We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be confused”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Don't be confused”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

"We just finished our two week, too long, stay at the "resort" (THIS IS NOT, I REPEAT, NOT A RESORT IN ANY WAY, SHAPE, OR FORM), and as advertised, it is in Waikiki. It's also woefully outdated; bathrooms look and feel like late 60's Holiday Inns'. They remind me of childhood vacations with the parents in South Dakota. Unfortunately, that's not what I look for in a multi-hundred $$/day "resort". Rooftop pool is tiny at best. I wondered about the property when I went to their website before we came, it too looks like it's from the 70's (yes, I know the internet didn't exist in 70's). Turns out the website is on par with the rest of the property. On site restaurant is a Denny's, which seems highly appropriate. Concierge Michael quickly volunteered he could not give any advice on activities not booked through him, guess he didn't want to lose the commission. Such a helpful young man. I doubt other area accommodations charge $50/week for internet access, nor $6/day mandatory fee for the "free" local phone calls. Will say the valet parkers are efficient. Good thing as you're required to use them for a bargain $125/wk (plus tips of course). The "kitchen" (kitchen is a stove top that looks like it belongs in a 60's era Winnebago, microwave, and minifridge that almost freezes ice cubes) sink in our unit started loudly belching water out, eventually discovered an issue in unit above us. Of course, we had to call twice, guess the first maintenance person I asked forgot or something. When we got back after maintenance was in our unit, we were greeted by a sign in hall warning of wet floor, and true to advertising, our floor had a pool of water. Wondered why they left it for me to clean up rather than mop it themselves, perhaps that was another extra charge. If you come here, be fully advised this is nowhere near comparable to nearby properties, and has a host of "gotcha" extra fees. Yes, management was apologetic, and comped internet service and parking for our continued issues, but that didn't improve the nonfunctioning shower in one bathroom, the constant nighttime noise of slamming doors, or the complete lack of any amenities (other than limited selection of DVD's available for the low, low price of $3/night). If you miss those 60's Holiday Inn vacations with your family, however, and cost is no object, this just might be the place for you!"

Room Tip: Ummmm, stay somewhere else would be my best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank twrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    284
    136
    44
    31
See reviews for
228
184
32
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumwater, WA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The location is ideal, right across from the beach. All staff are amazing, from front desk to housekeeping to valet. Interiors of rooms are very 80s including decor, appliances and bathrooms, but our room had a deck, living and dining area, bathroom in each bedroom and closet in bigger bedroom. Everything was clean and housekeeping does a great job with what they have to work with.

I don't go to Hawaii to stay in the room so the outdated decor not a big deal. Make sure to request the extras "available on request" such as blender and rice cooker. Keep in mind you'll have to pay for wifi and a normal size fridge if you want a real freezer or space to store fridge food. Room came with mini fridge but you can upgrade for $25.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have a great view. Elevators are a little slow so if you're impatient be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marshab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Excellent location in midst of waikiki. Loved walking to nearby coffee shops, restaurants and shopping malls. However one bedroom suite was less than desirable. Tiny rooms! Showers were smaller with strange odor from either shower stall or water. Furnitures seem old. At least the beds were firm and comfortable. Stubbed toes too often on wall-floor bedframe in livingroom.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esqjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in a Banyan Suite on the 10th floor with a lovely view of... the Embassy Suites across the street. The exterior looks okay, but the interior and especially the rooms leave a LOT to be desired. Rooms are in serious need of an update. We will never, ever stay at the Imperial again. There are many other condo-style accommodations in Waikiki. It will be well worth it to pay a bit extra per night than this place. We didn't take advantage of the kitchenette as we only used the room to sleep and get ready since it was so disgusting and uninspiring. This place was a big wrinkle in an otherwise awesome vacation.

PROS:
- The front desk and valet staff were very nice, attentive, professional, and knowledgeable.
- ABC Store downstairs.
- 27th floor pool deck was decent.
- Location: It's close to A beach. (Not the best section of Waikiki Beach though.)

CONS:
- When we walked in, we thought it was Golden Girls, but had not been updated since 1987! The green carpeting was old, gross, and faded near the windows. Oh yeah, it was coming up from the walls where the staff has pulled up the carpet to stuff electric cords down there. Isn't that illegal or against some code? The wicker furniture was equally gross, uncomfortable, and in need of an update.
- The bathroom was TINY! It made me think I was in an RV. You could use the toilet and wash your hands at the same time. Oh yeah, the "dusty rose" color of the toilet was equally 1987, but hey, it worked. The wallpaper was so outdated. How much would it cost to replace that?!
- The bedroom had a hard double bed. You will probably have to walk sideways to get around it and in to the main area of the bedroom. There is about a foot of clearance between the bed and the wall. It just doesn't seem right.
- Being on the 10th floor affords no views. Our unit was also on the Lewers side, so we got street noise (with sliding doors closed) from trash trucks and their back up beeps early in the morning. Noise from drunk patrons at Yard House at the mall (Beach Walk) across the street was also annoying.
- Location. You will be in the middle of the outdoor mall on Lewers Street, full of mainland chains and nothing of interest. I can go to Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, and Yard House back home... The beach closest to Imperial is in front of the Outrigger Reef. It's not the best part of Waikiki - kind of the outskirts in my opinion.
- Hot tubs. We visited the hot tubs and felt like it was a temporary location. There are two backyard style hot tubs on some random patio with ugly/ghetto green awnings. Oh yeah, the hotel workers take their breaks and smoke just below the 3rd floor hot tub area, so you get some great secondhand smoke with your tradewinds.

Don't do it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryan120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Rust and mold in the bathrooms! This place iis disgusting; and of course " they"re 100% full". This property does not belong in RCI.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KELizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

The hotel itself is nothing to write home about, but the location can't be beat. We stayed in a 1 bedroom/ 2 bathroom timeshare suite a while back. It had a full kitchen, pullout sofa bed and a murphy bed in the living room. First time sleeping on a murphy bed, and it was an interesting experience, but I digress. It was touted as "sleep 6" comfortably, but I was surprised at how small the unit was. It was a challenge staying a whole week with spouse, two young kids and the IN-LAWS (!).
To top it off, there was a lot of construction going on in and around the building. We actually had workers ON/ IN our lanai doing some kind of work the whole time we were there. Since it was Spring Break and the hotel was completely sold out, the management couldn't switch rooms for us. Needless to say, that was a bummer.
The great location of the property made up for all the negatives. It was very convenient to the beach, the bus stop, and shopping. There's also an ABC store right next door. The view from the owner's lounge was great but the rooftop pool was meh. We're going back to Oahu in a couple of weeks, but don't think we'll be back to the Imperial of Waikiki.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Ask to be away from the Lewers Street if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawaii50Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is all about the location, it is right in the best area. The rooms are very small and not the cleanest around. If this was not a time share exchange there is no way I would pay for a stay. The bar at the top of the hotel was very nice with a great view. I had a king room that had a very small bedroom, the hotel agreed to move us, this room had two twin beds with more space. If you are looking for a hotel right in the mix this is it, GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: Quality or Location, what are your needs?? Location>yes or Quality>no.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Marcellus J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Parc Hotel
Waikiki Parc Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
1,514 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki

Property: The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki
Address: 205 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1939
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha! Mahalo for considering The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki. We are conveniently located in the epicenter of Waikiki and are steps away from the famous Waikiki Beach. We are surrounded by shops and restaurants for you to browse and enjoy. We know you will enjoy your visit, and are looking forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Imperial Hawaii Resort at Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
The Imperial Hawaii Hotel
Hawaii Imperial
Imperial Hawaii Honolulu
Imperial Waikiki
Imperial Hotel Waikiki
Imperial Of Waikiki
The Imperial Hawaii Resort At Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing