We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ilima Hotel the other Pink Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ilima Hotel the other Pink Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great staff and location: 2 blocks from beach, 1 block from International Marketplace. Good size lanai facing the beach. Nothing fancy, but everything I needed. The kitchen came in handy and it's important to save dough for souvenirs. I highly recommend making breakfast and packing lunches for daily beach trips because Oahu is expensive. Tip: bring a small cooler, Tupperware, and water canisters! There's a Food Pantry 2 blocks away where you can stock up. What I really enjoyed was the free shell/kukui nut lei making class through the hotel. There is a laundry facility on each floor. Most importantly, the hotel is clean, charming pink color, inexpensive and centrally located. I left our housekeeper a nice tip for their great service. I will definitely stay there again next time in Oahu. Mahalo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    441
    86
    29
    13
See reviews for
332
291
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arriving at the Ilima at 6:00 AM after more than 24 hours underway (8 hours wait time at Las Vegas Airport) dead tired, the check-in clerk greeted us in true gracious Hawaiian fashion and suggested that after we ate breakfast at a nearby 24 hour restaurant (Dennys), the regular daytime manager could probably let us check in at 8 AM. True to her word we got a large pleasant room with a view of the mountains and the Ala Wai Canal and golf course. The studio room with full kitchen was definitely very dated (circa 1960s), but the room was comfortable, very clean, and it soon became our happy home for the next 10 days in Honolulu. The location was very convenient; near restaurants, a super market and best of all one block to Kuhio St and buses going all over Honolulu. The kitchen was bare bones as far as kitchen amenities, e.g. there was a coffee maker but no filters or coffee, no salt or pepper shakers, no sugar. A quick 3 block walk to the supermarket got us yogurt, orange juice, milk, bananas, corn flakes and Kona coffee. We ate breakfast in the room on a daily basis, not so much to save money, but CALORIES. The stove looked like the one we had 49 years earlier in our first apartment, but we used the oven only to heat up leftover rolls and some wonderful blueberry scones. The fridge was fine, as was the microwave where we heated up our many delicious leftovers from suppers out. What was especially nice about our room was that it was on the quieter side of the hotel so the incessant noise of life in Waikiki wasn't as pronounced as at some of the fancier hotels nearer the beach where vehicular noise goes on 24 hours non-stop. We would recommend the hotel to people not expecting luxury or beachfront exotica and who are satisfied with a LARGE clean very adequate though dated hotel room. The hotel is probably not your Honeymoon dreamy romantic love nest. Housekeeping was generally great and twice when a couple towels were missing, they were supplied within minutes. We would stay there again. By the way I chose this hotel for us based on Tripadvisor guest ratings and they described the Ilima perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zebra648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is not a 5 star neither it charges you like 5 star. It's an average hotel with great helpful staff. If you are looking for a budget hotel in waikiki.. not many can compete with Ilima.

We took 2 studio rooms here. They made sure we both were together next to each other and free upgrade for 1 room. Then the service, it was spontaneous. We called room service 3-4 times during our stay. Every time, we got our stuff within 5 minutes.

They always tried to accommodate us, even with late checkouts. Helping us out with near by places.
Pros:
1)Cheap
2)Spacious rooms.
3)Full kitchen - with oven, microwave, full refrigerator and lots of utensils.
4)Free Parking - In waikiki parking is $20-$30 per day. That's a big saving.
5) Location - Waikiki is most hep place in Oahu. If you want a cheap stay in a happenning place. This is the place.
6) Extremely helpful staff.

Cons : can't think of any.

Had a wonderful stay.

Thanks to courtni/Karen(they booked our stay). Thanks to Emi, Diana they helped as us a lot during our stay.

Room Tip: We took Superior Studio with mountain/lake facing on 8th floor. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikaps14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Ilima hotel is the most wonderful place to stay in Honolulu. Good, budget prices for the largest rooms I've ever seen. SOOO clean and neat. Such a safe feeling in hallways, garage, laundry, etc. The staff, Courtni, Karen, Juliet, Dayna, Emi, Shawn, Robert, Mr. B, Sui-Ana, Eme, just to name a few, are all dedicated, and professional. The Aloha at the Ilima is strong. We added an extra week on to the 4 wks already spent there. Only peeve--not having enough parking spaces so guests feel they can come and go as they please without losing the ability to park in the hotel garage. Having to drive around in circles and then walk 2 or 3 blocks can put a damper on the evening. Paying guests should have ASSIGNED stalls for their use only. Other than that I have only the very best to say about the building, and especially the great staff at the Ilima! Mahalo nui loa to all. We'll Be Back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hillalexanderp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed @ the Ilima for 10 days with my four kids (2x19, 17,14 & 12) and one of my daughters friends. My first impression was omg..what did I get myself into but after the 1st day or so, there was no regrets. We had 2 deluxe rooms on the 15th floor facing the canal. You have to becareful though because the doors are quite heavy and if the sliding windows open you can really hurt yourself! So becareful! There is no Wifi in the rooms so you have to go down to the lobby..you get use to it after awhile but your really not there to play with your iPad. There is Internet connections in the rooms though. What was also nice is free parking! Kind of tight especially with mini van but if your a good driver like my hubby you should be ok..to be warned try to park early. If you get there after 9:00pm you maybe out of luck. You were close to the International market, Main strip and a great udon noodle place just around the corner. The staff was awesome! Especially the people at the front desk...they where so helpful and friendly and we had great conversations! The pool was quite small but that being said, my 17&14 loved it. You can't do laps but it was nice for a quick dip. We also went to a free lei making class which they provided on Wednesday am. They talked about where the nuts come from and you make necklaces. It was alot of fun and you get to take them home. How awesome is that. Please note, this is not a fancy hotel...if you want something fancy this is not the hotel for you. If you want a clean hotel with a full kitchen, free parking and close to the strip this is it but don't expect anything else. We had no regrets staying at the Ilima and we would definetly go back! Aloha!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R4lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just finished a two week stay at this hotel and can really recommend it. This is a slightly older property with an excellent location right in the heard of Waikiki. Staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment a could not fault the property for value, cleanliness and friendliness. Hope to return again next year and will definitely book to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal and mountains - we loved the view at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing