We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice accommodation”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Aqua Bamboo for 9 nights, our room was clean & very comfortable. Only thing was our room faced the street and between the street noise and the air con I would recommend bringing ear plugs.
The hotel is in a great spot, easy walk to the beach and there are bus stops near by, if you have booked a tour the pick up point is only around the corner.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the pool area is great as is the hot tub. The free beach towel is great to use for the pool/beach.
We loved staying at Aqua Bamboo and intend to stay again...

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Michelle S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very happy to heat that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel and your room was clean and comfortable. We are also thrilled that our staff was friendly and helpful and you enjoyed our complimentary beach amenities.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    663
    224
    91
    49
See reviews for
400
784
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgdorf, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was a excellent stay. Nice room with enough space und the staff are all very frendly and helpfully. The location of the hotel is very good. I can recommend this place for your stay in Waikiki. If I come back to Hawaii, I'll stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Virginia A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that our staff were all friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay here and for the time we were there it was ok...

We booked a partial city view which meant on road and a 24hour busy noisy road. The location is good, two blocks to the beach, walking distance to diamond head and accessible for all the shops or transport you could want.

The rooms were clean and smart but as described very very noisy. The wifi is only available on reception which is mildly annoying especially when kids are skyping home on speaker. In room there is wired Internet but who has that these days?!?

Would I stay again? Probably not. The price was high for what we had but that seems to be the norm in Waikiki.


  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Chelle1111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and for bringing your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured.
We do apologize for the inconveniences you endured with the internet. We are pleased to inform you that we currently have wifi in all the rooms along with the lobby and pool area. We also regret that you were troubled with the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Should you return to the Aqua Bamboo, we would be delighted to ensure you are accommodated in a Courtyard View room, which are our quietest rooms, looking over the pool area.
We are glad to hear that you benefited from the convenient location and you found your room to be clean.
We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback. Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is excellent! Very good location and room space for the price, and the staff are all very friendly and knowledgeable. If you come to Hawaii, I don't think you'll find a better place for the price!

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the ocean, preferably on the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Nathan9001,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found our staff to be friendly and knowledgeable.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The entire staff at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki helped to turn around what had started out as a horrible experience moving here. We are a military family on orders and were told there was no availability at the Army lodging, so we were placed in an approved government TLA hotel in downtown Waikiki. The hotel they placed us in was far from meeting even the lowest of Government Standards for military families during an extended stay. After some research I found Aqua Bamboo Waikiki on the Gov. TLA list and thank goodness I did.

Nicole, the hotel Manager, was very gracious and accommodating to us during the entire process of switching hotels. We found this hotel to be conveniently located, very clean, quiet and all of the staff extremely friendly. The rooms are very spacious and updated with modern rock/tile flooring and bamboo furniture. We stayed 8 glorious nights in a king suite with a kitchenette with Aqua Bamboo until our on-post house was available. I wish we would have found this hotel sooner and never had the other awful experience. It's sad because our tax money is going to these other less deserving, crappy, run down hotels that have been on the TLA list since the 1980's and probably haven't picked up a paint brush since they got approved.

While at Aqua Bamboo we enjoyed the pool, the complimentary towels and chairs for the beach, the free internet and parking for military and the ice cold lemon orange lea in the lobby. We would stay here even if we were not on government TLA we loved this hotel so much, but from one military family to another, we highly recommend staying here during your transition either PCS onto island or off!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gpjpt94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Gpjpt94,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so thrilled that we were able to turn a negative situation into a positive one for you and your family. We too regret that the start of your move to Hawai`i was not comfortable and exciting, but we are honored that we had the opportunity to change that. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool and the beach amenities along with the many other complimentary amenities we offer.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked on the internet and got a very reasonable price considering the hotel is right in the middle of Waikiki, close to the beach and to all the shopping centers. We asked for a simple room and were upgraded to a high floor one with kitchenette and large bathroom at no charge (we were on our honeymoon). The furniture is bamboo-like, very hawaiian, the people nice and kind, there's a little swimming pool in the back. Nice lobby with beverages and complimentary wi-fi. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank zarpopov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Aloha Zarpopov,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room for your honeymoon. We are also glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and our many complimentary amenities such as beverages in the lobby and wifi.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Aqua Bamboo.

I like boutique hotels, and this one is a gem! Located in the heart of (non beach front) Waikiki but just a quick and easy 2 block walk to Waikiki Beach.

We had a studio room.. Two pillow top double beds with a kitchenette and small balcony overlooking Kuhio Ave. The balconies on the sides and back of the hotel were larger.. The front balconies do not have furniture on them. The sides and back did.

The kitchenette was perfect.. 2 burner range top, microwave, and dorm sized fridge.. Perfect for making snacks and simple breakfast for the kid traveling with us.

Parking is always a challenge in Waikiki, but paid parking $20 / 24 hours with in and out privileges is available next door. There IS on-site parking at the hotel, but it was full for most of our visit so we just parked next door.

We found the hotel to be very clean and comfortable. The pool area was very nice (though we didn't use it) The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. Always a smile, and always willing to lend a hand. I would book here again without question.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Kuhio Ave are noisy.. But if you like street action, you can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Secoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Aloha Secoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the convenience of the kitchenette in your room. We are also pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that our staff was friendly and accommodating.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager
nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
467 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
1,645 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing