We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed March 18, 2011

My wife and I spent our anniversary/belated honeymoon in Waikiki, and I can't say enough good things about the Aqua Bamboo.

Upon mention of the honeymoon aspect of our trip, we were quickly upgraded to a full suite. No, it didn't look or feel like a 5-star hotel but for the price this is an amazing place to stay. The room was very clean and modern, the kitchen was fantastic, and the staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating, to the point of one of the staff members lending us their personal lunch cooler for a day trip.

The pool/lounge area is gorgeous. Lots of mature trees and landscaping so it doesn't sound or feel like you're in the city at all. Of course, why sit around the pool when the beach is two short blocks away? We were some of the last people to get dropped off when we took the shuttle from the airport so we stopped at several other (more expensive) hotels on the way, and I have to say that we had the best location of all of them as far as proximity to the beach. There are lots of grocery stores and everything else you might need very nearby, and a bus stop right in front if you need to go further.

And for Canadians like us, there was a small but significant added bonus - free SWEETENED iced tea in the lobby!

All in all, I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisH1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Aloha ChrisH1973,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and for letting us be a part of such a special time in your life.
We are pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and accomodating and to hear that you enjoyed the suite which you were upgraded to. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our Outer Sanctuary to be enchanting and an escape from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. We are also happy that you found the central location to Waikiki Beach, dining, shopping and TheBus to be a convenience to you while you were with us.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2011

We were invited to a wedding in Honolulu and need a place to stay. I read through the reviews and was not sure how the property would serve our needs but I was pleasantly surprised and felt the need to add to the stellar reviews for this property. The location, staff and convenience made our stay extremely enjoyable. Reading the reviews from others about the noise level was helpful in selecting the right room location. Yes, it is slightly dated but cleanliness, convenience and value were paramount in providing a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delmurrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Aloha Delmurrio,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you found the staff to be enjoyable and that you were able to select a room to accommodate your needs adequately. We are thrilled that our cleanliness and dedicated service were pleasing to you. We are also happy to hear that the convenience of the location was a benefit to you during your stay with us.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

What a great hotel, great value, great location! I could not have been more pleased with our stay. We love Hawaii and this hotel just added to the "Aloha Spirit"! First, I would like to say that I booked this hotel based on these trip advisor reviews, so I know how important these reviews are, not only to travelers, but businesses as well. In advance, based on comments here, I emailed the hotel and asked for a room above the 7th floor, overlooking the pool. They accommodated our request well! We were very, very pleasantly surprised when we opened our curtains on the 11th floor, room 1101 to be exact, and saw views of the Pacific Ocean and Waikiki Beach and also views of the lovely pool area from our lanai. Our room was quiet, our bed was comfortable and we were greeted with chocolates and champagne with beautiful orchids in the bathroom and with our welcome gift. It was our anniversary trip. Our first impression was awesome!
The pool area is immaculate and relaxing. We sat in the pool area and used the jacuzzi in the evening after walking a lot during the day. The plants, flowers and trees are so lush and well taken care of. The walk to the beach is short and perfect for a morning or evening stroll. There are several ABC stores nearby and I felt safe walking by myself for several trips to get water or other items. Everything is within close walking distance! We went to Subway most mornings for a cheapie breakfast and there are two that we know of nearby. Our favorite value dinner was actually the other way, towards the Ali Wai canal at a place called Waikiki Sand Villa, which is a hotel. It was a bar and grill below the hotel that not a whole lot of people are aware of, but their fish and chips and Mahi Mahi over rice was absolutely delicious!! It was away from the hustle and bustle just a couple blocks over in the busy downtown area, which was nice.
We were greeted upon every return to the hotel with an open door and an "Aloha" which just added to the feel of the hotel. This is a smaller hotel too, so the elevator was never a long wait, there was a current newspaper located right at the elevator doors every day, and the iced tea and lemon water by the pool area was fantastic and refreshing! The free internet wifi service was a major bonus as well. We were able to do a video chat with our kids back home in MN every evening before they went to bed, which we weren't able to do the last time we were in Hawaii. It made being away from the kids much easier to deal with, so we could enjoy ourselves and relax even more. The maid service was great every day as well. It's always so nice to come back to a made bed and fresh towels. Even the lotion and shampoo/conditioner was great! It smelled so nice.
Some other items that we did not use but might be important to others is that they have surf boards and a few other pool/beach items that you can check out in their pool area. They also have a sauna that we did not use, and spa services in the pool area as well.
We will be back to stay at this hotel. We wouldn't stay anywhere else! We don't need the fancy four and five star hotels on Waikiki Beach when we know about this hotel. It's close enough to everything and in my book it's five stars anyway! Mahalo, Aqua Bamboo! We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Aloha Jenstam8,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you found the Aloha Spirit in our staff, from the bellman to the housekeepers to be enjoyable and that your room met your needs and offered great views to enjoy. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our complimentary beverages, newspapers and you were able to take pleasure in our Outer Sanctuary as a peaceful refuge and the jacuzzi offered you a therapeutic end to a long days activities. We are so delighted that the complimentary wifi was a comfort to you while being thousands of miles away from your family. We are also happy that the convenient location to shops, dining and Waikiki Beach was a benefit to you while you were with us.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

This is a small boutique hotel with a lovely garden, pool, hot tub and spa (massage parlor) in back. The rooms are spacious, well decorated and extremely well kept. The staff is very attentive and friendly. They responded immediately to my needs. This isn't on the beach but it's a short walk there--the front street, Kuhio, is a main bus line and you can reach just about any place in Honolulu by catching a bus in front of the hotel. Other amenities nearby are a grocery store, a Starbucks and a gym. Great value--I recommend it without reservation!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OphSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

Aloha OphSeattle,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you enjoyed all the Bamboo has to offer from the Outer Sanctuary to the Aqua Spa and that you enjoyed your spacious room. We’re happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We are also glad to hear that you found the short walk to the beach, TheBus stops, grocery store and more to be convenient!
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I come to Honolulu often and I usually stay @ The Aqua Palms & Spa. Being that they were full I decided to go to Bamboo. I enjoyed my stay very much. The staff was very polite and helpful. The Guest services manager Nicole Valentino was also a great help in making sure my stay was very comfortable. The rooms were very clean and neat and it is right in the middle of all the action in waikiki, The Bamboo had a unexpected problem with a power outtage while I was there and they handled it great. They gave all the guest a free bar B que by the pool. Burgers and Hot dogs,chips,soda, etc. They made sure we were comfortable and fed during the outtage which lasted for at least 6 hrs. The rates are affordable and the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Just a short walk to the beach and plenty of shopping. What more can you ask for??

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Aloha BigCas,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are pleased that you found the staff to be polite and helpful and to hear that you found the room to be clean and comfortable. We are also happy that you found the central location to Waikiki Beach, dining, shopping and more to be a convenience to you while you were with us. Thank you for your understanding & support throughout our power outage and for your acknowledgement of our efforts to keep all of our guests comfortable and at ease.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

This is a somewhat dated property on a busy street. Get a room on a higher floor that is not facing the street to help reduce street noise. We loved the location, only 2 blocks to a fantastic section of the beach, easy walking distance to everything in Waikiki. Our room was on the 10th floor, on the side of the building toward the rear. The wall mounted air conditioner makes noise but did its job cooling; we simply shut it off at night and left the patio door open (the outside air was quite comfortable at night). Our room was clean throughout, the mattress was newer, firm & comfortable. Staff is responsive but not pampering. Overall I thought I received good "value" for my money; there are many fancier places to stay in Waikiki if you want to pay much much higher prices!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodNomad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2011

Aloha FoodNomad53,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are happy to hear that the location of the Bamboo suited you well with just a short walk to the beach & nearby dining & shopping locations. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your quiet room and found the bed comfortable.
I apologize that our staff did not meet your expectations. Thank you for being honest in your review. We are raising the bar everyday to better ourselves in every way we can.
We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!
Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The rooms are nicely appointed with rudimentary kitchen faciilities. The staff is uniformly friendly, helpful and fair. The lobby is calming and a nice refuge from Waikiki, which can get to be a bit much at times. But the piece de resistance is the pool and its surroundings. A great place to stay cool during the afternoons and to get away from the hustle bustle. Were I going back to Waikiki, I would book the Bamboo in a minute.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
Thank droogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquabamboo1, Guest Relations Manager at Aqua Bamboo Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2011

Aloha Droogie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.

We’re happy to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay and that you found the room and the kitchenette pleasant. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the serene atmosphere of our lobby and the “getaway” feel of our Outer Sanctuary. It’s nice to escape the hustle & bustle of Waikiki and relax in a beautiful and calm environment.

We truly appreciate your selection of the Aqua Bamboo & Spa and look forward to seeing you back in the years to come!

Mahalo,
Nicole Valentino
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
516 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,725 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Bamboo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Bamboo Waikiki

Address: 2425 Kuhio Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $154 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Bamboo Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki is an intimate, Southeast Asian-inspired, boutique hotel located 1 1/2 blocks to the beach. If you're looking for a true oasis in the heart of Waikiki with a lush outer sanctuary including an outdoor pool with waterfall, jet spa, barbeque grill and cabana, look no further. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Bamboo allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Beach Towel and Chair rentals, Waikiki Shuttle Service, Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, studios and suites include a 32-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, stove-top and energy saving sensors for our guest rooms. Located poolside, The Lovin' Oven creates unique hand-tossed Artisan pizzas using fresh, local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Bamboo Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo Hotel
Aqua Bamboo Honolulu
Aqua Bamboo And Spa
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing