We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgecrest, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I used to be a resident of Oahu and stayed here before starting my new job overseas. It is a wonderful place, but kind of dated. This is the best value in all of Oahu and especially tourist town Waikiki. They offer free internet, parking, and laundry facilities. Also they are close proximity to the beach and Kalakaua Ave., which is the main strip in Waikiki with street performers. The rooms are large and spacious with 2 queen beds, kitchenette with plates/utentsils/toaster, etc. Also they have a 32" flat panel tv with decent amount of channels. The best view rooms in my opinion overlook the golf course across from the Ala Wai Canal and towards the mountains. It is also convenient if you like to avoid having to drive after partying it up downtown and a decent walk back to the hotel. It might be dated, but it is always clean. The A/C works and it also has a lani to sit on and drink coffee, which you'll have to purchase at the store. I have stayed here at least twice a year, every time I manage to get vacation to visit friends still residing on the island. Great place and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ademarco6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    452
    85
    30
    13
See reviews for
339
295
58
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Ilima is a great hotel! Not only did I get a great rate with them, but the hotel is very comfortable.
The front desk staff is very professional, but very personable. They take care of everything in a very timely matter. The housekeeping staff is quiet, yet very efficient.
The "studio" that we got was very spacious. Instead of the elongated room that you get, we had a large square room. There was plenty of room for the three of us to move around. You get a great kitchenette. Stove, oven, microwave, refrigerator and a table. Their room safes can hold laptops, which very few hotels have.
You cannot see the ocean, but have a nice big balcony with 2 chairs and a table.
They have a sunroom on the 10th floor and a pool on the lower level.
It is closer to the canal rather than the ocean, but a short walk to the beach, grocery, etc. Everything is within walking distance.
They have free parking under the hotel if you bring a car.
I was definitely pleased with our choice and would definitely choose them again.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank desertrats3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, CO
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Was here for 7 nights on a business trip. Comfortable bed, HDtv is nice, kitchen saves you money on eating out for meals (has pots and pans, etc - no coffee or coffee filters, bring those with you) and ethernet cable internet for free. Parking lot is free on first come basis, I always got a spot. Staff is very friendly, plays music on Fridays. Only problem I had was electronic door lock stopped working, guy came and replaced it.

Typical Waikiki big city noises, sirens, traffic and the morning trash trucks can't be avoided. Turn the a/c on for a fan to block that. Did enjoy the wall of windows with a sliding door onto the lanai - had north view of canal, golf course and mountains.

About 3 blocks to the Waikiki beach, if you head straight for it you'll come out next to the pink palace. Location of hotel is near center of Waikiki so it has plenty of shopping and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gsellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We returned yesterday to Winnipeg Manitoba Canada after a wonderful 2 week stay at the Ilima Hotel. There are no words to properly describe the whole wonderful staff in this hotel. We have travelled extensively and have never stayed in a hotel that has such helpful staff. Need a wine bottle opener..they have it; need to weigh your luggage......they have it; need local information.....they know it; want to learn to make your own shell lei....they do that too. I could go on and on.
We were there at the time of the tsunami threat and the hotel staff was absolutely marvelous in calming any fears that we may have had. They handled the whole situation very professionally.
The rooms are huge and very comfortable. They were always well cleaned for you. There is only one very tiny need in the room that I would mention. The kitchen cupboards could use a coat of paint inside but mine need it too!
I would definitely stay there again if we are fortunate to be able to return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Teresa049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

The Ilima is in Waikiki, two blocks from the beach, one block from many bus routes, three blocks from a supermarket. We had a room with a mountain view from the balcony.

_Big_ room, full stove and kitchen with nice dishes and pots and full-size fridge. And high-speed free Internet. We booked online, and got an excellent price.

The pool and exercise room are small, and the lobby isn't impressive. But the staff is helpful, and there's a big lending library for guests.

We'll stay here the next time we're in Hawaii. It had everything we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Low-budget-Chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2010

I love to come back next time and highly recommended to friends and family.
The room were clean with two full size bed, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, microwave and LCD TV? Great for cooking your own food... and guess what it has full kitchen utensil, plates and even have toaster?
Our bed was located near the lanai with cool breeze of Hawaian air.
We will be coming back again for sure, great staff too, friendly>
One BIG thing.... FREE PARKING ! Thats the best hotel ever in Hawaii?
Keep up the good works...
Philip and Estrellita Wayne
339 N. Rampart Blvd.
Los Angeles, CA. 90026
[--]
[--]

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pw2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
794 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I've stayed here before and the experiences are always positive. As another reviewer said, this hotel is comfortable, clean, and convenient. It is very well maintained with nice little touches in the rooms - like velcro to hold the light-blocking drapes to the wall. The rooms are big with a full wall of windows. The lanais are big enough to use. The beds are excellent, rooms are quiet, and kitchens are well-stocked. Free DSL was a happy find this trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
571 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
1,819 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
#52 of 84 in Honolulu
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing