We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost the Hilton, but a lot cheaper”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We've stayed at the ramada Waikiki plaza many times. It is just across the street from the Hilton but at half or a third of the cost. Pool is ok. Rooms are ok. Front desk is ok. Near the beach. Near ala moana park (nice for walking, running, paddling, etc). Near the ala moana center for shopping. Ask for a room on the backside (less of a view, but quieter.). Oh, and join the Wyndham rewards program and they give you a discount on parking fee (not many spaces btw).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Aloha Raymond from Des Moines!

Our intern Sam is from Des Moines too! We are so happy you stay with us and like our off-beach prices, free amenities and Wyndham Rewards reduced parking.

Mahalo for taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor and letting us know we are meeting your expectations.

Look forward to seeing you again,

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

713 - 719 of 1,368 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is a very nice hotel for the price. Front desk folks were pleasant and changed my room to one looking out to the street (set back from the street) instead of facing the construction in the rear. Instead I looked into other hotel rooms and condos :-). Room is a little outdated, but clean, nice amenities such as small frig & microwave, big flat screen tv, small balcony.

Location is across from the Hilton Hawaiian Village but that is deceptive since the property is so large you have quite a hike to the beach. The hotel is in the middle of a long block and you take your life in your hands jaywalking over to the city bus stop or where tour buses do pick ups. Reasonably priced restaurants are scarce in the area, even the McDonalds, Subway & IHOP prices are higher than other states. There is a very nice coffee shop down the block open 24 hours with reasonable prices.

I would have preferred a hotel off the beach a few blocks in the main Waikiki area where there was more selection of stores and restaurants and the main beach to walk on. As a senior I was able to ride the bus for $1, so I managed to get around pretty well. Not sure what some folks consider walking distance, but the Ala Moana mall is a good 2 miles down a busy road.

Room Tip: high floor would be quieter, decide if you want to look out at construction site or look at other ho...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Slotmachinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Aloha Slotmachinequeen:

I'm sorry you felt our hotel was not located as near the center of Waikiki as you would have liked.

We have asked the Mayor and City and council of Honolulu to please put in a cross-walk across the street from the Hilton and not a block away. It is dangerous to cross the street if you are not in a crosswalk. Prices in Waikiki are higher than in central Honolulu and I'm sorry you felt disappointed.

The Bus is a great ride and stops directly in front of the Hotel on Ala Moana and is a quick ride to Ala Moana Shopping Center. We certainly appreciate your comments and hope that if you do return you will enjoyu your stay in Honolulu.

Mahalo for taking the time to let us know you felt you were too far away from the beach - it is a five minute walk to the Hilton (with the crosswalks).

We hope you come and visit us again.
Warmest Aloha,
Pattie F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Our flight to Australia was delayed by a day so after leaving Wyndham's Beach Walk property which was great we stayed one night at Ramada as recommended by the Wyndham consultant. A bit disappointing as no spoons or bowls in the room, the air con was off so the room was stuffy for a while and also a bit noisy. One great feature was the free broadband wifi which performed much better than the slow service at the Beach Walk property.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank FrankJosephV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Aloha Frank V - thanks you for staying with us overnight. I am so pleased that our company partner at Wyndham Beach Walk suggested you stay with us.

We are a small property and glad to hear you stayed with us. Our Free Wi-Fi and hardwired HSIA is fast - we just upgraded about a couple of months ago.

Mahalo again for commenting on your stay and for letting us know how we are doing.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rickiki, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#31 of 84 in Honolulu
1,490 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
600 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
542 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#41 of 84 in Honolulu
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $130 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing