We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Hotel and value for Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Hotel and value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed from January 17, 2013 until January 20, 2013.
The front desk was extremely helpful and pleasant.
The lobby and common areas were clean and very functional.
The bedroom was very large and comfortable. We had 2 double beds a nice bathroom and a kitchen area.
The hotel is very central and if you want a vacation hotel that is not part of the large impersonal chains then this is a place for you and your family. We met guests who have been coming annually for in excess of 20 years
It is good value and we would stay there again. WE recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank basil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    417
    78
    29
    13
See reviews for
309
280
52
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed at the Ilima Hotel in the beginning of October. We took a cruise around the islands on Norwegian Cruise Lines We actually stayed here four nights before our cruise and returned for two nights after our cruise.
The Ilima hotel is not a luxury hotel. I think some people expect a little too much considering the reasonable price paid ($139/night) for a hotel two blocks from Waikiki beach. It was reasonably clean and the staff cleaned the room every day, providing fresh linens. The front desk staff was always helpful and pleasant.
The full kitchen was great. We ate most of our meals in the room, buying food at the local Safeway or at a seafood fish market. It’s a great way to save time and money. We did have a car, which is the only way to really get around Oahu. There is free parking at the hotel which consists of the lower three floors of the hotel, as a parking garage. We didn’t have any problems finding a parking spot, but, I could see how that could be challenging at night.
One room was facing Waikiki beach, however, you really can’t see the water from the balcony, even on the upper floor of the hotel. The view is pretty much, the tops of buildings. The second room overlooked the Ala Wai canal and golf course. You could see the beautiful hills from the balcony. The view is much better on the east side, but the traffic noise seems to be louder.
We walked to the beach daily, its about two blocks. Sunset from the beach is not to be missed. There are small shops every where in the beach area that range from extremely expensive to very reasonable. When visiting tourist sites in downtown Honolulu we took the bus as parking is non existent or very expensive. We used the car to visit the rest of the island.
The room pictures included in many reviews is very accurate as to what the rooms are actually like. All in all I have no complaints about our stay at the Ilima hotel and I would definitely stay there again when I revisit.

Room Tip: Choose the east side overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazuza2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I tried this hotel because someone I know liked it a lot and highly recommended it. I have to say I am disappointed and was expecting more. Ilima Hotel is not rundown but all it really need is cosmetic updating of the room and bathroom. The rooms are spacious with a kitchen, table and chairs so it is good for a couple or small family of three. The hotel does have free parking for guests but don't rent a large vehicle because the parking space is tight and it is not easy to maneuver around. In addition, parking is limited and don't be surprised if you end up having to park on the street. There is an outdoor pool but it is really for sitting and relaxing so don't expect to do laps. From the hotel, you can pretty much walk to a lot of the attractions in the area. One thing I want readers to be aware, the adjoining hotels on the block seem a bit shady and seedy so do be careful walking alone at night.

Room Tip: Balcony views towards Waikiki Beach are blocked by the other buildings. Views are unspectacular so d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The hotel is located in well known Waikiki area. We reserved a two bedroom suite. The drawback was one bathroom which is certainly not acceptable for the family of four. However staff was friendly particularly the housekeeping lady. Our toilet got clogged on which was promptly taken care of on a single phone call. We may try it next time but not surely.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafferany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed there during Christmas 2011 ,a bit outdated but everything was functional ,close to most attractions and busses. Short walk to beach and shopping ,no food available in hotel some vending machines but grocery store a few blocks away. Stove and frig. in room were adequate great for cheaper meals , staff very friendly and tours arranged in lobby by very knowledgable senior citizen . Pool not huge but good enough to cool off in, didn't use fitness center. Try to get room facing inland or on upper floors to eliminate street noise downtown side has some noisy bars nearby. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms higher and on inland side were quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kal95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Overall good bargain for stay in Waikiki area. I mean stay. If you travel with children you need a reasonable swimmingpool, witch we saw from our balcony facing to canal and mountains, however
the sun never shinedon to our balcony. The wiev is better at this side.
Rooms are nice and roomy,outdated furniture with fridge and stowe. Also plates and eating tools, basic cooking material is provided, just bring salt and pepper, they get you started. We made our breakfast everyday at room.
Prices are higher in Waikiki area, but if you rent a car, you find nice supermarkets outside. You will find that eating out in any place in Waikiki is average mininimun 20 $ with a drink, small pizza 18$.
Hotel has complementary parking, but the slots are a bit narrow so you dont want rent a big car.
Friendly staff in this hotel, cleaning everyday, so I might think coming back just for few days as a couple,
Mahalo.

Room Tip: Mountains are nicer than walls from other hotels to look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klint_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for nearly 2 weeks in a standard studio. The rooms were big, clean and comfortable. It was very handy having a kitchen and the good sized fridge stored plenty of food and drinks. We had a view of the canal and the hill behind it in the distance, which at night sparkled with lights from the houses. Close to shops, the market place, restaurants and a short walk to the beach. The pool was refreshing in the heat. The staff were very nice and helpful. The price we paid was good value and we were very happy with our stay. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kazzakiwi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,302 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,689 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
Waikiki Prince
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing