We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“GREAT STAY!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT STAY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have stayed here numerous times and it's a great place! Small and boutique. The rooms vary! You can always switch- every stay has had a different lay out! Some rooms facing street is loud over pool is better. I love this place- staff is always friendly and accomodating!! If you don't like your room they will change if available. I love the pool area and relaxing surrounding! Great location don't need a car! Beds are comfortable- Everything is in walking distance. Safe in all rooms- staff is just great! Manager's reception on Thur 4:30- entertainment- snacks, free mai tai's in pool area. Nice and cozy!! Will always stay here-

Room Tip: pool side for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KImberpd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Kimberpd2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything from the comfortable beds to convenient location of the hotel. We are thrilled that the staff was friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the relaxing pool area and the weekly Manager’s Reception for our guests.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    637
    213
    85
    46
See reviews for
371
752
134
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel has the little touches that make a big difference. We stayed for two nights Nov. 3-5th, 2012. We had requested a room overlooking the pool ( quieter that way ) and upon check in they told us we would be upgraded to their studio. This unit has dishes, fridge, stove top. Very nice! They give pool towels at the front desk, but the best part is they also have beach chairs, water toys, and I even say surf boards, that you can borrow, and return to take to the beach. Very nice touch. In the lobby, they also have water, and iced tea or lemoade available all day. The only complaint is there is no wireless in the rooms, but you can take your laptop to the lobby, and there is wireless there. All in all, an old hotel that has been updated, and also has a safe in the room, where you put in your own passcode. Would have no problem staying here again. One block from Waikiki Beach!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool so you will not hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Sparks1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as beach gear, beverages and apples in the lobby and wifi & in-room internet. We are happy to tell you that we are working on getting wifi in the rooms and we hope to have this completed by your next stay with us. We are also very delighted that you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade to the Studio Kitchenette!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

My family have travelled numerous times to Honolulu, having stayed at all the 5* hotels (I am an oz travel agent). Without a doubt, the AQUA BAMBOO & SPA is the best little oasis in Honolulu.The staff, from the front desk (Zenie and Nicole) to the cleaners/room service, there was always a smile and friendly face. Nothing was a problem for any request we had (exrtra towels, more coffee packs). The rooms are all a good size, comfortable and the kitchen is a real bonus for those that wish to having a toast and vegie, instant noodles or cooking a meal.
The pool area is the Oasis, cool, shady trees, plenty of lounges and chairs and the BBQ, well, everyone loves a BBQ don't they?
I am already organising next years 2013 return (it will be our 9th time at AQUA BAMBOO).
If you are thinking of travelling to Honolulu, either as a couple or with a family, there is only one place to stay, AQUA BAMBOO & SPA.

Room Tip: book the courtyard rooms overlooking the pool. sitting on the lanai, sipping a drink, bewdifull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dragons80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Dragons80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy that you have chosen the Aqua Bamboo as your home away from home, here in Hawai`i. We are thrilled that the staffs, from the front desk to our housekeepers, have been friendly and accommodating during your many stays with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found the rooms to be comfortable and you found the convenient kitchenettes to benefit you and your family. We are also delighted that you found the serenity in our lush and private Outer Sanctuary, the pool area.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I booked this hotel on the sole basis of previous reviews and price - I was not disappointed!! This is a great little hotel with a heart - the heart being the staff!! The staff really are the key here - helpful, genuine, willing to go that extra mile and with great recommendations!! I was sorry i didnt take more care to remember their names. If you have the opportunity to go to the Managers Reception - Go!! Its a lovely way to connect with the staff and enjoy some nice entertainment and a tasty wee cocktail. The hotel itself has a great location, minutes walk to Waikiki beach, shops, restaurants and the bus stop is right across the road. One of my fav aspects was that the hotel provided beach towels so no need to buy and fresh filtered water/coffee/tea in reception. Our room was great - maybe in need of an upgrade although the furniture appears alot newer than the room itself - bed was very comfy, basic kitchen with everything we needed - for the money it was more than what I expected - the only down side was the view, which was an apartment block with very colourful inhabitants literally 3 meters from our balcony - they weren't noisy just very colourful :) If you're planning a trip to Diamond Head using the bus you maybe lucky to get an offer you can't refuse from a taxi driver or shuttle van driver :) Check hotel website for deals before booking - I saved $100 doing just that!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snowbabies1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Snowbabies1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very proud to hear that the Aloha Spirit and family oriented service was apparent and effective during your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our weekly Manager’s Reception, the Bamboozle along with the many complimentary amenities we offer such as beach towels and refreshing beverages and convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here Nov.2-10 and absolutely love the Bamboo! It was our second time staying here and we will be back whenever we return to Waikiki! It is steps away from beaches and restaraunts. The rooms are comfortable and perfect. We stayed in a Kitchenette suite (room 810) and saved alot of money making breakfast and lunch and some dinners in our room. You can't beat having the Food Pantry a few blocks away and the fresh fish they have! The Aqua Bamboo is clean, the staff are friendly, and the pool sanctaury area is awesome. Also a nice touch is the lemon water and iced tea in the lobby at all times. The only thing I wish was that the rooms offered a full coffee maker to enjoy the fine Kona Coffee! They have those single server pod coffee makers. We ended up going to Don Quijote and purchasing one for 19.99 and just left it in the room for the next guest. So it was fine. Anyway, I highly recommend this hotel, it is a gem in busy Waikiki!! Mahalo to the staff for making our stay awesome!!

Room Tip: when booking, ask for a room on a higher floor if possible, some people complain about the street no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wpgtrvlr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Tricia81,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are very proud to hear that the Aloha Spirit and family oriented service was apparent and effective during your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our weekly Manager’s Reception, the Bamboozle along with the many complimentary amenities we offer such as beach towels and refreshing beverages and convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants!
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbard, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I used to be a travel agent and have seen many Hotels/Condos in Waikiki.
This one is very clean w/ large rooms. We love the fact that we can walk anywhere.
We just happened to stumble on this property by staying somewhere else that didn't have a pool The Bamboo let us use theirs and then the next time we traveled we stayed there.
The pool gets shaded in the afternoon by the trees but that works out really well because you are usually at the beach all day and need a break from the sun.
They have tea and a small breakfast in the lobby every morning.
We had a complimentary massage and drinks in the lobby one night.
What a fun place.....you will not find another as nice for the price
I've always felt very relaxed and welcomed at this place. Never crowded.

Room Tip: I personally like the city view at this property. You can sit on your balcony and people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Daphne b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are so happy that you found your home away from home here at the Aqua Bamboo! It is wonderful that you found the convenient location and clean, large rooms to benefit you during your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as beverages and apples in the lobby along with our weekly Manager’s Reception, the Bamboozle.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a good hotel in the middle of busy waikiki. Loved the boutique feel and the pool area. An oasis of tranquility, yet you could walk almost anywhere. We stayed 16 nights. We travel to Hawaii every year and usually stay at the five star hotels. While this is not a 5 star hotel, there were lots of little extras to make up for that. The staff was very friendly, beach chairs, rafts, and towels were provided, coffee, water, and lemonade in the lobby were a nice treat. Thursday night manager cocktail reception with live music was also a nice treat. Very clean everywhere! If there was any problem, it was corrected immediately. The only negative thing I have to say is that the pool was freezing which was odd. When I asked about this I was told that the pool does not get enough hours of sunlight. I would imagine this to be less of an issue in the summer. The other issue which was really the most important has to do with a foul odor in the room which came and went. In all fairness to the Aqua Bamboo, the sewage problem is a city problem and something that is being worked on in several locations. During our stay, several areas near the hotel were having new pipes installed under the sidewalk. Therefore, this may have been a problem for us due to the location of our room. I would stay at the Aqua Bamboo again.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alohajoborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Aloha Alohajoborg,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
It is wonderful to hear that the staff was friendly and accommodating and you enjoyed our complimentary amenities such as beach equipment and refreshing beverages in the lobby. We are delighted you enjoyed our weekly Manager’s Reception, the Bamboozle. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to the pool temperature and the discrepancy in your room. Did you have an opportunity to advise our team of these issues? If not, please contact me at nyoshimoto@aquaresorts.com so we may attend to these matters specific to your room.
On behalf of all of us at Aqua Hotels & Resorts, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you again in the future! Thank you very much for all your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing