We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Queensland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“2nd time here”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This is our second time here again, it's so convenient and it's clean. At reception you will find "The Bus" note that tells you what buses to catch to major attractions. If you have done it all, go the the Pearlridge shopping center - just as large as the Ala Moana Shopping Center.
There is also an eatery close by to the hotel, just walk out the front turn left and left again walk for about a block.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    354
    309
    106
    69
See reviews for
230
369
142
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenai Peninsula, AK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

The free shuttle took forever, the pool closed at 7pm, the on-site restaurant was closed even though the front desk said it would be open. We had to take another shuttle to a different hotel to eat dinner, then shuttle back. And that hotel only stayed open for a short time after our arrival so we had to run to catch it after throwing our luggage in our room. We felt bad for the elderly folks that couldn't run to the shuttle in time. Felt like herded cattle. Rooms were clean and somewhat updated. Also, our coupon was "lost" by the front desk and not honored. We were told they would speak to management but we never heard back. Close to airport; yes. Worth the hassle; no. Very few amenities.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKGRLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations. We offer dinner service our at our Willoughby's restaurant from Tuesday through Thursday from 5pm to 9pm. From Friday through Monday, we provide a complimentary shuttle service to the Plaza cafe at our sister property for dinner. Unfortunately at this time, we do not offer dinner service daily.
Our website has all of our amenities and services offered listed clearly. If you found discrepancies on our website, please kindly contact me at 808-837-5931 so we could correct them at once.
We sincerely apologize that you felt rushed and you did not hear back from us regarding the missing coupon. If there is anything we can do, please kindly contact me personally at 808-837-5931. We would like to have the opportunity to make this right for you.
Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much for staying with us) and I look forward to hearing back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We stayed there on Feb. 21 because of a delay getting into Honolulu caused us to miss our connecting flight to Kauai. We got there after dark and left before dawn, but the area didn't seem to be in a great part of town. There was no option for food except to walk down an alley for fast food a couple blocks away. Because we didn't feel safe doing that, we ordered pizza delivered to the room. The room itself was fine. Nothing fancy at all. It would not have been a hotel I would have chosen, but since it was paid for by the airline, it did the job. I felt sorry for the front desk as I'm sure that many people in our situation take their frustration out on them. They were very nice, however.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pediatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We offer dinner service at our Willoughby's restaurant from Tuesday through Thursday from 5pm to 9pm. From Friday through Monday, we provide a complimentary shuttle service to the Plaza cafe at our sister property for dinner. Unfortunately, we do not offer dinner service daily at this time.
Due to our close proximity to the airport, similar to most airport hotels, we are situated in an industrial area.There are however several local dining options within minutes from the hotel.

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much for staying with us) and we hope your stay in Oahu was memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Clean, simple accommodation. Very friendly and helpful staff. Quiet rooms with enough space to move around. We had reserved a crib and it was there waiting for us in the room. We didn't get to try out the pool because it closed at 7pm, but it looked lovely. Breakfast was a little expensive but tasty, but the restaurant was not open for dinner. The airport shuttle was very convenient! Quick easy place for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, HI
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel was great for what I was looking for: a clean and secure place with shuttle service to the airport.

I came for a quick getaway to visit some friends and was actually very impressed by this hotel. I have stayed at other OHANA and Outrigger properties in Waikiki for previous stays and liked the change of pace. The lobby was a lot nicer than I was expecting for an airport hotel. It was clean and looked fairly new. Security had a very strong presence on the grounds, so the area felt very secure which was nice being that I was on the ground floor. The room was well maintained from the bedding to the floors to the bathroom. Room had a faint musty smell upon entering, but once the air conditioner was turned on it was fine. I really appreciated the microwave in the room. Not many standard hotels in Hawaii provide this amenity. Despite being close the airport, the hotel room was very comfortable for sleeping with no airport noise (a HUGE plus). The night auditor was very kind in finding me some eating utensils at 4 in the morning despite the restaurant being closed. I didn't get a chance to eat the restaurant, but it was a nice convenience to know it was right outside my door. I was also pleasantly surprised by the vending machines at this hotel. I'm a late-night snacker and to have the option to buy cereal and fresh fruit, aside from your standard candy and granola bars, before the restaurant is open was great.The ability to print your boarding passes for FREE was also a positive! The shuttle service is a great service for any hotel regardless of proximity to the airport. Overall, my stay was comfortable and relaxing and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojirid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments on our services and amenities. We are glad that you took advantage of several of our handy services.
We hope your gettaway to Oahu was enjoyable and we look forward to serving you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was forced into a stay her because of a late arriving flight causing a missed
connection. At $159 a night it was wildly overpriced for a place that doesn't include
a breakfast or have a computer for guest use without a fee. The room was OK and clean
and the staff pleasant. The shuttle was a nice service.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret that our facility did not meet your expectations. We do however offer several complimentary amenities such as:
Complimentary 24 hour Shuttle Service to the airport (every half hour and on the hour) and also to our sister property, Best Western The Plaza Hotel for your dining pleasures.
Complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby and wired internet access in the guestrooms
Complimentary Fitness Center (Open from 9am-9pm)
Complimentary Local, U.S. and Canada calls for the first 15 minutes
Complimentary Daily Newspaper

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for staying with us and we hope your vacation to Hawaii was delightful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Your hotel met the "bare-bones" needs of the traveler. No room service - no seven0day restaurant offering thee meals per day - no laundry bag in room - no exit from back area of pool to hallway - flat pillows - no choices for eating establishments near by.

All in all - it was a very basic facility that does not live up to the Outrigger & Ohana reputation.

H. F. Clayton

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fanable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We regret that our facilities came short in meeting your expectations. We will address the guestroom short comings you mentioned with our housekeeping department, thank you for bringing them to our attention.
We do what to point out that we offer the following services to all of our valuable guests.
Complimentary 24 hour Shuttle Service to the airport (every half hour and on the hour) and also to our sister property, Best Western The Plaza Hotel for your dining pleasures.
Complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby and wired internet access in the guestrooms
Complimentary Fitness Center (Open from 9am-9pm)
Complimentary Local, U.S. and Canada calls for the first 15 minutes
Complimentary Daily Newspaper
Our in-house Willoughby's restaurant serves breakfast daily. We do not currently offer lunch but their are several restaurants within minutes of the hotel that serve a variety of local favorites. Our front desk team will be more than happy to suggest their favorites to you and also provide you with a walking map on how to get there. We currently serve dinner at our Willoughby's restaurant on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday and our sister property (which we provide a complimentary shuttle service to) serves dinner on all alternate days.

Mahalo Nui Loa (Thank you very much) for staying with us and we hope your vacation in Hawaii was memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing