We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #46 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and it was for our honeymoon. We arrived at the hotel in the evening and had a few issues checking in. We had prepaid cards to pay for the room, the hotel staff were confused on how to do this with out authorizing my credit card for the entire stay. While trying to figure it out they were able to just let us go to our room and settle in. When we got to our room we were a bit disapointed with the bed, it was hard as a rock and there were scuff marks and a dirty bathroom. We really didnt want to complain as we really dont complain anyway about things but it was our honeymoon after all. A very nice gentleman came to the room from the front desk to let us know that they were able to resolve the payment issue and we showed him the room and let him know we werent really satisfied with it and he took us back downstairs and was able to show us a different room. The second room was great and I was ready to settle in and go find some dinner. We dropped the keys off at the desk and the Manager on duty greeted us with some chocolates and waters and apologized again for the mishap and the room and said he was upgrading us to a penthouse suite. I was totally blew away as I was not expecting that at all. They all remained friendly and courteous through out the changes in rooms the payment situation and our entire stay was great. It became my home away from home for over a week and I would recommend them to anyone I know in the future. The concierge staff were awesome and got us set up for shuttles and tours. They were very helpful in giving insight on where to go for dinner, what they liked and recommended for shopping and were even able to send us to a great place for a massage. We did have breakfast vouchers for the buffet downstairs, we only used them one day. We dont really do breakfast much, when we arrived the buffet was pretty picked over but the staff had it replenished before we left for the day. The menu wasnt what we really expected as it was mostly chinese. It was busy and alot of people seemed to enjoy it. It was clean and smelled good, just wasnt our thing. Overall it was the best trip ever!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Stacy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Aloha Stacy C - thanks for staying with us on your honeymoon - sounds like the trip started off as a nightmare but I'm so glad our staff helped make your stay a success.

We are an off beach property and try our best but sometimes we just aren't perfect - but thanks for sharing all our experience and congratulations on your wedding!

Let us know if you come back for your anniversary! We'd love to provide the right experience again!

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a nice, modest, comfortable hotel. We stayed for approximately $100US a night and considered it provided a good base for us while we were in Waikiki at a reasonable cost. The rooms are clean and the staff are all really friendly. If you are trying to keep costs low then this is a good option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

G'Day Pjej from Melbourne!

Mahalo for staying with us and we're pleased you gave us a good, honest review. I'm glad you see us a a resonably priced hotel - we aren't a hilton or marriott and can offer an affordable alternative hotel at off beach prices.

I know it's along trip from Australia but thanks for coming and sharing our "Hawaii".

Wamest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank ALEXANDER B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed three weeks in Ramada between 25th September and 16th October and I have only good things to say about the hotel.

Location is great - not only close to the Waikiki, but also to Ala Moana Mall. Additional points for The Bus stop just in front of the hotel that makes traveling around the city very easy, if you don't want to rent a car.

The staff was always very helpful and trying to make the stay as smooth and pleasant as possible. Rooms are very big, always cleaned thoroughly and with very comfortable big beds. I've read in some reviews that some people were having problems with internet connection in the rooms, but I only experienced it once during three weeks.

I really recommend the place as a very friendly and comfortable base for great vacation.

Mahalo for taking such great care of me! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Katarzyna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Karina Z - thank you so much for staying with us and for giving us a great review. Although we are a small off beach hotel it sounds like we met your expectations.

We are glad your long stay was a good one!

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We found this hotel on Hotwire. It offered us a spacious, clean room with a mini-fridge, satellite TV, safe, and 2 beds. The front desk service was great; one staff member was really helpful when it came to getting me a cab, and making sure I got to where I needed to be on time. It's located very close to Ala Moana Beach Park, the Ala Wai Canal, and the Ala Moana Centre. We walked to these places. However, to get to Waikiki Beach and the surrounding area, it was a bit of a trek. Public transit is not particularly good; it's better to rent a car to get around, which is what we did. We rarely stayed at the hotel - we visited a lot of attractions: Pearl Harbor, Waikele Premium Outlets, Germaine's Luau, International Marketplace, Ala Moana Center, Ala Moana Beach Park, Waikiki Beach, Judiciary History Center, Iolani Palace, Aloha Tower and Marketplace, etc. All amazing! I definitely recommend the hotel and Honolulu. I'd return. (We travelled October 2011).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineisa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thaks so much for shaing your review on Trip Advisor. We really appeciate your positive comments.

We hope you'll come back sometime and stay again.
Of I can help in anyway please let me know -

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I really appreciated the service and attention to detail at the hotel. The lobby staff were helpful and friendly. We asked for some restaurant suggestions from the desk staff and found some excellent restaurants in the area as a result of their recommendations.

My only negatives would be the cost of on-property parking and the restaurant. The parking cost is a little ridiculous at $20 per day. I understand the need to control parking in a dense urban area like this, but that is stupid expensive. It would be much more customer-friendly to give out a parking pass or other indication that you are a hotel guest and have a staff member walk the lot every couple of hours to ensure compliance.

The hotel includes a free breakfast each morning. This is provided by the attached restaurant which is oriental cuisine. The food was good but was a bit lacking in variety especially for multi-day guests. They offer eggs, sausage, pancakes, toast, fresh pineapple, cereal (limited choices) and milk, and a few oriental items (wontons, etc.). It tastes fine and the staff is very friendly, it just gets a little repetitive if you stay more than a few days.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank JAMES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Aloha James B:
Thank you for your rating and comments. Parking is a challenge in Hawaii with limited spaces. That's a disadvantage of living on an Island. Hilton across the street charge $35 per night and we are trying to keep our parking affordable. We have a promotion to obtain reduced parking if you join our Wyndham rewards program. I am sorry if we didn't offer you that.

We are working with the restaurant owner trying to “fix" the Chinese restaurant but we thank you for your comments.

I hope you give us another chance and come back to stay with us sometime in the future.

Warmest Aloha,
Pattie Furtado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,571 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $129 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing