We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impersonal, indifferent and un-accommadating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hotel is a transition point for travellers and business people on overnight excursions period. NOT FOR VACATIONERS!
Do NOT stay here if you are looking for a relaxing vacation. Stay somewhere that appreciates and treats their guests as more than space fillers. Anyone who writes a positive review for this hotel has probably stayed here one night on their way to somewhere else.
The rooms are bland, outdated and have no character- the hallways are dingy and very skid row hotel looking. Do not be fooled by positive reviews written by overnight travellers. This place wants your money and nothing more to do with you.
The entrance to the hotel smells like raw sewage- a very good indicator of what awaits you. Oh, and if you think the free breakfast is a great bonus- wait until you see the leftover chinese fare you'll be getting. Yes, that's right chinese buffet breakfast. Disgusting.
You will not get a warm fuzzy feeling being here- you are nothing more than space filler.
Oh- there's a pool here- but no shower by the pool for guests to shower before entering- so rest assured you are swimming in everyone's filth. Mind you- we never saw anyone use the pool area- I don't think it's encouraged. They have the pool only so they can pretend to be a holiday vacation destination. They are anything but.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heritage011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Aloha heritage011, Vancouver: I'm sorry we disappointed you.

We do have a number of travelers who actually like our hotel and rate of 4 out of 5. They also stay with us long term. I'm sorry you were not happy while you were here. We actually received an award from Ramada last year for being one of the top 5% of their hotels in the US and we have a ceritficate fo excellence with Trip Advisor. We do not post our own replies and yes a lot of our customers are happy to stay one night on their way to the neighbor islands or stay here while working in Honolulu. Other hotels offer higher prices and you pay for amenities like internet access and use of the business center and fitness center. It's a Ramada standard to ofer free amenities. Coming January 1st - we will have free internet access in every guest room.

I thank you for letting us know that you did not like staying with us.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,366)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Plaza Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great location on Ala Moana Blvd. 7th floor view was nice , but still quiet at night. Quick Check-in and Comfortable King Bed and room after long late night flight was a Great start to our vacation. Bus Stops, Tour pickups and walking distance to Ala Moana Mall and other shopping was Great. Waikik Beach and other parks a short walk. Lots of Restaurants close-by and a ABC store for shopping or Late night Snacks.The Staff was very friendly and efficient. Would definitely recomend and stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms are quiet and good view on Blvd side
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pekelo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Aloha 1949meatman from Namaimo:

Another resident from one of the most beautiful places in Canada! Thanks for staying with us and for giving us such a positive review.

Like our other guest from Nanaimo - it was nice to see you appreciated the centralized location and of course the King Bed! Come back again!

Mele Kalikimaka (Merry Christmas) e Hau'oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)

Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a mistake booking this place- it reminds me of any annoymous hotel you book into when you're on a road tirp and just need a bed. It is NOT for vacationers- it is for overnighters only. They preserve the rooms with balconies- for their preferred guests- not for people on week long stays- the windows in the room are only able to open 3 inches so stale stuffy air unless you want to run the loud ancient air conditioners all night long.
Oh, and the included breakfast- is at a chinese buffet outfront that serves last nights leftovers for breakfast everyday- we ate there once and that was enough! Unless you like cold hard boiled eggs or egg fu yung for breakfast avoid this dump. Their coffee was horredous and watered down- there was not milk or cream for it- only crusty old powdered creamer with a filthy spoon in the jar. Oh, and did I mention the homeless man lliving in their bushes out front?
The hotel has zero personality and zero amendments- nothing much to say on the positive side other than a bed to sleep in.
Last time we were in Oahu we stayed at the Ashton Waikiki and it was lovely- beautiful breakfast by the pool every morning with hawaiin dancers, free morning newspaper outside your door, and directly across the street from the beach and in a very cool part of Waikiki.The coffee at the Aston is delicious and they have a variety of fresh juice and local fruit. EVERY room has a balcony and a view. Our view here is of a dirt parking lot.
We booked throught Priceline and we are here until 9 p.m. wednesday- checkout time is noon- they are inflexable in extending our room beyond 5. Even though we are more than willing to pay.
For some crazy reason this impersonal concrete hotel with no personality or good qualities gets a higher rating on trip advisor than the Aston Waikiki beach- which is why we made the foolhardy choice to stay here. Thinking that if this place was rated higher than the Aston- with all it's charm then we were in for a real treat.
HA. Joke was on us. NEVER AGAIN. This place stinks. Literally. There is a sewage problem out front and everymorning it smells like diareah.
All I can say in closing- is do NOT stay here if you like a charming, and comfortable home away from home when traveling. You can NOT even get water in the lobby after three o'clock.
OH-I am in the lobby right now writing this as there is NO wifi in the room- when I last went to Mexico we had wifi in the room- just sayin.

Room Tip: Don't stay HERE if you want a good room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCsenorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Aloha - thanks for your review although it's kind of painful but we understand we did not provide what you needed and we apologize. We are getting WIFI in our rooms as of January 1 2013. It does sound like you should have stayed with the Aston Waikiki Beach - they are a good hotel and do offer Waikiki Beach across the street. They have a great free breakfast program with their lunch bags. I'm curious why you didn't stay there. If it was price related I understand they are selling today almost twice what we charge for a hotel room but thanks for giving us a shot. We cannot be the best choice for everyone. I wish you had asked the front desk for some assistance – our staff is really good at trying to move rooms or making our guests stay an enjoyable one.
I believe if you came back you still would not be happy with us - we are an off beach property, conveniently located and lower prices than on beach properties. A majority of Hawaii’s clientele is international guests and I’m sorry you were unhappy. The majority of our clients do just want a clean comfortable hotel room. The breakfast was free and we have discontinued it because of remarks like yours. No value if it’s unacceptable.

I hope you return to Hawaii since Canada has affordable air flights – and I’d like to have a chance to turn your impressions around.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Located across the street from the Hilton just a couple of blocks from the beach. Lots of restaurants nearby. Ala Moana Mall and WalMart within walking distance (10 minutes or so). Also the Bus stop is right by the hotel entrance. You can catch a bus to the airport, however no large luggage is allowed. Hotel service was welcoming and friendly and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank churchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Aloha Churchp from Nanaimo:
If you are from Nanaimo, British Columbia - I envy you - I love that little town and harbor!
Mahalo (thank you) for your kind review and excellent suggestion about the location and how easy it is to get around Waikiki.
We appreciate your taking the time to respond and share your experience.
Come back anytime - we'd love to see you again!
Mele Kalikimaka (Merry Christmas) e Hau'oli Makahiki Hou (Happy New Year)

Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staff make this place a good choice for travelers. Located slightly off Waikiki, still has good restaurants nearby. Free wired internet in room. The room itself is good, however, building surrounded by taller ones, and noise from adjacent generators makes opening the balcony door extremely unpleasant. Also AC was not powerful enough.

Despite all shortcomings, staff was very accomodative and made the stay pleasant. 5 stars for service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank SBRavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2014

Dear SBRavens,

Thank you for your great review and 4-star rating! Our staff provides outstanding customer service for all our guests during their stay with us. Our guests enjoy the convenient location of our hotel as it is close to many stores and restaurants. Our rooms are very clean and comfortable and there is free wired internet. We apologize that you experienced loud noises outside and that the AC was not strong enough. We have forwarded your comments to management for correction.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank G_P_Texas20
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It is close to everything - Ala Moana Mall, Ala Moana Beach Park, Waikiki Beach, bus, shopping, you name it. The staff is friendly and polite; housekeeping does a good job. And it's pretty quiet at night (we had a room facing the back). The breakfast is not bad, but I wish they would vary their menu a bit. It gets a little boring if you stay for more than a couple of days. Overall, it's a good place to stay, and if I come back to Honolulu, I would definitely consider Ramada Plaza again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkieTalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

WalkieTalkie from Vancouver:
That pretty much describes our property – Location, location, location! Off beach prices and great amenities.

We agree the breakfast at the Chinese Restaurant needs work and we are trying to get that changed. Our property outsources the operation but we need to work with the owner to offer more of a variety.

Thanks for staying with us and we do hope you return and give us another opportunity to provide your hotel room.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
1,488 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,898 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
537 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $131 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing