenette room overlooking the courtyard/pool area so we would be away from the street noise. We received excellent service throughout the booking process.
We arrived very early in the morning and were pleasantly surprised that we were able to check into our room immediately. The front desk staff were extremely accommodating.
Our room was very spacious, with 2 queen beds and a full kitchen. The bathroom was quite small and overall, the room was quite dark. However, it was very tranquil overlooking the pool area; there are lots of trees, it's like an oasis in the city.
We had a few maintenance and other problems with our room and ended up checking out a night early and going elsewhere. Unfortunately our balcony was located right above the smokers area and we constantly had cigarette smoke coming into our room. Again, I couldn't fault the staff's helpfulness and the manager personally contacted us to rectify the situation.
I probably would stay here again though I would ask for a room on a higher floor (we were on level 2).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imoani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha Imoani,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that our staff was able to accommodate you from the time you made your reservations until you departed and we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room overlooking the tropical pool area. We do apologize that you found the room lighting to be less than adequate. As we are a green hotel, we do use energy efficient bulbs, therefore they are lower in wattage, so we do apologize that this was an inconvenience for you. We also would like to apologize once again for the smoke that lingered up to your room from the smoking area. We are currently still looking for an alternate location for the smoking area, as we do want to make sure all our guests needs are met and they are comfortably enjoying their stays with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We are a family of 3 that stayed right over Christmas and although Waikiki was full of activity Aqua Bamboo was a welcome oasis. So many special touches which made us feel welcome and really enhanced our experience.

1. Apartment was cleaned every day (which is unique for an apartment stay).
2. Upgraded to a nicer room free of charge.
3. Welcome juice and cool face cloth on arrival.
4. Free beach amenities, Boogie board, inflatable tube, kids beach toys, beach chairs and towels.
4. Manager's cocktail reception
5. Christmas dinner organised at cafe by the pool if you wanted to partake.
6. Welcome and parting note and gift.

All in all this isn't a fancy 5 star hotel with a huge pool and lots going on, BUT if you are the kind of traveller that is looking for a base at a perfect location in which to explore Oahu and experience Waikiki then this is the place. Superb value for money, the rooms were clean (see room notes) , bright and the staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Definitely pay more for the rooms on the 9th floor and up. These are either deluxe family rooms or h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jstaplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Aloha Jstaplet,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value, with clean rooms and a welcoming, friendly staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed our complimentary beach amenities and our weekly manager’s reception for all of our guests enjoyment.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I was in Waikiki and had an extra night so I booked the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. It is very close to the main street with all the shopping and restaurants. The room was very comfortable, clean, and had a kitchenette - which was great for storing food and drinks. Also, the staff was extremely nice and helpful. Not an extremely luxurious hotel, but exactly what I wanted.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Aloha Ed L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in Waikiki and you found your room to be comfortable and clean. We are also very happy that you found our staff to be nice and helpful during your stay with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Aqua Bamboo on 2 occasions in October. First for 4 nights and again for 3 nights. We stayed in 2 X 2 bedroom, rooms. We found them to be spacious, clean and good value for money. Apparently all the 2 bedroom suites are located facing the street which can be quite noisy. On our return later in the month, we asked for rooms on a higher level and we were accommodated. This was much quieter. The air conditioners in our rooms were all old and noisy, but you get use to the drone. There is a tour desk in the lobby, though I'm not sure how there prices compare as we didn't book any tours. Small intimate pool area. Managers (free) drinks & nibbles by the pool on Thursdays is a nice touch. Oh and also chocolates as a thank you on our first departure and a bamboo flute on our second.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the pool or up on higher level for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Aloha Sue H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy that you found your rooms to be spacious, clean and a good value and that we were able to accommodate your room requests for your second stay with us. It is also wonderful that you enjoyed our weekly manager’s reception by the pool and the little thank you gifts for staying with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
630 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,535 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
496 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,615 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $162 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing