We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Service, Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Federal Way, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, Service, Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Honolulu is NOT an inexpensive city -- especially for hotels! We found the Aqua Bamboo by searching TripAdvisor and were attracted by the price and the good reviews. We were pleasantly surprised in many ways! The location was perfect for us. We were able to take a city bus directy from the airport that stopped on Kuhio Avenue near the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, the check-in staff presented us with chilled towels and cold pineapple juice. The lobby is spacious and relaxing -- with cold water, ice-tea, and lemonade next to the publicly available computers. Our room was very nice (although next time we'll probably spring for the small suite -- my sister's was incredible!). During our 3-night stay, the staff was very helpful and friendly. We took advantage of the pool and hot-tub (both in the lovely garden behind the hotel). We also appreciated the convenient washer & dryer. Another reviewer mentioned the lack of WiFi, but there is wired Internet in the rooms -- and Ethernet cables are available at the front desk. (I personally prefer a fast and secure wired connection to the often spotty wireless connections in many hotels.) This isn't a 5-star luxury hotel -- but it's a great value in a great location with great service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave98023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Aloha Dave98023,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear that staff was helpful and friendly during your stay and that you found the hotel to be in a convenient location and a great value. We are pleased that you enjoyed our many complimentary amenities such as internet in the rooms and lobby and beverages.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    656
    219
    88
    47
See reviews for
387
769
137
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed at Aqua Bamboo and Spa 4 times in the past few years, we have never been dissapointed. The staff are so helpful and friendly (even when we had our toddler with us, they were always willing to help out, and one of the ladies who cleaned our room even bought a kettle from her own as there was not one located in our room - so i could have sterile water in my babies bottle). It was always clean, and whenever we decided to go for a swim, or to the beach the room was always spotless when we returned. The staff at reception would always great us with a warm smile. We arrived quite early before check in, and we were given a room straight away. The hotel is close to the main strip (walking distance), has a supermarket (which is very reasonably price for a tourist area just across the road). and the shuttle that takes you around the island is only across the road...I dont have anything negative to say about this hotel, we have stayed in a lot more pricey accomodation in Hawaii, and by far this one is the best, i would never go back to the more expensive hotels ever again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BEGALMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Aloha BEGALMelbourne,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear that staff was friendly and accommodating during your family vacation and that you found the convenient location to benefit you during your stay.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our first time in Hawaii, we couldn't have picked a better place that suited our needs. The staff were so friendly, our room was wonderful and cleaned every day, the bed was so cozy, we were close to everything, and we felt so comfortable and welcome:) We were sad to leave and hope to return again soon:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 960LisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Aloha 960LisaB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and felt our aloha spirit throughout your stay. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and the convenient location of the hotel.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Rented a condo from this hotel, although we dealt mainly with the owner, Norman! A really nice individual who went out of his way for us on our first night by walking us to the Food Court in the International Market Place! This was our first time in Honolulu. He was very courteous and gave us valuable info on the surroundings around Bamboo Waikiki.
The room itself had three beds (Double and 2 twins) which was perfect for our party of 4! Had a flat screen, kitchenette, two lanai, table and desk and of course, air conditioning! It also had a nice pool although we didn't use it and the hotel itself had no restaurant but didn't need one.
This hotel was in a great location! 2 blocks from the beach! and scores of restaurants in the area, both chain and locally owned!! The staff was good although one time we had a problem with a fuse being tripped, they wouldn't reset it unless we called the owner and had him call the hotel himself...go figure. We also asked the hotel if we could take 2 loaner beach chairs to use on the beach but the front desk said we couldn't because we didnt book a room directly with the hotel...oh well...That wasn't a biggie but that policy didn't make sense because they had plenty of beach chairs available...Nevertheless, all in all we had a good stay and again, the location was great!! Kudos to Norman for making our stay very comfortable!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetstreamsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Aloha Jetstreamsurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the policies and conditions of the private units and their guests. We would be glad to review these policies with our management team for any possible revisions that may enhance every guest’s experience at the Bamboo. We appreciate your honest feedback as it is a vital tool for our improvement and growth.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

There was excellent service here. The manager actually went out and purchased a converter for my Mac to use the Internet. The fact that there is no wi-fi is pretty ridiculous for someone on business, but the staff's attitude and helpfulness more than made up for the lack of modern amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Aloha Tim L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy that the staff was helpful and accommodating. We apologize that not having wifi in the rooms caused an inconvenience during your stay and are pleased to let you know that we a reviewing our options for this service. We hope that the next time you visit Hawai`i, you will give us a second chance and we will be better equipped for your needs.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo Waikiki and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a small family reunion here for a week and enjoyed it tremendously. The room was clean, the bedding very comfortable, and the staff relaxed and welcoming. The beach was two blocks down, and the parking convenient (we could have parked at the hotel, but decided to park next door so we would not have to deal with the valet parking). The lobby was large and comfortable, perfect for meeting with family before dinner. Many shops and restaurants within walking distance. Waikiki Beach is very crowded, but some days we drove to more remote places with the rental car.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 8Sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Aloha 8Sally,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and welcoming team. We are happy that you benefited from the convenient location of the hotel to Waikiki Beach, shops and restaurants and that you were able to see some of O`ahu’s hidden treasures.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel was very convenient - valet parking for the car, clean towels for the beach or the swimming pool, toys / chairs to bring to the beach which was only 2 minutes walk - all for no extra cost (apart from $20 per day for parking).

Drinks and apples in the lobby was a nice touch and the staff was always very helpful. There was also a handy reminder in the lift which listed all the free activities available in Waikiki, as well as a local paper with key events for the week.

We were very happy to have chosen the Aqua Bamboo - bed very comfortable, free internet in the room worked a treat for our 14 year old son. The pool was an oasis of tranquility (given Honolulu itself is a quite busy town) and we had so many restaurants to chose from within a minute walk.

We did cook (OK only once for the whole stay but this was only because the restaurants had to be sampled!) and the equipment was adequate. Had I wanted to cook more, the kit was a bit light but, with a local supermarket across the road, the microwave is really all you need. It would have been handy to have an oven (not everything can go in the microwave) but to be honest you don't go to Hawaii to cook a roast.

Only downside I can think of was the aircon unit which I found a bit loud - however it brought the room temperature down very quickly and the weather was not that hot so, in the end, we didn't switch on at night.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone - I think this was definitely good value for money.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that the town is busy all the time so don't expect complete quiet (even at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Aloha 960LisaB,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you found the staff to be friendly and felt our aloha spirit throughout your stay. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed your comfortable room and the convenient location of the hotel.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Yoshimoto
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Property: Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including a saltwater pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and stove-top. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing