We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel, location and price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, location and price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was a little worried when I first booked the hotel due to the price. When we arrived I was pleasently surprised. My daughter and I spent one week here in December 2012 and then a few nights on the way home from Washington State in January. Lovely hotel, wonderful Staff and perfect location. We were given a room on the 10th Floor which had ocean views, a nice little balcony and lots of room for my daughter and I. We made great use of the loan beach towels and my daughter love being able to borrow the bucket and spade each day.
The only thing that I would like to change is the temp of the pool and hot tub. Pool was very cold and hot tub way too hot... I know I sound like goldielocks! =)
The Staff would have to been one of the best assets of the Hotel. They were very helpful, always happy to see us and took the time to make sure we were having a great holiday. Found the washing machine and dryer very handy especially with a toddler who seemed to get icecream all over her clothes everyday. Rooms were very clean and had everything we needed. The hotel is close to the beach, you can walk to the Zoo, Beach, shops, and has Bus stops just near the front door. We really enjoyed theThursday night cocktail party, such a nice idea. Would love to go back very soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tish7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Tish7573,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you found our staff to be welcoming and helpful and you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to the beach, zoo & shops!

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    637
    214
    85
    46
See reviews for
371
753
135
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed in the Aqua Bamboo for 9 nights at the beginning of February 2013 and we were really impressed. We emailed before we arrived to ask if there was any possibility of a 'nice' room as it was a special trip for my 50th birthday. We did indeed have a 'nice' room. It was 1006 and it was at the back of the hotel with views of the pool and the sea. It also had a little balcony at the side with a table and two chairs. I think the rooms that end 001 and 006 are the best rooms and the higher up you are the better the views.
The little kitchen was great although we didn't cook a thing!
We used the (free) hotel beach towels and beach chairs every day that we went to the beach and these saved a small fortune because on the first day we discovered that if you wanted to hire two sunbeds and an umbrella for the day it was $25!! crazy prices.
The hotel concierge booked all of our trips for us and they were all BRILLIANT. Pearl Harbour, Turtle tour, Polynesian Cultural Centre.
We really had an amazing time and the Aqua Bamboo was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms ending in 001 or 006 these are at the back of the hotel, better views and not as noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolandjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha Iolandjill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your courtyard view room and our many complimentary amenities such as beach gear. We are also happy to hear the concierge was able to recommend tours that made your trip to Hawai`i a memorable one!

On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I spent two weeks here. The staff are wonderful and provide the upmost in customer service. Pool area is wonderfully relaxing. Great lobby area with lemon water, ice tea, apples and newspapers which are nice touches. Room was well cleaned each and every day. We had a one bedroom full kitchen and enjoyed breakfast, lunches and some dinners in our room. This hotel is close to everything so it is very convenient. It is small so staff get to know you and you get the pleasure of getting to know other guests. The only compliant I would have is that I am very noise sensitive and we ended up with a room facing a a very busy street and the staff were unable to move us for our whole stay as it was booked. All in all a great place and good value. I will most certainly stay here again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjaspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha Sjaspn,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the intimate and personal atmosphere that the staff and hotel provides. We are happy to hear that you benefited from the central location of the hotel along with the convenient kitchen in your room! We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the many complimentary amenities we offer such as refreshing beverages, apples and newspapers in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

this is our second year here. we were there for 1 month. we have already booked for next year.the gardens are really nice and relaxing. we read our paper outside in the garden every morning at 730 and had coffee. it was most enjoyable. the staff were very friendly and helpful.we were close enough to the beach

Room Tip: stay on the courtyard side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpegger f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Rpegger f,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so glad to hear that the staff were friendly and helpful and you enjoyed relaxing each morning in the pool area with your newspaper and coffee.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We wanted to spend our final night on Oahu in Waikiki but didn't want the high priced "resort" type hotel experience. We were looking for something a little more local (show your slippers...not bedroom slippers...thongs for you malihinis...for 10% off your room rate) off the "main drag". When we arrived we were really pleased that, on their own, the hotel had upgraded us to a suite on the 10th floor! Why? We don't know, but we were VERY thankful! The suite was beautiful with stone floors, a pebble floor walk in shower and huge tub in the Bathroom, kitchenette, more electronic entertainment options (there was a whole drawer full of remotes) than you could possibly use...unless you were staying a week...a sitting room, huge bedroom (the only down side was that you had to climb over one bed to get out onto the lanai!). The property has a sweet little pool and lounge area and it so happened that we were there on a Thursday night when they have snacks, cocktails, and entertainment for everyone staying there. That was a nice social experience! The property is mixed hotel and owners who have units there that they use either for vacation or live there year-round, so it doesn't have the feel of a "resort", more like a small neighborhood. Of course, wherever you stay in Waikiki, you are close to everything (don't miss Leonard's Bakery on Kapahulu Avenue a bit east of the Zoo).

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center but the pool is great and they have lemon water, lemonade, ice tea a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Aloha Peter F,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled that you felt at home and comfortable at the Bamboo and enjoyed your upgrade to the One Bedroom Suite. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel, the tropical and private pool area and our many complimentary amenities such as beverages and apples in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Only two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from the Hyatt a common pick up point for Tourist attractions. Vey good place to stay small but very comfortable, had too switch rooms to a higher floor because of the street traffic but staff were very acommadating. There is free old fashioned lemonade on offer as well as nice pool area. The sea was much warmer though. ABC stores are everywhere so you can buy breakfast provisions very cheap.Would stay here again coming back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpdp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Cpdp1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to the Waikiki Beach, tour pick-ups, and many eateries. We are also thrilled that the staff was accommodating during your stay with us!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 9 days at the Bamboo and we were very happy with the hotel. Though a smaller and older building it's well maintained and a convenient location just being 2 blocks off the Main Street and ocean (5 minute walk). When we arrived we didn't have a great room and were easily upgraded. Both rooms had kitchenettes which were adequate for our needs. The hotel has a barbecue (immaculately clean) so you can do nice meals. The pool was cool and the hot tub, while small - the perfect temperature. We had no problems getting the wifi at poolside (and lobby, which had comfy sitting areas with fresh ice tea, lemon aid or lemon water daily as well as coffee and filtered water).
Of no fault of the hotel, there was construction out front - everyday and the weather was windy and wet. Regardless, we had a great time and the staff were simply awesome. (Particularly Nicole and Michelle). Thanks Bamboo staff!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sayway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Sayway,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki beach and the main strip of Waikiki. We are also very pleased to hear that the staff were helpful during your stay and that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as wifi and beverages in the lobby.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing