We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilima Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 6 days. It is located near busy Kuhio Ave, where many buses pass by. We took the buses to airport, aquarium, bishop museum, downtown, Ala Moana, etc. Very convenient and save on taxi fares. Canal view is nice, but ask for full view, because there are rooms that have full view, and there are rooms like ours that can only see a small portion of the canal. I didn't specify clearly, so can't blame them. The room has an adequate kitchen, but a few items were missing. Also some cutleries are a bit old. Once sofa bed is opened, the living room does not have much space for walking. There is a laundry basket provided, and it was very helpful to me for collecting the clothes at their coin-operated washer and dryer at the P3 level. Maid service was daily and good, clearing our rubbish and food waste promptly. They also have a pool, and a fitness room with a treadmill, a bicycle and a sauna room. I like the cultural activities such as staff singing and lei making that they organized. There is also a vending machine and a tour desk in the lobby. The front desk staff were professional and helpful, but I disagree that everyone is friendly. Some can do better with a smile and greeting when guests pass by. But what stand out is still its location, walking distance to many eateries, shops, international market, beach, etc. Yet far away to have a quiet environment. I would recommend this hotel for families on holiday.

Room Tip: Room with FULL canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    443
    86
    29
    13
See reviews for
334
291
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was absolutely disgusting. It was for layover and got there after midnight so didn't have a choice otherwise I would just take off. I picked it because of free parking, but of course arriving this late there was no parking. Ended up parking on the street and getting up early for meter parking. Inside of room has nasty order and everything is just old. We were afraid to touch anything. The last time we had to stay place like this was old motel in hollywood after partying, that was 20 years ago! One good thing about this place is front desk lady, she was so nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights before we went on a cruise around the islands on NCL's Pride of America. I would highly recommend both the hotel and the cruise to anyone!

I requested a good view when I booked the hotel online, and they gave us one -- the 16th floor facing the ocean. Granted, Ilima is a few blocks back from the beach and there are a lot of huge buildings in the way, but you could see the water and sunset/sunrise perfectly. We loved hanging out on the balcony. The decor and furnishings are very 60s/70s (for instance, the balcony floors are hot pink) but they were half the charm of the place. The hotel's kitchenettes allow you to cook for yourself, and there is a Food Pantry a few blocks away for groceries. There's also a laundry room available.

People who want to save money, don't require many frills, like to be left alone by staff and want to be within walking distance of all the great restaurants and shopping in Waikiki will love this place just as much as we did!

Room Tip: You want a room on the higher floors -- they are worth paying a little extra for a quieter stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ilima for 9 nights. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. We had a moderate studio with two beds and a kitchenette. Our room was very spacious. We were on the 6th floor. We had a lanai where we could go out and sit. Rooms were very clean. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit. Having a kitchenette really saved us money on food as it is expensive to eat out. We were two blocks from the beach and shopping. Great location.

Room Tip: A moderate studio will sleep 3-4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I only stayed on Oahu for 1 night and didn't need anything fancy.

I paid $125+tax.
For the price, I was expecting
1. stains on blankets, sheets, pillows
2. sticky tables, chairs, etc
3. dirty bathroom
4. weird smells in room.

And my expectations were all right. But that's fine. Like I said, I just stayed 1 night.

On the upside, the staff were all really nice and helpful.
Also the location is super convenient.

Would stay here again if I only needed to crash for 1 night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowing_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
162 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Friendly hotel in a quiet side street of the main throughfare of Waikiki: close to shops and beaches.
Very spacious rooms with fully equipped kitchen. Although a coffe machine is provided, no coffee, creamer, Sugar etc. is provided (as is yet the case in most other hotels).
The special attraction of this hotel is the fact that free parking space is available. Early November sufficient lots were available, but that may be different in high season.
Although still pretty stiff, the room rate was quite compitative for Honolulu (especially considering free parking).

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

The only two good things about this hotel were the staff and the location. The staff is extremely friendly, and you can't beat being a 10 minute walk from the heart of Waikiki. Beyond that, this hotel was a huge letdown. Our room smelled musty, and even after leaving the window open for hours, the room still smelled awful. I mentioned this to the front desk, and they offered to change rooms but this new room also smelled just as bad. I have read other reviews that mentioned other guests staying in musty rooms so this issue obviously has not been addressed. The bed was like a rock, one of the most uncomfortable beds I've ever slept on. It was not possible to get a good nights sleep. The whole hotel is very dated, and the rooms are disgusting. The bathroom is all white and feels like an operating room, while the bedroom has peeling wallpaper and visible mold. This was a cheap place to stay, and now I know why. I would NEVER recommend anyone stay here unless the hotel does a complete remodel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#15 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing