We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff and Courtni”
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best staff and Courtni”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

There is nothing better in your holiday hotel than to feel like home. The ilima has a perfect location, is clean and the reason I really recommend is because of the staff. they all friendly ,are helpful suggesting restaurants and beaches where to go...And above all , a lady called Courtni who helped me with her profesionalism. It is a pleasure the behaviour she had with us and because of this we will come back. I wish all the hotels would have an staff that does her job with interest and tries to do it better everyday. ingrid

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barcinonova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    453
    87
    30
    13
See reviews for
343
296
58
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

If you are looking for a spacious room with a kitchen then this is your place. The free parking is quite the added bonus. We stayed 7 nights & never had a problem finding a place to park. We had a room on the 12th floor overlooking the Ala Wai canal & the mountains. Loved waking up to that view every morning & eating our breakfast on the balcony. We've never been to Hawaii so don't know if it's always like this, but we never had to use the AC. There was a constant breeze & no humidity or bugs. Every night we kept the sliding glass door open several inches & it was very comfortable & quiet! It's a very short, easy walk to the beach.

Other people have mentioned Food Pantry & Foodland, but if you have a car there is a nice, large grocery store called Safeway on Kapahulu that's very near.

We didn't have to ask the staff for anything so I can't comment, but someone was always there and they all seemed rather pleasant. We didn't use the pool or the workout equip so can't comment on that.

My husband & I had a very good time and would definitely stay at the Ilima again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trave-LVN-Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in a studio room in the Ilima Hotel for three nights in August 2010. The room was spacious (about 540 square feet) and included a kitchenette, with dishes and a full-sized refrigerator. Parking is free in the hotel's parking garage. The employee at the front desk said it sometimes gets full, but while we were there, there was an abundance of available parking spaces. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and shops in Waikiki; you need only walk a short half-block to get to a street full of them. Traffic can be extremely slow in that area, so if you are going a short distance, walking or the bus is probably faster. Although we could hear traffic during the day, it was sufficiently quiet to sleep at night. The hotel lends guests free towels and beach mats to take to the beach. Nothing stands out as unusually wonderful about the Ilima, but on the other hand, we have absolutely no complaints either. We would happily stay there again, especially for the relatively low price (compared to similar hotels in the area).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ita360
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Overall good hotel.
Bad: Beds are not the best. Not saggy but it is basically fabric then the springs. C-
Hotel is clean but kind of tired. For instance, the part of the door (on top) that keeps the door from slamming was broken. So to open the door we had to push it up otherwise it blocked the door and we couldn't open it enough to get out. It took telling staff 3 times to fix it. Also while hotel staff are friendly they are not overly knowledgeable. For example, the enterprise across the street was sold out so we asked where we could get a rental car and the lady at the reception desk said she didn't know. I find it strange that you work in a hotel and only know one rental car location. (perhaps it was because it was the night clerk? but still...
The good: location + price. 3 blocks from the beach for around $110 is pretty hard to beat. The hotel is very CLEAN as well as very quiet (very important for me). Close to food and grocery stores. Has a full kitchen (helps in keeping costs down). Parking is free but not exactly plentiful. Washer/dryers on site. Hotel provides beach towels and straw mats. Also there was one man at the front desk who was helpful. When asking him for a suggestion for an authentic sushi place he didn't know but called his wife on the spot for her suggestion. A special thanks to the wife. Side bar suggestion...go to food pantry (I think that's the name.) It is a real grocery store and much cheaper than ABC. They also sell snorkle gear. We got ours on sale for $6 much less than renting for a day.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ita360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Had a great stay at the Ilima Hotel stayed from the 3rd of August to the 16th of Aug.Check in was so good as we arrived at about 9 15am and our room was ready.We had a studio room on the 11th floor great view of the canal and mountains and heaps private no other building in front or at the sides looking in our room.Ask for room 1107 best room full size fridge great kitchen ,only thing was no coffee or tea supplied so bring your own.Had a king size bed and double bed so comfy the beds,clean shower and bathroom plenty of room to place toiletries and big draws and wardrobes to pack clothes in and store bags away.Had problems with the tv stations not tuned in probably,did report it but nothing done about it,but hey we didnt go to Honolulu to watch tv!! Staff friendly, and we used the pool most days, only ones in it so we had it to ourselves every day.Went to the free lei making class and that was fun nice teacher June who told us a bit of history about the Kuikui nut, if you are from OZY BE WARNED THEY TAKE THESE SHELL AND NUT LEIS OFF YOU UNLESS YOU HAVE A DOCUMENT TO say they have been fumigated, same with Plumeria cuttings that you can get from the ABC shops,because we had made these Leis ourselves we paid for them to be fumigated $30 by customs and they sent them back to us.The hotel is in a nice quiet area in walking distance to everything. The Pantry is a close walk to the Ilima to get Groceries ,if you want to shop where the locals go and its a bit cheaper go to Foodland at the end of Kalakaua av going towards the hawaii convention centre next to the morman chapel great goceries there.,short drive by car.Loved the Ilima not crowded Ohana feel about the Hotel and reasonable price too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We booked a Studio rm overlooking the Alai Wai Canal. The view is peaceful and lovely,overlooking the mountains. The location is about 10mins from the beach. The Intn'l market is a short walk. Very close to the shopping area which is parallel to the beach. All high priced designer stores. Beach is crowded. The beach near the Outrigger hotel , is less crowded.
Room was very spacious. Beds were made daily and linens changed daily. However the bathroom needs to be updated. The bath tub is in dire need of a good scrub and is yellow from lack of cleaning. The sink also appeared uncleaned It does not appear that cleaning agents were ever used.
The shower head was faulty. The kitchenette was properly stocked with necessary utensils and fully equipped with cutting board etc. Coffee was provided for the first day and then after that you have buy it. The stove and microwave worked well. We let the front desk know that kitchnette floor needed to be mopped after the 3 days. They obliged. The carpet was not cleaned daily ; bits of paper etc stayed in the same place.
Housekeeping needs to be worked on!
The room has an electronic safe which was charged per day . However, beware that the safe failed to lock. We contacted the front desk and they sent up the resident expert and he tried his best. Apparently there is only ONE GUY WHO SERVICES 'EL SAFE' and were told he was 'probably ' in Maui /Nevada/La/ Las Vegas. Guests beware of the faulty safe. Front desk canceled charges on the use of the safe. Staff is courteous and front desk very obliging. Overall I'd rate this hotel 5 for it's location , kitchenette, and roomy Studio which accomodated 3 people very comfortably. Drawback : Sloppy Housekeeping and Safe -unreliable.
There were 3 other rooms whose safes didn't work and we all stored our important docs in the front desk safe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen007toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

After much research for a hotel for my Hawaii trip, I went with Ilima after seeing consistently good reviews on this website and others. It was the only one that was constantly highly rated and within my price range.

The service was good. We were greeted upon our arrival and taken care of immediately. Booked the room through Expedia and paid for it advance. The room was a studio with 2 beds and a kitchen. It was one step above the cheapest room. The hotel is in good condition but make no mistake, the style is 20-30 years ago. Everything looks old but I don't mind that since the price was much better than the other hotels in the area.

The room had all the amenities you could ask for and a new 32 inch lcd TV. Note: the TV they had in our room was a Sharp designed to integrate the hotel video software for PPV and such. They locked out all the inputs to the TV so you CANNOT hook up your laptop to the TV, or a DVD player or a ps3 or anything for that matter. That's a big disappointment for me because I wanted to use Redbox and my laptop to watch movies at night but no go. Had to use my laptop. On the plus you do get free wired internet in the room. Although it is painfully slow compared to any decent cable connection. Around 750kbps or so. So you can't use it for netflix or hulu or youtube most of the time.

Other than the technology, the room was nice. It had plenty of room and the kitchen made breakfast very easy while on vacation. The AC was a window unit with a remote, there is no central air. The hotel had a pool that was very small but I didn't use it.

On to the free parking: it's available but with a few caveats. It gets filled up fast and it's really cramped. It has some of the smallest parking spots I've seen anywhere outside of Europe or Asia. Big surprise for Americans used to plenty of room. I had a convertible which was not that big and it was still a pain to park. Don't even think about bringing a Suburban or Deville in there. Minivans do alright. The lot will fill up around 9pm or so. So plan ahead. Weekends are even worse. We came back from a late dinner on Fri night and the lot was completely full. The staff was helpful and gave us a map showing all the lots available to us. We were able to find 2 that were around $7-8 for overnight. One is a public pay lot across the street and the other was the Waikiki Trade Center that has $7 for 10 hours when prepaid. The latter was about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. But no other hotels have free parking around there and street parking is impossible. All the good spots get filled up by employees working in the area.

Good:
Cleanliness
Location
Service

Bad:
Small parking lot gets filled up fast
TV inputs locked out so you can't watch your own content on their TV

Other than that I would say it was an overall good experience. I know I'm being picky about the parking and TV but those were the only flaws in an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi_Traveller1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
472 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
586 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,834 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing