We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to International Market and Waikiki Beach”
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel close to International Market and the famous of Waikiki Beach,Honolulu within walking distant about 5 minute.
You can play Ping-pong inside the room, even though with 2 queen beds but still plenty room. The hotel look old but clean and highly maintain, that's why the room so big.

Barely see the hotel staff and I don't know friendly or not friendly because we use back door, use elevator and straight to our room.
I really don't want to mention about the hotel STAFF PHOTO COPY my ID/ Driver License and I don't know if that's WITHIN HOTEL POLICY or not but I stayed in many hotel and they've never taken my ID to the back room and make a photo copy.
Other than that everything just perfect experience vacation.
You have to pay to use safety box in room and big enough to put every gadget you have in.

Room Tip: Overlook Canal, so you can see Sunrise, Full Moon and City Mountain day and night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalan2lagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (939)
There are newer reviews for Ilima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

230 - 236 of 939 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, this ain't for you. The room are clean and much bigger than the Hyatt Regency. It's one block from the famous Waikiki Beach and it's right smack in the center of Waikiki.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We went to Hawaii as a baby friendly destination before my wife went back to work from maternity leave.

Let's start with the good:

Price per night is better value than many of the other options.
Ilima were accommodating, arranging a crib for our baby.
Rooms, while dated, did have a fully equipped kitchen so we could re-heat any left overs and make baby formula easily, etc. As food servings are huge in Hawaii we had a lot of left overs but back to the hotel review...
Location is great, just 3min walk down Nohonani St to the main beach side strip on Kalakaua Ave. Lots of good places to eat or get a coffee close by.
Swimming pool is adequately sized and well maintained.
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Free wifi is very handy.
My wife loved the free Lei making class

What could be improved:

As mentioned earlier, rooms do look dated but that is Honolulu as it is an older city.
Gym is tiny, hardly a gym at all as it's just a treadmill and bike in a tiny room.
You will get charged a daily fee for using the safe which is inclusive in most other places.
Air conditioner was loud.

Some bad reviews are probably due to the 80's furnishings but for our purpose of having a baby friendly hotel that was clean, conveniently located, not overly expensive and with friendly staff then Ilima was the obvious choice.
If you want a 5 star beach front hotel then go with the bigger named chains and pay at least twice as much per night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JenAndDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Spent 7 days at this property on our visit to Honolulu. We wanted a room with kitchen as we couldn't eat out for 7 days.

The place was quite reasonable for the price, it's just a short walk to the beach. On the way to the beach is the market to under the giant banyan tree which is cool. The markets around the area are bustlling with activities and it's fun to hang out on the kalakaua street which has some really high end retail outlets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentCATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Enjoyed our time at the Ilima. The full kitchen in the room was very useful, although we did not use the stove. It was fully equipped had we decided to cook. Instead, we just used the refrigerator and microwave for leftovers and snacks. We enjoyed the Friday night fireworks from the 10th floor sundeck thanks to a staff recommendation. Can't praise the staff enough--they were always friendly and willing to answer questions and give directions. Room was very clean.
Our fourth floor room had a lanai, but was too low to have a view. Two blocks got you to the beach and there was a street type market through Duke's Lane on the way to the beach. Bus stop was one and a half blocks away in front of the Food Pantry where we picked up water, snacks, etc. Our grandson and I enjoyed making the nut leis. That is a very nice amenity, and free. We thought we got a good rate for our room and were very satisfied with our stay. Would definitely stay again if we have the opportunity to return. We met a lady while making leis who told us she had been coming to Honolulu annually for 27 years and had always stayed at the Ilima. That speaks very well for their staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunbeltmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as we arrived one day early for our 8 day vacation at our time share property.
The staff were very friendly, the room was spacious and the parking free. Although the bed was uncomfortable (a personal preference), and the room was dated I would still give it four stars.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank billykidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

I had very comfortable stay for 6 days at Ilima Hotel. I stayed at a studio room. The room facing to the mountains on the 8th floor was very spacious. The room was equipped with nice kitchen . The kitchen has an oven ,a microwave oven, a big refrigerator and 4 cooking heater, dishes, cups and so on. The bath room is also good , equipped with full sized bath tub.
The swimming pool located back side of the hotel building is not big, but its good point to mention is that the water is heated up comfortable temperature in winter time. I felt the hotel building itself is old but well-maintained. The laundry machines are available in the hotel. Location is very convenient but quiet. The hotel staffs are nice and friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank 勢津子 藤
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
543 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
Waikiki Sand Villa Hotel
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
1,493 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $155 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing