We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, nice staff, good A/C...overall, thumbs up.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Believe it or not, Waikiki is HOT, even in late October!! The trade winds weren't around during my stay, so the second I left the comfort of an air conditioned room and hit a sunbeam, I started to sweat. It was 85-89 degrees for my entire stay. So let me say how WONDERFUL it was to come back to our room after a long day of sight seeing and open the door to my ice cold room and comfy bed. We had a mini fridge to keep our drinks and snacks, which was really nice. A microwave would have been nice to have, but not having one certainly wasn’t a deal breaker. The room wasn’t super huge, but it wasn't tiny like a cruise ship cabin either. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. We did decide to rent a car during our stay, which meant we had to pay $15 per day for parking, but I suppose parking fees are standard in big cities. We got the 16th floor (the only floor higher was the penthouse level). Our room faced Ana Moana Blvd - I don't believe there are any rooms with an ocean view in this hotel. But to get to Waikiki Beach, just stroll across the street and down a block or two and you are there. There is a Chinese/American Buffet restaurant on the property, but we never had a chance to eat there. I believe it was $7.99 for breakfast, $9.99 for lunch and $15.99 for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaAlleyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick V, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

“Comfy room, nice staff, good A/C...overall, thumbs up.”

3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009


Believe it or not, Waikiki is HOT, even in late October!! The trade winds weren't around during my stay, so the second I left the comfort of an air conditioned room and hit a sunbeam, I started to sweat. It was 85-89 degrees for my entire stay. So let me say how WONDERFUL it was to come back to our room after a long day of sight seeing and open the door to my ice cold room and comfy bed. We had a mini fridge to keep our drinks and snacks, which was really nice. A microwave would have been nice to have, but not having one certainly wasn’t a deal breaker. The room wasn’t super huge, but it wasn't tiny like a cruise ship cabin either. The staff was always friendly and accommodating. We did decide to rent a car during our stay, which meant we had to pay $15 per day for parking, but I suppose parking fees are standard in big cities. We got the 16th floor (the only floor higher was the penthouse level). Our room faced Ana Moana Blvd - I don't believe there are any rooms with an ocean view in this hotel. But to get to Waikiki Beach, just stroll across the street and down a block or two and you are there. There is a Chinese/American Buffet restaurant on the property, but we never had a chance to eat there. I believe it was $7.99 for breakfast, $9.99 for lunch and $15.99 for dinner.

Dear VaAlleyCat,

You are too funny! Yes, in October the weather can still be a bit toasty but we are very happy that you were able to enjoy the cold A/C and comfortable bed in your room! We offer many great amenities, such as a fridge and now have microwaves in the rooms as well. Yes, our location is convenient and close to the beach.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

I completely disagree with those who say this hotel is modern! I'm a road warrior and I would classify this hotel as a dump. It should have been renovated decades ago! How old is old? They have a tiny closet with a pole 7' above the ground so most women can't reach it, and they only have the kind of hangers for men's trousers, not the kind with clips. There's a second pole about 3' high but the hotel doesn't have hangers for it, although they managed to scrounge up a few wire ones (from laundry cleaners) for me.

It's a 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach if you cheat and go the Hilton Hawaiian Village's private beach. It's a 15 - 20 minute walk if you go to the public beach.

On the positive side, free Internet and a refrigerator are nice, and the service is good.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded December 9, 2010

I am not sure where this person stayed, but 2 weeks prior to his stay, we just finished renovating our entire hotel---every guestroom was new! All new carpets, wallpaper, paint, furniture, drapes and hall carpet and wallpaper too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

Hotel was very clean and modern. Staff was courteous and friendly. Excellent location, right across the street from the Hilton Hawaiian Village and a short walk to the beach. Excellent fitness room and pool. They could use a sauna next to the pool, and a parking lot for guests. Street parking was a challenge every night we stayed there. Also, the computers in the lobby for internet use was very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoutheBaptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Dear LoutheBaptist,

Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our facilities are very nice and clean. Our staff strives to provide the best customer service for our guests through our aloha spirit. The location of our hotel is very convenient and a close walk to the beach. We provide great amenities such a fitness center and pool, as well as complimentary computer services. We have since added a parking lot next to the hotel.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

We stayed for one night and were pleasantly suprised by thyis hotel. Good 3 - 4 star option for a stopover of one to two days. Rooms well appointed and clean. Staff were very helpfull. Great beds!!

Great location for shopping right near the Alomoana shopping centre
Short walk to the beach 5 to ten mins, you are right opposite all the big holel facilities of the hilton resort.

Excellent Value option for Honolulu. There is a pool and a fitness room but we did not use these.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydneyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Dear Sydneyboys,

Thank you for a great review! We are very happy that you chose to stay with us for one night. Yes, our rooms are very clean and comfortable. Our value is the best as we offer many great amenities, such as complimentary WiFi, a fitness center, and pool. Providing excellent customer service is our utmost priority for our guests.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

This place was nice; not the best place in Waikiki, but not bad. Very clean hotel, nice and polite staff, no huge issues to write about. When we asked for directions, front desk staff gave us a walking map and detailed bus directions. It is rather close to the Ala Moana shopping center, if you're into that sort of thing, but a bit farther from the beach than most hotels. All in all, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hppyjessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick V, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2014

Dear hppyjessa,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our friendly staff strives to provide outstanding customer service for all our guests and Housekeeping continues to maintain a high standard of cleanliness at our hotel.

We hope that your come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week recently - we were given a top floor (bar the penthouse suite) king room. It was small but not too pokey. Clean and tidy. High speed (and reliable!) cabled internet connection free of charge.

The hotel runs parallel with Ala Moana Blvd. The room we had was on the other side from Ala Moana Blvd, and it was still a little noisy - but nothing you would not get in any other city Hotel.

Very basic amenities and toiletries etc supplied and topped up each day.

This Hotel is all about the location as others have already indicated. There is a trolley stop directly outside the front, and you can easily walk to Ala Moana Shopping Mall or into the centre of the Waikiki shopping district in 20 minutes (or 10 minutes if you are feeling energetic). You can also take a short stroll over the other side of Ala Moana Blvd and into the Hilton Hawaiian Village, onto the beach, or into one of their restaurants for some grub.

There are plenty of good eateries around including in the Ala Moana Centre. We chose not to eat at the Chinese at the front of the Hotel, although contrary to other reports, there were always plenty of people eating in there each night when we passed.

Value for money, location, and the friendly staff make this a place we would look at returning to. In the absence of an "overall rating" of Good, I have rated it as Average because it does not quite meet the criteria for "very good".

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heygman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Dear Heygman,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that you chose to stay with us. Our guests greatly enjoy the convenience of our location as it is close to many stores and restaurants with a bus stop right in front of the hotel as well. The friendly staff strives to provide outstanding customer service for our guests. The value that we provide cannot be beat as we offer great amenities, such as complimentary WiFi.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

we stayed in this hotel because i am in the military and we were leaving hawaii to a new job. i went to my room and i saw an envelope on my tv which said i owe then 100.00 for a blanket that they said i burned. when i went to the manager and told them that i did not burn it he told me to calm down or i would have to leave the hotel. he called my wife a liar and said that the house cleaning was there for 15 years and they would not lie. when i talked to the district manager he told me that if i would of said that i burned the blanket that they would not of charged me. the parking of this place is really bad for 15 dollars a day. i will never stay in this hotel again. the rooms are dirty and the pool is small compared to what you could get for a few more dollars a night at another hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bavalanche2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2014

Dear Bavalanche2004,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apologize that you had a subpar experience. We have since addressed this issue.

We sincerely apologize and wish you all the best.

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
1,571 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#18 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $129 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing