We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #52 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night on the last night of our honeymoon. (We had only 1 night in Honolulu.) From the website photos and Trip Advisor info, we were expecting a cute, little, modern boutique hotel, and that's not really the case.

The lobby is an assault on the senses - so much decoration, knick-knacks, and scents! There was an overpowering peppermint smell that had us flying through the lobby any time we had to pass through there. It wasn't necessarily a bad smell, but it was so strong, you felt like you were living inside a York Peppermint Patty. Strange.

The pool was also not super appealing. We walked out there to check it out, and the hot tub was tiny, cold, and did not look like water we would want to get in.

Our room was run down, and it felt like we were staying in someone's apartment. The furniture is mismatched and not in great shape - The decor looks like a bachelor's apartment who is just out of college and has been collecting friend's furniture (we even had a futon covered in a sheet in the living room.) It was just a little odd. However, it was CLEAN which is critical (except for the random Solo cup under the sink cabinet - again, reminiscent of a young guy's bachelor pad!) The window unit AC does rattle, as I read in another review.

It appeared that people individually own the rooms and perhaps the hotel rents them out nightly? Like a condotel? This may be the reason for the rooms not looking nearly as good as the website. Perhaps each room looks somewhat different because of different owners?

That said, the good things were: friendly staff, very affordable, clean, and very good location (walking distance to lots of great stuff.)

All in all, it was just an odd little place. Not quirky fun odd, just plain odd. We would not return. We'd rather pay a little extra for an overall better experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speroli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Aloha Speroli,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. Your review is important to us as it is a valuable tool for our improvement.

I would like to firstly acknowledge your sensitivity to the scented oils we diffuse in the lobby. As we try to create a calming, serene and spa-like atmosphere, we are certainly more concerned with our guests comfort. I regret that we were not informed of your discomfort as we would have gladly changed the scent or the amount we use to remedy the situation for you.

I also understand that you did not find the pool area and your room to be comfortable or appealing. We do have many owners of the hotel; however we do our best to uphold a standard. I appreciate your opinion and concern in these areas of the hotel so that we may revisit our efforts.

I am very pleased to hear that you found the staff to be friendly, the central location to be of convenience to you and the hotel to be a good value. I sincerely hope that you will think of us in the future and give us a second chance to share our intimate boutique with you.

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,823 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have spent many hours reviewing various hotels in Honolulu for our honeymoon in Hawaii. After reading the feedback on this hotel, booking here was an obvious choice.

We want our honeymoon to be perfect and are sure we will have a fantastic experience at the Aqua Bamboo and Spa when we stay from October 4 to October 15.

Thank you to everyone who has reviewed this hotel - your feedback will help ensure our honeymoon will be amazing!

Looking forward to meeting all of the wonderful staff at Aqua and enjoying all of the amenities!

Alyshia Higgins & Mike Van Veen

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank 86alyshia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Aloha 86alyshia68,

Thank you for your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are truly delighted that you will be spending such a special occasion with us!

I have located your reservation and have notated that you will be celebrating your Honeymoon with us.

If there is anything that I may assist you with, please feel free to contact me at nvalentino@aquaresorts.com.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you soon!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I am not sure I want to make this comment,as I do not want to give away one of the best kept secrets in Waikiki, but I will anyway. The Aqua Bamboo is the Zen place to stay while visiting Waikik whether traveling for business or pleasure. It is a beautiful, intimate place with freindly helpful staff. Off the main drag and around the corner from the beach, it is easily acccessable to anywhere you want to go. I had a full kitchen and 3 lanais from my spacious room. It felt like home and I could easily "live" there.
Mahalo to the Aqua Bamboo for such a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiGi0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Aloha GiGi0906,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room with the full kitchen facilities and our friendly and helpful staff. It is wonderful to hear that you found the Zen that we promote within and surrounding our hotel. We are also delighted that you found the central location to benefit you while you were with us.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Great location, really nice room, good facilities if you want to cook for yourself, wonderful bed!!, and the pool area was just fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonjanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Aloha Jasonjanine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room with kitchen facilities and our comfortable beds! We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and the central location of our hotel.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were two couples travelling together and our flight was late so they gave us the penthouse instead of separate rooms. The penthouse which took up the full 13th floor. The price was much cheaper than individual rooms and included a full two bedroom suite with two bathrooms, large fully equiped kitchen, a large dining room and livingroom. There were big screen TVs in each bedroom and the living room. The master bathroom also included a large sauna and whirlpool bath. The balcony extended all around the building so we had panoramic view of Waikiki. Although an older hotel the suite was clean and very comfortable, the staff was helpful and very courteous. Free WiFi in the lobby and free high speed cable in the suite. There is a nice pool and a separate garden area.
The only down side is the elevator does not go to the top and you are required to walk up one flight. We are all ever 60 years old and we had no problem with this.
We really enjoyed our stay there and will try to book it next time we return to Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you are a family or two couples ask for the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMSkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Aloha Waikiki2011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so excited that you enjoyed the two bedroom penthouse with 360 degree views and luxurious amenities. We are also delighted that you found our staff to be helpful and our complimentary amenities to benefit you while you were with us.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My wife and I recently spent 10 nights at the Aqua bamboo & Spa. We were part of a 20 person ukulele orchestra from Australia, and had been invited to perform in the annual International Ukulele Festival in Waikiki on July 17, 2011. Another couple from our group also stayed at the Aqua Bamboo. We absolutely loved our stay at the hotel - the reception staff were exceptionally friendly, courteous, and helpful in every way; and were only too happy for people from our group (who were staying at other venues) to come to the Aqua Bamboo for a few rehearsals around the beautiful pool area; and the house staff likewise were always helpful and friendly. The rooms and amenities are the "older style" in design, but very clean and comfortable. The lobby area is also extremely welcoming (iced tea and lemon water always available), and very comfortable and relaxing. Paula and I would most certainly stay at the Aqua Bamboo again, and have no hesitaion at all in recommending it to other visitors and travellors. Aloha and mahalo.
Dennis & Paula Browne
Newcastle, NSW, Australia

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waikiki2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Aloha Waikiki2011,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We are so thrilled that our staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful during your stay with us. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your clean and comfortable room along with our relaxing lobby and complimentary beverages.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Aqua Bamboo in May 2011.
We chose this hotel due to the location, price and ratings on TA.

The hotel does not include parking like many other hotels in Honolulu. We chose to park our rental in the lot next door because it was cheaper ($15 vs $20 at the hotel). The location is very central for going to the beach and also for the downtown area.
You are never more than a 3 minute walk to anything. There are stores on the street, transit etc.
Our experience with Aqua began a little bit bumpy due to one staff member who was very rude. We checked prices and availability before arriving and the staff member that was working the night we arrived was actually quite rude. After dealing with this young lady we decided that we would only stay the one night. We had called before hand and were told about gov't rates and CAA rates etc. and the price was good, but when we talked to the staff member in person she was being very difficult and would not give us that rate. She had told us that she has one room available for government rate (which by the way was not government rate!!). We get to our room and it is facing the traffic and is on level 2, right above the lobby. Nothing can drown out the sound. We decided that we were done with the hotel but called down to the lobby and just wanted to see if we could possibly change rooms and get the government rate. We spoke with Fe and she was amazing.
We got moved to a temporary room due to a mix up and ended up with a pool view suite for 2 nights at the cheap rate. We then got moved after our room became available.

The hotel itself is actually a little run down, but has all the basic things that are needed in a hotel. Washing machines, pool, coffee and juices all day for free in the lobby. They also had a pool party that was free. It included finger foods and alcoholic beverages, there was also food for purchase and the money was donated to charity.

The pool was small but nice and clean, the lobby had free Wi-fi and couches all over, it also had some computer stations that you could pay to use.

Parking was not free, $15(24 hrs) for next door above ground parking or in the Bamboo itself for $20 per night.

Price was good, I would not pay the full-price for the pool view suite as its not amazing but it is nice if you need a full kitchen.

Hotel is a little older, staff are alright if you find the nice ones. Good location about 5 min walk from beach. I will probably stay here again if the prices are the same or cheaper. I would not pay more than $110 per a night though. Avoid rooms facing Kuhio or ask for a room higher up to get away from the noise.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dollyvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

Aloha Dollyvancouver,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

First of all, I would like to sincerely thank you for following us on TripAdvisor, as we are dedicated to our guests experience with us. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our weekly manager’s reception, the Bamboozle. We are also thrilled that Fe took ownership of your rough start and was able to remedy the situation. I am regretful to hear that your experience with one of our other staff members was less than satisfactory. We take our guest service seriously and will look into any and all matters of concern. We do charge for our on-site parking, however we do our best to offer a plethora of complimentary amenities for our guests such as internet, beverages, apples, newspapers as well as beach towels and chairs.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
639 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,931 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $152 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing