We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly, laid back hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Friendly, laid back hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Well after reading reviews I was starting to second guess myself booking at the bamboo, im glad I didnt change.

Everything was very clean, everyone was super friendly, even the guests. The hotel was not "perfect" but that's not what I was expecting. When we first got there the hot tub was stuck on boiling hot, then it was normal. It got hot again later in the week but since we saw how the maintenance person fixed it we just did it ourselves (lol)

The staff were extremely wonderful and helpful, in any and all questions we had. They went above and beyond to make the stay wonderful. the guest services manager was so nice and wasent "hiding away" in an office, almost everyday we saw her at least once.

The only thing that wasent perfect in the room was a bit of paint peeling right above the AC (Which is kind of understandable) they were also in the process of changing out the older AC like ours. Any complaints you hear about loud AC must be from people who have never been around the "in the window" type AC, it was not any louder than mine at home. Its like a fan blowing air.

I would most definitely stay at this hotel again. The guests were very nice and were just there to have a nice vacation, no one was "stuck up" like a lot of the hotels in the area.

Just as an FYI there was a family that was staying at the bamboo for part of their trip and then staying at a different one for the other half, they left for the other hotel only to come back to the bamboo. All of the guests that I talked to LOVED the hotel.

If your expecting the Ritz Carlton for the (proverbial) best western price, then this is not it. They are an inexpensive hotel with great amenities, great staff, great guests, great rooms, and overall really good vibe!

Thanks for making our hotel awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khemikalhardkore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Aloha Khemikalhardkore,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the hotel to be a good value and that you enjoyed the tranquil vibe of the hotel. We are also very pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating during your stay.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    656
    219
    88
    47
See reviews for
387
769
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed five nights at the Aqua Bamboo. We were pleasantly surprised. Clean, great location, friendly staff. Kitchenette saved us a LOT OF MONEY. I only wish they had free wifi in all their suites, and if not its own facility Aqua should strike a deal with a local gym so that their guests don't have to pay exorbitant pay per use charges.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha Christian R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so happy that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the friendly staff. We are thrilled to hear that the convenient kitchenette provided great savings. We thank you for your suggestions regarding the wifi and fitness facility. We are pleased to let you know that we will be receiving wifi hot spots for rent at the Guest Services Desk until we are able to upgrade our in room internet services.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo for 7 nights at the end of August and from the moment we arrived we felt welcome. We had a room with a kitchenette which was a definite plus, and all of the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are all updated and very clean, also the bed was incredibly comfortable. The outdoor oasis area is fantastic. Great pool and hot tub and plenty of loungers and tables for all guests to enjoy. This is also where the sauna and spa is located. Walk to the beach takes 5 minutes and there are plenty of great restaurants within walking distance as well. There also a grocery store a 2 minute walk down the street and local buses stop right across the street.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at the Aqua Bamboo and we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Aloha Lindsay S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so thrilled that you felt welcome from the start and our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the benefit of the kitchenette in your room and the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, restaurants and bus stops.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in mid August 2012 for two nights. I concur with the other reviews that give high praise to the location, pool area (a little oasis) and the staff. There were 5 of us from 21 to 81 years old. We had two rooms. The staff were hugely accommodating, friendly and knowledgable. We had a missing walker for my mom after our flight, subsequently required a wheelchair and then needed the right transportation to get all of us to the cruise port. Front desk staff helped with all of this. They knew a taxi driver who had a large enough vehicle to take all of us with luggage, a wheelchair and a walker and they ordered it.

Both of our rooms were updated with only the windows and a/c being a little tired. Our room was a perfect set-up for a family travelling with any age children. There was a bedroom with queen bed and then two single beds in the open area. Even with four adults plus luggage, I didn't feel cramped. A pool side room would have been great both for view and less street noise though no one in our group was bothered by the street sounds. There is a view of the ocean from the upper pool side rooms and it would have been lovely to sit on the balcony and enjoy this view.

Thank you to the staff at the Aqua Bamboo for a lovely stay!!

Linda

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Aloha Linda H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased that the staff was friendly and accommodating throughout your stay and that you enjoyed your One Bedroom Suite. We have our Moderate (1-2 people) and Studio Kitchenette (2-4 people) rooms on the Courtyard side if you are interested for your next stay.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

The Aqua Bamboo Waikiki took me by surprise from the moment I arrived. Walking through the door the calming smell of mint fills the lobby. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Be sure to pick up an Ethernet cable if you have your laptop with you.

The rooms are basic and the kitchenette can be a little on the small side, but well stocked. The beds are comfortable, and the showers are great if you are a taller person. There is great looking grotto area where the pool is located. As well as surf boards you access to as well as a bbq.
My favorite is the complimentary coffee, lemonade, and ice tea that are available daily in the lobby, as well as free wifi in the lobby.

I would go back to this property.

Room Tip: I would suggest a higher floor facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Aloha Josh I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the calming atmosphere and friendly staff here at the Aqua Bamboo. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool area along with our many complimentary beach amenities along with beverages and wifi in the lobby.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

we stayed for 10 days and found the staff and all facilities just perfect, all the staff were most helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them, Its only a 5 min. walk to the beach and local bus services are right out the front door. The lobby and pool area are spacious and well furnished and the BBQ for guests use was spotlessly clean, all in all Happy Days

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Aloha Jim M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so pleased that you found the staff to be helpful and enjoyed the convenient location to the beach and bus stops. We are also thrilled that you enjoyed the comfortable lobby and pool area along with our many complimentary amenities such as our BBQ grill.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Waikiki is many things.You may choose a fortress and 25 floors and towers and spend more time in the chorine infinity pool and elevators, or... stay here with a very interesting mix of friendly world visitors and thoughtful staff .and really experience the island.Walk to Diamond Head,visit the International Market.Rise early and swim the calm waters ,lots of colorful fish along the rocks,The room is serene,The surrounds are city and the noise is not unlike the ocean tides two blocks away ,ebb and surge.I enjoyed the tranquil rock waterfall by the pool,beautiful service of iced beverages and coffee in a wonderful comfy lobby area.Nice room safe for my laptop and phone while i solo visit the waterworld.Great for a solo traveler ,bus is across the street to everywhere ,and several great food markets as well as take outs on Kuhio.Visitors are so outgoing in this place,I talked with wonderful people from several countries and all ages and it is because this place has ...yep,aloha....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Aloha Suseas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the Aloha Spirit here at the Aqua Bamboo. We are pleased to hear that you benefited from the convenient location to the beach, shopping and Diamond Head along with our many complimentary amenities such as beverages in the lobby and in-room safes.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing