We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel that does it right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to your Saves list
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 20% + FREE PINEAPPLE
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel that does it right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Arrived early morning from an overnight flt. The lady at the desk was more than happy to check us in early since they had a clean room available. Room was a perfect little studio complete with kitchenette, dishes, cookware etc. nice touches like morning papers in the lobby as well as complimentary hot an cold beverages. Pool area was very quaint and well maintained though the sun really didnt find it's way there till after noon. Staff were all extremely pleasant and location in very close proximity to everything Waikiki plus several bus stops within a block of the hotel. Seaside grill about two blks south of the hotel on the other side of Kuhio Ave had a great inexpensive breakfast. If you don't mind spending a buck and want a beautiful mature setting for cocktails head over to the beach bar at the westin surf rider excellent Mai-tais ($12)

Room Tip: Would have preferred a pool view as the south facing view looks into a run down residence next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank withak66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Withak66,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us for your second stay at the Bamboo.
We are so happy that we were able to accommodate your early arrival! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your convenient kitchenette and our many complimentary amenities such as newspapers, apples & beverages. We are also very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and you enjoyed our peaceful pool area along with the central location of the hotel.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    607
    207
    83
    42
See reviews for
355
727
131
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family stayed here after our Hawaiian cruise for my parent's wedding anniversary. We had previously booked at a shabby hotel down the way, but quickly sought refuge at Aqua Bamboo. The front desk and bell staff (Michelle, Gregg and crew) were incredibly kind, helpful and accommodating. Our room was clean and adorned with orchids when we arrived. Once the staff found out it was my parent's anniversary celebration, they surprised us with champagne and chocolates in our room! The pool and hot tub area was fantastic - very tropical and protected from the surrounding buildings. We were pleasantly surprised that they even had a sauna. The location is prime, just two block from the beach, and the price was great for the service provided. We will definitely be staying at the Bamboo and other Aqua Hotels upon our next visit!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach-Ski5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Beach-Ski5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us for your second stay at the Bamboo.
We are thrilled that you found the staff to be kind and helpful and that the hotel to be a good value. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the little touches such as orchids & chocolates/champagne to celebrate along with the benefit of our central location!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have spent 1 week so far at Aqua Bamboo and it has been very comfortable. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. We had a good sized, well kept, self catering room. There is a supermarket nearby. The pool area made for a relaxing time, especially at night. Recommend you try it !

Room Tip: If travelling w family - the studio w kitchenette is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha T M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us for your second stay at the Bamboo.
We are delighted that you found the Bamboo to be comfortable and the staff to be friendly & accommodating!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

For a quick 2 block walk to the beach this hotel was very affordable. It was clean and the pool area is a delight, especially the hot spa. However, make sure you book a room on the quiet side of the building, that is, overlooking the pool. We had 2 adults and 2 teens so needed a one bedroom apartment. Nice enough room with right bed configuration and kitchen BUT the noise from the main road (Kuhio Ave) kept us awake every night. It didn't help that the doors didn't seal properly so sounded as though they were open nor the old aircon that rattled and rasped to the point we turned it off. Its a shame as they seemed to be doing everything else right.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the pool side (beach side, west) of the building. Rooms on Kuhio Ave are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oz_Kay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, General Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Oz_Kay_11,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your recent visit with us. We are happy to hear that the room configuration worked out well for you and your family. We regret to hear that the sounds of the city made it difficult for you to rest well. Please accept our sincere apologies that the air conditioner unit in your room was found to be noisy as well. We have been changing all of the air conditioners and your room may have still had an older model installed. We expect to complete the new air conditioners installations very soon.

We truly appreciate your patronage and hope to be afforded another opportunity to host you and your family on a future visit. Should you choose to give us another try, please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best available rate.
Mahalo,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

A good but VERY budget option. Small rooms but very neat and clean. Full size fridge and cooking facilities in one bedroom rooms. Hallways and lift a bit dated and worn, pool area is quite pretty. Staff are great. Area is in the heart of Waikiki. If you are on a budget go here - if not - spend a little more for the facilities and feel of a beach front hotel. Parking is $20. If they at full you have to park next door which is a little dodgy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, General Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Danielle T,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback of your recent visit with us. I think your feedback is on point as we are indeed a great value for those whom would rather spend their money on activities or gifts than an expensive beachfront hotel. We offer an excellent value to our guests by providing all of the essentials and more without service or amenity fees. We are structured to allow for longer stays and because of our smaller size, our guests receive more personalized service.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff and are glad that you enjoyed our pool area. We will take your comments regarding the elevator condition into consideration for future projects. Thank you so much for staying with us!

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussies in US
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights over Christmas and NewYear 2012/2013.We had 2 adults and 2 teenagers in our party so the one bedroom apartment was perfect for our needs with a separate bedroom for parents and 2 single beds for kids in the main room.kitchen was handy with full fridge,oven and microwave,although very basic and limited crockery and equipment.All staff were obliging,friendly and all requests handled quickly.free beach towels and chairs a nice touch as well as unlimited crunchy apples,cold filtered water and free coffee in foyer.The hotel is handy to beach,supermarket and bus and shuttle runs along the street.Only drawback is the street noise as all the one bedroom apartments are situated on street side of Kuhio ave which is a main traffic thoroughfare with a bus stop across the road.just take ear plugs and you will be fine.
Would definitely stay here again,special thanks to Greg who always had a huge smile and jumped to open door for us when we came home laden with shopping bags.maholo

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithyaussiesinUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, General Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha SmithyaussiesinUS,

Thank you for choosing to spend your holidays with us at the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are so pleased to hear of that the room suited your family’s needs and that you found our staff to be great hosts. We hope you had a wonderful Hawaiian Christmas and New Year and that we will get to spend it with you all again next year. Should you choose to return, please contact us directly for the best available rate.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The experience we recieved at this hotel can not compare. I work in Customer Service and I was so impressed with how all of the employees of this hotel went above and beyond. I took my 2 aunts to Hawaii for the first time and probably their only. Thank you for making it more than perfect. I came to visit the hotel ahead of time to make sure it was what we were looking for. On arrival, I asked the front desk if anything had changed as it didn't look like the room I had seen. I
had been shown a larger room and that is the one I thought I had reserved. I assumed it was my error and thanked the desk, so happy to be on holidays it didn't matter. The following morning while walking in lobby the Gentleman at the desk (I believe his name was Dan - works nights) advised me they had another room for us. I told him we were ok and no need to fuss but he insisted. Once he gave us the keys and we arrived in our new room we were so touched. It was perfect and beautiful and we couldn't have dreamed of a more beautiful room. This vacation is a once in a lifetime for my family and I could not have chosen a better hotel. Our experience with the Conceirge - Younger man was amazing! He drew us maps and gave us great meal trips and gave us coupons. The whole experience was amazing. I work in the Travel industry and I RAVE about this hotel. I have never felt like my hard earned money meant so much to a hotel. The pool is also lovely as it is smaller and less busy. Very relaxing. The location of the hotel is perfect.Thank you, Thank you. We felt like little princesses for the week! I will be back next year with my husband and I can't wait.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, General Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha Jess G,

Mahalo for sharing your experience at the Aqua Bamboo! I am very proud of the feedback that your have provided with regard to how special my team made you feel. We realize how hard our guests work to save up for a vacation and always hope to have them leave feeling the way that you did. I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Luxury One Bedroom Suite. Dan is a fantastic example of someone whom lives "Aloha" and we are very lucky to have him. Thank you so much for selecting the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki to spend your hard earned vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Kahealani Colon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#40 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,216 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,494 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#51 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with an on-site restaurant and lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing