We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay to stay on the beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
houston, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pay to stay on the beach!”
Reviewed March 13, 2008

If you want the true Hawaiian Experience, do not stay here. Yes, the rooms are clean, but they are also small. It is not as close to the beach as the state, I believe it is because the path to the beach is blocked by a new hotel being built. The atmosphere is one of a city hotel, no paradise feel. No lounge or restaurant, unless you count the lousy Chinese Buffet connected to the hotel. The bed was uncomfortable, the pool was small and uninviting and the staff was mediocre at best. I have no complaints about the service, however, it is definately no frills all around. This was my first trip to Hawaii and I would recommend trying to stay on Kalakaua Blvd, this is the main drag near the beach. Ala Moana connects to it and the hotel is practically on the corner, however this is not the end to be on. I consider this a trial trip and next time will definately spend the extra money to stay on or closer to the beach. I have stayed at many Holiday Inns and this one is substandard. My husband travels quite a bit and is priority club for this chain, he commented that he has had better stays at Holiday Inn Express. If you do stay here, just plan on sleeping(if you like a rock hard mattress) and showering in the room only! With my husband at the desk checking email, I had to climb over the bed to get to the other side of the room!! All of this and no balcony either. We stayed with gift certificates from my husbands points, and I would still pay $ to stay somewhere else. Do yourself a favor and pay to stay somewhere else, especially if your not sure you can go back, you'll be happy you did!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank rodntrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear Rodntrace,

Thank you for your review and honest feedback. We apologize that we did not meet your expections. We have since changed over to a Ramada property and have renovated since your stay. The beds are more comfortable and there are tub/showers in all our guest rooms. The hotel is not on the beach front, but it is a quick walk to access the beach.

We hope that you give us another chance when you come back to enjoy the renovations since your last stay!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    594
    252
    64
    22
See reviews for
336
478
123
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
155 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

This hotel is located on Ala Moana Blvd. so be aware that there can be street noise on that side of the hotel. Also, they are building a new hotel across the street, so the construction starts early and lasts all day. You are subjected to this noise while you are at the pool, which is a decent size, but not heated. There is a nice beach across the street at the Hilton Hawaiian Village which also has free fireworks on Friday nights. I think most of the other reviews are pretty spot on about this hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, but do have refrigerators which is nice. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My AC was not loud and blocked out some of the street noise. There are two computers for guests in the lobby, but are busy most of the time. There is also an Asian restaurant at the hotel serving all day. It is buffet only. The gym was not the greatest, but ok for a few days. There is also a tour desk on site. The hotel is close to the Ala Moana Mall and about a 10-15 minute walk to Waikiki Beach. If you want to stay in a luxury hotel, this is not the place for you. The Holiday Inn is for people who want to stay in a clean room and save a few bucks at the same time.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room is a bit dated
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear Debbiejo,

Thank you for your review. We have since renovated and changed over to a Ramada property. The location of our hotel is convenient and close to many stores and restaurants. We offer great value and many great amenities, such as complimentary WiFi and free drinks in the lobby. Our staff continuously strives to provide outstanding service for all our guests.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

I think Honolulu must have the largest collection of shabby and overpriced 2 and 3 star hotels in the world. Normally I stay at the New Otani which is a $140-$160 per night property, great location, breakfast on the beach, some nice views and friendly staff. Rooms are so so.
I thought I would try something different for a change and wanted to be closer to Ala Moana shopping and movies. The Holiday Inn was offering a $125/night room with free high speed internet access and is only a 10 minute walk from Ala Moana and Victoria Plaza shopping.
The staff were very helpful, room was generous in size, internet access worked as advertised.
If you book a stay DEFINITELY ask for a room NOT facing Ala Moana Blvd unless you find traffic noise soothing.
Overall a good stay, average by most standards but a tremendous value for Waikiki.

  • Liked — Value and location
  • Disliked — Nothing but avoid rooms facing Ala Moana Blvd
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear Inmauinow,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and trying something new! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strives to provide outstanding service for all our guests. The value that you receive here is tremendous as we offer complimentary WiFi, fridge, microwave, and coffeemaker in all rooms, and free drinks in the lobby.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

I stayed here for one night while transiting through Hawaii. My flight was delayed and I didn't end up at the hotel until around 0430. The agent already knew who I was when I walked throught the door. When questioned how she knew, she replied "because you're the last check-n". I found that to be a good sign, meaning, the staff actually is paying attention to details. Actually, the entire staff is extremely courteous and friendly. The room itself is what I expected, nothing too fancy, but free high-speed internet (which most hotels charge extra for). There is some street noise, but nothing too terrible. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for business travelers or people who want to just make a 'base camp' while they are in Waikiki.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank trvlerjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Dear Trvlerjenn,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff is very attentive and pays close attention to our guests. The hotel offers great amenities, such as complimentary WiFi and usage of our lobby computers.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Holiday Inn Waikiki is nothing fancy, but will get you a clean room at a good price in an expensive area. It is great if you are basicly just using the room as a base and a place to sleep while touring around Waikiki.

The hotel sits off the road with just a drive on the main street. There is a chinese restaurant in front of the entrance. It is walking distance from the beach (I did not go there), shopping and many restaurants including McDonalds, Starbucks and the popular Wailana Coffee House (decent food.) There is a bus stop out front, too (kind of in front of the chinese restaurant.)

The lobby is small and basic for a Holiday Inn. You will find just coffee there in the morning. There is no restaurant on the premises. The staff is friendly and accomodating (they held our luggage in the back on the day we arrived early, and the day we checked out and then went sightseeing.) The rooms are basic, but clean. Ours had a refridgerator. The A/C unit was kind of loud (not unusual for this category of room.) We had a room that faced the street (Ala Moana Blvd) which added to the noise level at night. (Tip: Try to get a room that faces the back of the hotel. This might cut down on the noise.) The hotel has a pool, but we did not use it.

In addition to the restaurants on Ala Moana Blvd, there are restaurants and shopping in the Hilton complex across the street. There is also an ABC (convenience) store there where you can buy an OK breakfast or lunch and sit at outdoor tables next to the pool. We weren't shy about this, and no one ever chased us away for not buying the outdoor cafe food.

One last observation: pilots and flight attendants from China and Japan airlines were staying in the Holiday Inn while we were there. I take this an indicator of consistancy (quality, price) since they are obviously in Honolulu all the time, and the hotel is not real close to the airport.

  • Liked — Great price (booked on the hotel Website)
  • Disliked — Room was noisy at night (A/C, street, late night partyers one night)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sloshgator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Sloshgator,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We have since changed over to a Ramada property and renovations have been made since then. Our staff continues to provide excellent customer service for all our guests. Housekeeping upholds high standards of cleanliness for our property, especially the rooms. We apologize that you experienced loud noises while staying in the rooms. We greatly appreciate your patience. The location of our hotel is convenient and close to many stores and restaurants.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Waikiki has a lot of fabulous and luxurious beach front hotels, however, we found most of them are rather overpriced.

The Holiday Inn proved to be the best-priced hotel for us. For under $130 a night, we got a decent sized room that was clean and quiet. The bed was comfortable and the beddings were changed everyday. A good place to return to after a day at the beach.

The reception staff were friendly, even at midnight when we checked in. Our request for data cables to connect to the internet was fulfilled, without additional charge. And broadband internet access was free.

The laundry facility was convenient and the gym was well equiped.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Lycook,

Wow, thank you for an awesome review and 5-star rating! We are very happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We have since changed over to a Ramada property and renovations have been made since then as well. Our staff still remains very friendly and provides excellent customer service for all guests. Housekeeping continues to uphold high standards of cleanliness for our property, especially our rooms. The location of the hotel is convenient and close to many stores and restaurants.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2007

We stayed at Holiday Inn for one night prior to our cruise and found the property clean and had a very comfortable bed. We had a tour scheduled for the morning of our depature and the hotel was nice enough to allow us to store our luggage with them until we got back..The staff was very friendly and the chinese buffet was pretty good. I will stay there again on my next visit.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — all is well
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razorrrrrback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattie F, Director of Sales at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, December 8, 2014
Dear Razorrrrrback,

Thank you for a great review. We are very happy that you chose to stay with us prior to your cruise. We have since changed over to a Ramada property and renovations have also been made. Housekeeping continues to do a great job in keeping our property clean, especially our rooms. Our staff continues to uphold high standards of providing the best customer service for all our guests.

Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Warmest aloha,
Pattie Furtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,450 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
365 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
238 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing