We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly suprised!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ilima Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ilima Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I had a 24-hr stopover in Honolulu on our way home to Sydney, Australia from Seattle, Washington. On our way to Seattle, we had stopped over in Honolulu for 5 days and stayed at the Aqua Aloha - while the hotel is fine, our room was quite tight. In an effort not to spend too much money, I booked at the Ilima especially because they offer free parking - a rarity in Waikiki when most hotels charge $15-$30 a night. I booked in a bit of a rush and was pleasantly surprised to find, upon checking in, that they had given us a room with two double-beds and a kitchenette! Big enough for 4 people!

The room was clean, a little bit dated, but I personally think it adds to the charm of the place. I can't review the kitchenette as we didn't use it but everything seemed to be working fine. The location is also great - out of the way of too much traffic but near enough so you can walk to where the action is.

Will definitely be booking here when planning a trip with family and friends!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdonnaSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    441
    86
    29
    13
See reviews for
332
291
57
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Older hotel but still kept in good shape. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was plenty of space for my family of 6. The suites only have 1 bathroom so that was a bit of a challenge. The suites also have a full kitchen which is good if you don't want to eat out for every meal. The location was good, just a 10 minute (at most) walk to the beach and only 1 block from the International Market Place. It seemed like there were 2000 ABC stores close enough to pick up any groceries or other items you might need. As for transportation, if you have a car the parking is free in the attached garage. If you don't have a car, the closest bus stop is 1 block away. Taxi ride to airport costs $35-40 each way and Walmart was $12-15 each way. The Hotel provides beach towels and also has some beach mats available. Hotel staff was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DHess66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I would come back and stay at this hotel again. All of the staff was absolutley wonderful. The rooms are very clean and it's in a great location in the heart of Waikiki. We took a very short walk everyday to the shops and beach.

Room Tip: Everything is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaina1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Ilima and we were not disappointed. Yes, it may need to be updated, but it was everything as advertised. We had a nice view of the ocean, and the location was perfect. The staff was very helpful and friendly, our room was clean. We did use the kitchenette to cook and we appreciated the full size refridgerator. Best of all....the free parking was a great bonus. We will stay here again and my relatives will give the Ilima a try, as well!

Room Tip: We did encounter some noize early in the morning, but that was because we had our sliding door open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my second stay at The Ilima and, once again, I was very pleased! The staff is wonderful, rooms are large, and there's a kitchenette! Close walking distance Waikiki Beach, shopping and restaurants. I plan on staying there again next summer. Great place and great price! Hats off to Courtni and all the attentive staff at the Ilima!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, reserve a Studio Superior or Deluxe Studio and request a smoking room in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

The Ilima was an emergency choice after I had to punch out of a bad choice hotel in downtown Hono. I was lucky to book 7 days the day of check in, so I wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. Though 70ish and kind of dated, the Ilima is a great value hotel with a beautiful view of the Ala Wai Canal, full kitchenette and free parking (albeit quite tight for my GMC Acadia rental). You do have to park by 8:00 PM, or else you'll need to head to a pay lot (did that once) or park for free about a quarter-mile away (did that once).

Staff is friendly and efficient. Location is great. Just walking distance to Waikiki and many great nearby restaurants like Side St. Inn and Ono's. The Ala Wai golf course is also close by. It's a great choice for $180/night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheesesteak_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I am giving this 4 stars based on a budget hotel. It has free parking. However it needs to be upgraded. Do not expect anything fancy. If you are looking for a hotel on a budget and don't care if the decor is old, then consider this hotel. Staff is friendly. Location is convenient. And again parking is free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCB_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilima Hotel

Property: Ilima Hotel
Address: 445 Nohonani St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2695
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ilima Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilima Hotel is locally owned and located in the heart of Waikiki 1 block away from the International Marketplace and 2 blocks away from the beach. We offer spacious rooms all equipped with a FULL KITCHEN, limited FREE Parking, and FREE High-Speed Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Ilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilima Hotel Honolulu
Ilima Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing