We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Waikiki Hotel Option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I spent our first 2 nights of a 2-week Hawaii honeymoon at Aqua Bamboo on 4/29 and 4/30. Overall, we knew we were not going to be spending time at the beach in on Ohau, so we opted to save some money by not staying at a hotel right on the beach. Overall, I thought the hotel location was great and had a retro Hawaii vibe. Just a few blocks walk (about 6 minutes) from the beach and plenty of shopping and restaurants just outside the door. The hotel also provides beach chairs and towels free of charge. The hotel staff is friendly. The pool area is nice and has a tropical feel. When we were there, the pool area was not crowded at all, so it was great. It's a relatively small hotel, so the pool itself isn't very large which was fine for me.
As to the room, it was fine. Not really luxurious, but suitable. I honestly was expecting the room to be a big bigger as we booked the "Studio Kitchenette Partial CityView". I wouldn't call it a studio. It just seemed to be a standard sized room with a counter and kitchenette. Our view was a parking lot and balconies of the next-door hotel. The bathroom tub has the fabric shower curtains which I don't prefer as I feel that water gets everywhere, but generally, that's pretty minor.
In general, I think Aqua Bamboo was a good choice compared to the hotel prices of the nearby hotels/resorts.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha MTrav,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be a good value and that you enjoyed the intimate and warm atmosphere. We are also thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and you enjoyed some of our many complimentary amenities such as beach towels and chairs.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is situated a block away from waikii beach. Close to all restaurants. The hotel was very clean and staff were exceptional. This was our first time in honolulu and we have every intention of returning. We would definitely stay at aqua bamboo again and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha Kirra8,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach and restaurants and that you found our staff to be friendly throughout your stay.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. I also found the bed to be very comfortable too. Having a room with a kitchen made it convenient.

There was a lot of street and air conditioner noise however, which was at times annoying.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell_stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha Russell_Stuart,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that you found the staff to be friendly and enjoyed the convenience of a kitchenette in your room. We would be very happy to assist you to book a quiet, Courtyard View room to ensure you get the most out of your next stay with us.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here on two separate nights - first, when we arrive in Honolulu on our way to the Big Island, and then again on our return before heading to the North Shore.

The lobby is quite nice. We had problems with the wifi which is only available in the lobby and was inaccessible for most of our stay. Out the back, the pool area looks lovely but we didn't use it.

We couldn't say much positive about the service. It was a bit like amateur hour and the staff seemed disinterested. I think that this hotel also acts as a serviced apartment facility so this might impact on how the staff behave maybe.

Our room the first night was in the Moderate room and it was really below par. Pretty crappy looking, extremely tiny and very underwhelming. We were disappointed after reading such great reviews. I've included a pic of the bathroom, which was quite rundown, as an example.

The second time we stayed we had a $15 upgrade and the room was SO much better! Heaps of space, room for a family really, with a separate kitchenette. The amenities were much nicer in that room and we had a much more comfortable stay.

I would recommend Aqua Bamboo for its affordability and centrality to Waikiki but don't stay in the cheapest room - pay a small amount extra and get an upgrade, it's definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heavypetal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha HeavyPetal1,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. We hope that you will accept our sincere apology for failing to meet your expectations and for the inconveniences that you endured. We truly value your patronage and appreciate your honest feedback.
What we regret the most is that our staff was not a memorable part of your time with us. This is of the utmost importance to us and I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com with your name and dates of stay so that I may research further into your reservations. I am grateful that you brought this to our attention so that we have the opportunity to retrain our staff appropriately.
Please know that the entire team at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is committed to taking the necessary steps to ensure that this experience is not repeated.
Should future travel bring you back to Hawaii, we hope that you will give us another chance.

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel was in a good location, was clean and had a lovely pool area with palm trees, flowers and a tiki hut among other things. They have a welcome party on Thursday nights with munchies, drinks and a entertainer. Everyday in the lobby they have iced lemon water and they also have either iced tea or lemonade. The rooms had full fridge and stove. It also had dishes, pots and pans, flatware and supplied dish soap and tea towel. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can get the room with the Tiki hut on the balcony, it is great for entertaining. Had it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greerzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha Greerzo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our tropical and private pool area along with our weekly manager’s reception, the Bamboozle. We are also delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed some of our many complimentary amenities such as refreshing beverages in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in February for 10 nights and were very satisfied with the service. Our room was upgraded upon arrival and the room we stayed in was very impressive, very clean and had a beautiful balcony space complete with a bamboo hut, large bbq and a dining setting. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful, and the location of the Aqua Bamboo was fantastic, only a short walk to attractions like the zoo and aquarium, shopping malls, markets, and restaurants. Would definately reccomend this place to anyone who was looking at staying in the heart of Honolulu.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C_Chapman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Aloha C_Chapman_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your upgrade to the Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Kitchenette. We are also very happy to hear that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to shops, restaurants and nearby attractions.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in mid April 2013 and thought it was great. It's not as flashy as the bigger and newer hotels, but it is in a great centralized location for Honolulu activities. The decor is great, the rooms were super clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Aloha Bryan N,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very happy to hear that you found the room to be clean and the staff to be friendly & helpful.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
507 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,667 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,933 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $157 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing