We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking distance to waikiki beach,good price,but room was ugly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    599
    256
    64
    23
See reviews for
342
481
125
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DFW
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you're looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay while touring around Hawaii I highly recommend this hotel. Starting with the room -- it was clean, comfortable and had all the necessary amenities. There was plenty of closet and drawer space, comfortable seating available, a desk, coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, ice bucket and blow dryer. The decor was pleasant enough as well. We used the pool once and that was nice too. It seems to be shaded much of the time, but is not too crowded. There was also coffee available in the lobby each morning.

The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and take good care of guests. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but they worked quickly to prepare it. We came at the end of a HUGE conference and all of the hotels in the area were scrambling.

The beach is about a five minute walk. The closest beach is at the Hilton Hawaiian Village -- it's right across the street and their beach is one of the nicest in Waikiki. There are plenty of options for food right around the hotel. The Ala Moana Shopping Center is an easy walk with more food options and a Foodland Grocery Store that is really nice and has takeout food too. If you don't rent a car, many buses to anywhere on the island stop at Ala Moana so you can get around easily for sightseeing from there. You can also walk to most places around Waikiki -- including the International Market and the Convention Center is also within walking distance.

Parking is cheaper if you are a Wyndham rewards member, so if you are renting a car I recommend that you join (free) before staying there. If we return to Honolulu, we plan to stay here again because it was comfortable, nice, and met all of our needs. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha Susan,

Thank you for your excellent and detailed response of your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feeback and we are delighted to hear that you will be returning here for your next vacation to Oahu.

Mahalo,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Very nice lobby, quite pool, large rooms, convenient position. Great confortable bed, clean, but the reception staff were not helpful and not very good. Free internet in the lobby. Really very good price/quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha lelle,

Thank you for your excellent review and we are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We would like to extend our apologies regarding your experience with our reservations staff. Your review will help us grow in offering the highest level of customer service.

We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Mahalo,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We check out Aug 7. But Deposits $100 do not refund yet. I would like to receive deposits $100. Could you refund it now. Except it, everything is excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Helpful?
Thank Hyundu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen W, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha Hyundu K,

We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and had an excellent stay with us.

To discuss the matters of your deposit, please contact us (808) 955-1111.

Mahalo,

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,467 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
435 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
147 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing