We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisy, not a safe area at night, not worth the money. Too Creepy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Noisy, not a safe area at night, not worth the money. Too Creepy.”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The Hotel is situated directly next to the intersections of two freeways. There are no quiet rooms. The area is very poorly lit at night and you must take a shuttle to the Best Western next door for evening meals, that are less than appetizing. The term "complimentary" is misused so don't be surprised that the shuttle bus driver is EXPECTING a tip even if they never touch your bag. All of the other guests also seemed tense

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sadcamper2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    357
    311
    106
    69
See reviews for
233
370
142
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sd
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

For the money we paid for a night's stay, I was really disappointed. The hotel charged for parking our car over night, the pool closed at 7:00 p.m., they didn't offer a continental breakfast of any kind.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank hawaiinisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I needed a place to stay as I arrived at HNL around 8:30p.m. and was leaving at 6:30 am the next morning. From the online reviews I thought this hotel would be convenient and not too bad of a place to stay. I thought wrong. First off, I had to wait over an hour for the hotel shuttle to pick me up (one of the reasons I stayed at the hotel). Next, by the time the hotel shuttle got me to the hotel, the restuarant was closed (another reason for staying there). The staff was not friendly. The internet was terribly slow in the rooms as well. The rooms were VERY NOISY from the road and airport. The security was not present as doors the secure doors were open. The room had a bad odor and shower was dirty. I would not stay at this hotel again. I stayed on Jan. 7,, 2010.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kosrae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I was concerned about noise because of close proximity to the airport, but although you could hear aircraft from time to time it was not an issue. The hotel was rather quiet and peaceful. I appreciated the security measures. The service staff I encountered were very pleasant and helpful. Because I was visiting my daughter and son-in-law who live on Schofield Barracks I didn't want to be in the downtown Honolulu tourist area with all the crowds and traffic so this location was ideal. The one point I didn't appreciate was having to pay a nightly parking fee.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melodic_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

The best thing about the hotel is it's vicinity to the airport and it's airport shuttle.

Very unattractive, industrial area. No choice in restaurants nearby.
Endless corridors, implying very long walks to the rooms.
Room is ok.

Only advisable for a 1 night stay after a late arrival at the airport (or early departure).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I agree with all the reveiws everyone has written about this airport hotel. The only thing I would like to add that you may find useful is that there is a strip mall full of eateries (even a starbucks) just down the road that cannot be seen from the hotel.
Walk out the main entrance of the hotel, turn left to the side street, then walk about a block.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nubeena, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

This was an in transit stay for me and my 14 month old daughter. We were traveling from Australia to the USA and then back again, so we stayed two nights. It was recently updated at the time and the air conditioning was nice and cold while it was very hot and humid outside (coming from our coldest month in Australia, we could feel the Hawaii summer). I was pleased all around and found it to be the 3 stars that it's rated. Only hassle was needing to take a shuttled to the Best Western for our evening meal, but the buffet there was nice! On the way home we opted for pizza delivered to the room. I am contemplating staying here again when we take another trip to the USA, this time as hubby will be with us we will stay a few days and see a little of Honolulu. Oh and the elevator was a bit on the old side.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariahzwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
497 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,476 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing