We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great value in HI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value in HI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A group of friends on a budget shared a two bedroom suite. The beds were comfortable including the Murphy bed in the living room. There was a kitchenette, clean bathroom and even a lanai. The AC was old school but pumped cold air once it kicked up. The suite is spacious but the style is "retro". The hotel could use a facelift but it was clean, affordable and well-located. Walking distance to restaurants, the International outdoor market and Waikiki beach, The Ilima is a great bargain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelnomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    410
    74
    29
    12
See reviews for
303
274
51
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

The front end staff are excellent and very helpful. The room was very clean and huge. We stayed in the deluxe suite with a full kitchen and were very impressed with the dishes and stuff they supplied. They even had a jug of ice water in the fridge waiting for us. The hotel is not on the beech but only a short 5-10 min walk. Very close to the international market. All in all a great experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First visit to Honolulu. Looked for a hotel in Waikiki with free parking and free internet. This was one of only two that came up. Very spacious room with two queen beds, on the ninth floor.

Great kitchenette with full size fridge, four burner stove, microwave, and all the cooking utensils we needed. Very pleased.

The rooms have hard-wired internet only. For wireless access you need to be in the lobby. No problem for us, we just plugged in the internet cable that was in the room into our netbook.

Might have been a little bit of noise outside late at night... but that's what we get for keeping the patio door open.

You get one free coffee packet the first day. After that you need to pay $1 for a coffee package from the Kauai Coffee Company (we later went to the Kauai Coffee Company in Kauai, and found they were selling the same for $1.50).

As for cost... not bad. Can't complain. Paid for four nights, had the fifth free (they had a promo going on; might be an ongoing promo).

Very clean and within 5 minutes walking distance to Waikiki beach.

Parking was limited, but we had no trouble finding parking each night we were there in late January.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman_H_YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Woke up at 4 am and couldn't get back to sleep so here I am....
This hotel was perfect for our purposes. We flew into Honolulu yesterday morning and are leaving on the Pride of America cruise this afternoon. We wanted a place in Waikiki to stay in Waikiki last night. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach and all the stores in Waikiki. A 5 minute walk to the Magic of Polynesia show which we saw last night (a must see!). The price is right, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the parking is free if you arrive early enough in the day to get a spot.
The only downside is wifi is free but only available in the lobby, but they said they are planning to have it available in the rooms next month.
No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was quite large. I'm not sure if they are all large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CruisingFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family stayed here (suite803, 2bdrm superior suite) for 1 week in late January. It was everything that was expected.
~ price $220/nt (reserved online, using the 'hot deals' option)
~ location was great! Virtually steps away from the international market and very close to good eats! Food pantry was 2 blocks away. Downside was that we heard sirens, garbage trucks, tire squeals every night. That's the price for being in the heart of Waikiki.
~ free parking. We always found a parking spot but they are a tight squeeze so I wouldn't recommend renting anything larger than a mid-size car.
~ spacious! 770 sq ft apartment with all the kitchen amenities! Air conditioning in bedrooms and living room
~ our balcony looked out to Nohonani street but turning right there was a beautiful view of the canal and the mountains
~ friendly staff was available 24hr/day. We had late check-in and early check-out. There was always a friendly person to help.
~ coin laundry ($1.50 washer/ $1.25 dryer) there was a clothes basket for use in our room too! How thoughtful!
~ small pool and gym looked nice but I didn't use them
~ beds were comfortable but if you could bring your own sheets it would be recommended
~ free plug for internet. I brought my own wifi router and had internet. If not, you can go to the lobby to use the wi-fi
Everything was clean and comfortable. If they would just do some maintenance like de-scale the lime on the shower head or repaint the bubbling walls it would be perfect.

Room Tip: bring a wifi router
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UBooboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

When my wife and I were planning our first-trip ever to Hawaii, we began looking for hotels and our first stop was Honolulu. We wanted to stay near Waikiki Beach but we didn't want to pay the exorbitant prices for the hotels on the Beach. A cousin recommended the Ilima Hotel and it was right-on. It was a perfect place for us. A block and a half from the Beach and very close to all the specialty shops and restaurants on the Beach. We had a car and the proximity of the hotel to Pearl Harbor, Diamondhead and the main route of H-!, made it very easy to get to. And, the parking at the hotel was free!!! The room was very big as it had a kitchen along with a table and chairs...There was also a very nice deck off our room so we were able to sit and have breakfast...The staff couldnt have been nicer especially assistant manager Jay. He was there to give us tips of where to eat and how to get to the places we wanted to see. And, he always had the right map for us...There was also a coin-op washer and dryer so we were able to do our laundry...They also had a small business center so, for a slight charge, I was able to print up some emails I received...If you are looking for a hotel in Honolulu that is convenient and reasonable with a wonderful, helpful staff, don't go any further than the Hotel Ilima.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bostontraveler215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I spent a couple of nights in room 1207 (a Studio Deluxe) in early January. For $140 a night, you won't find a better hotel room in Honolulu during that time of the year. Just make sure you book from their website and select "Hot Deals" from the drop-down menu when getting a rate. Their Superior Studios (one notch down from my room) go for $130 a night and if you find availability for 5 straight nights, you'll get the 5th night free - which works out to an unbelievable $104 a night!
The hotel itself is very well located, the staff is kind and efficient, and rooms are clean, functional and quiet. The only noise I heard was due to the wind - my room was facing the Ala Wai Canal and the mountains, and although the view was amazing (rapidly moving clouds and frequent rainbows), it did get noisy at times with the trade winds constantly blowing.
My lanai was really nice, with two comfortable chairs and a small coffe table. All rooms come with an HD 32-inch LCD television with lots of channels and excellent reception.
The hotel has two elevators and unlike some other (larger) hotels in Honolulu, you won't have to wait forever for an elevator. There is no pool at the hotel but the beach is only a 10-minute walk away. Reception staff will provide you with complimentary beach towels and you will find free wired Internet (ethernet cable provided) in the rooms. I carry my own pocket wireless router and was able to easily set up a wireless connection in my room (otherwise they have free wireless in the lobby).
No breakfast is provided but all studios come with a kitchenette, and I was able to buy everything I was looking for from the Food Pantry grocery store on Kuhio, a 5-minute walk from the hotel. The Food Pantry is well stocked, has competitive prices and houses an excellent prepared foods section (including fresh sushi and a small Japanese food counter) by the entrance. And don't forget the amazing udon place (Marukame Udon) which is right around the corner from the hotel on Kuhio Ave. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#21 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#34 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#23 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing