We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ilima Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
Pearl Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveler rating
372
464
97
30
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
464
97
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenthe ala wai canaldeluxe studiowaikiki beachfood pantrytwo blockslei making classrooms are hugequiet streetbeach matsbit datedolder hotelguest laundryother hotelssmall poolcoffee makerlaundry facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 976 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Probably, it is not only in this hotel, but in general in Honolulu that the well-known Aloha spirit is missing. We did not feel welcome when we checked in ilima. We could have got a smile, since we paid money, couldn't we?
The furniture was of 80-s style, but that was fine, as it made us feel as if we appeared in old good time when movies about Hawaii were made.
The room was clean. The air conditioner was rather old and noisy. When we turned it off and opened windows, the noise of cars serenes was not any better.
Location was good and it took us about 10 minutes to get to Waikiki beach and a couple of minutes - to city souvenirs market.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whtver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I needed two reasonably priced rooms and booked this based on Tripadvisors reviews and wasn't disappointed at all. Sure, it isn't 5 stars, but for the price and location you really can't beat it. Rooms are spacious and clean. We got views of the Ali Wai Canal, golf course and mountains which could not have been any better. Rooms are a tad worn, but being one block from the International Market place and 2 blocks from center of Waikiki and the beach make up for it. The street that the hotel is located on is quiet during the day, but the evenings along with Kuhio Ave tend to get a tad seedy since there is a local tavern and tons of tourist, but we never felt unsafe. Bathrooms looked renovated. Rooms included full refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, cook ware and utensils. Staff was pleasant and helpful. The only downside would be the small pool and it is an older property but well maintained. Starbucks and Denny's was one block from hotel plus convenience store on same block. Foodland Supermarket was 2 blocks from hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Alai Canal and mountains.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimglaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We thought we were being smart by trying to save money by booking a hotel that was a few dollars cheaper per night than more reputable and more recently refurbished hotels. We were wrong.

It just wasnt worth it. The entirety of the hotel gave off this dingy, grimy feeling that never really allowed us to be comfortable. The rooms were an ok size but desperately need updating. We were hoping to take advantage of the free parking but found that it was almost impossible to get a spot! We ended up just going to a pay lot a few blocks away because we just didn't want to bother with it anymore.

The staff were somewhat nice but mostly just seemed bored and uninterested - I feel that sums up the hotel. Shabby and rundown and not any real value.

We would not recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParkYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were in HNL for 6 days rather than the initially expected 2 days and were glad we had picked the Ilima. It is near the canal rather than the beach but conveniently close to restaurants, food stores and transport. Our 16th floor room had a good outlook, was large and had a full kitchen. Kitchen cupboards were old but most appliances fairly new making it easy for us to eat in when we wanted. We also appreciated the good guest laundry and helpful staff. Very good value for Waikiki.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better outlook
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I flew in late and needed a cheaper place to stay before we drove up to the north shore the next day. Hotel was in a good location and clean. It's a little outdated and needs some new beds but it had what we needed. It would be a good place to stay if you were in Honolulu for a while as the rooms have full kitchens in them.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews