We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very clean, convenient, friendly!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very clean, convenient, friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We enjoyed our brief stay at the Airport Honolulu Hotel. We were just staying overnight and catching a very early flight out the next morning, so this hotel was perfect for us. We had excellent service checking in, and assistance in storing our bags (many and huge!) downstairs, and taking other bags to the room. It was very clean, large and comfortable. We are at the hotel restaurant, Willoughby's Restaurant, and thoroughly enjoyed our food and attentive service. Upon leaving, even though it was 3:30 AM, we had friendly assistance with our bags again to the shuttle. All staff we met obviously took pride in their service and genuinely showed concern for their visitors' comfort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    345
    302
    106
    69
See reviews for
222
363
139
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. I especially liked our housekeeper, Delia. She was very friendly. Not only did she do a great job cleaning our room but she also took time to talk with me. Tell me about a few restaurants close by. Some things to explore. I do wish the hotel would invest in some fitted sheets. But other than that everything was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for one night in order to catch an early flight following an island transfer with my husband and baby. Collection bus came quite quickly once we had called from the airport phone. There was no-one obviously around to help with bags after we had checked in so manoeuvring the luggage/stroller/portable crib and baby was a little tricky. Room 301 was right by the lift and had space for a portable crib to be put up next to the bed and away from the air con machine. For dinner we got take-out from Sushi Ninja which was a short walk away and was reasonably priced and tasty. There is a filter coffee machine but no kettle but we were there for such a short time we didn't ask to see if one could be supplied. Fridge had plenty of space for baby food. Room itself was fine and clean.

Return buses to the airport depart on the hour and half hour so we had to catch the 5am bus to meet the JQ4 08:15 flight which was very early. If I didn't have the baby I would advise getting the later bus as JQ4 is one of the first flights and there were no security queues on the Saturday we travelled.

Room Tip: If you have lots of bags ask for a room near the lift as the corridor is long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyEES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha SydneyEES,

Thank youfor staying with us on your most recent visit. We are pleased to hear we were able to meet your expectations for a quick layover.

As you mentioned, we do have a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport that does leave every hour and half hour. We do extend our apologies regarding the lack of assistance once you arrived to the hotel. Our staff does offer great service and so we will look into this incident.

Thank you again for staying and we look forward to welcoming you back on another layover.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was very pleased with the housekeeping staff, specifically Delia who was in charge of my room. She was very pleasant everyday that I saw her, did an excellent job, and made me feel at home. There were other issues with the hotel that I didn't like, particularly the parking, but she made it worth the stay. Should be commended on her customer service and job performance!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha Aaron C,

On behalf of the staff and management of the Airport Honolulu Hotel, we are appreciative of your patronage, review, and compliments of our staff.

We would like to apologize for the lack of parking during the time you were here. We continue to run high occupancies and look for solutions to the parking concerns. Our Housekeeping staff does a tremendous job in offering great service and ensuring our guests are comfortable during their stay!

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

My rating is based on the fact that the hotel exceeded my expectations, not that it's the best hotel I've ever stayed at. I booked my reservation over the phone with a person who works with government employees (I forget his name, but he was extremely helpful). My primary interest in staying here was the proximity it had to the airport. I did not want to haul all the way into Waikiki for a single overnight stay.
Honolulu has surprisingly very few places to stay outside of Waikiki Beach which is a real hassle if you're not there to vacation. I could only find two realistic options, and this was one of them. Under the same circumstances I would stay here again without hesitation. The rate I paid was very fair, the bed/room were comfortable and clean, and it is located super close to the airport.
That said, I would definitely not stay here if I were in town to vacation... it's way too far from the things most vacationers come to do (beach scene, restaurants, shopping, etc.)

Room Tip: If you are a government employee, make your reservation by phone with the person from the hotel assi...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank outsideagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here 2 years ago and title of my review was "only for the airport". Definitely seems to have 'upped' it's game since then.

Check-in is much more friendly, rooms are smarter and wifi is now free and available in the rooms.

Restaurant was still closed (does it ever open?) and prices increased.

Still a good option for an early or late flight but not a lot of other reasons to stay here.

Would have given 3.5* if that was possible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MushroomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Aloha MushroomTraveller,

On behalf of the staff and management of the Airport Honolulu Hotel, thank you for returning to our hotel after two years!

After reading your review, it is great to hear the improvements we made have a positive impact. We continue to look for ways to upgrade and add value to our property. Regarding Willoughby's Restaurant, we are open Tuesday-Thursday for dinner from 5:00-9:30pm. If you stay with us Friday-Monday, our sister property Best Western The Plaza Hotel does offer dinner and our complimentary shuttle can take you there.

Again, thank you for returning to the Airport Honolulu Hotel and commenting on our improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully before another two years pass by.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for about a week because we were moving off island. We have 2 dogs and they accept dogs and the hotel is convenient to the airport. They put the people with dogs on the first floor and have rooms that have laminate flooring so it doesn't have smelly carpet from the animals that stay in the rooms. The staff was really friendly and the guys that operate the shuttle to the airport were awesome. The day we flew out they helped us load our suitcases and 2 big dog kennels with our dogs on the shuttle and helped us get it all in to the airport. The room was nice and a great size. The designated pet area outside REAKS and there's a lot of people that don't clean up after their pets, but I guess that's expected and we were just happy to have found a place that was affordable, nice, clean inside, and allows dogs!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Aloha Miranda M,

Thank you for writing a complimentary review of the Airport Honolulu Hotel. Our staff and management are appreciative of your decision to stay with us and are glad to hear we were able to provide great service to you.

As you mentioned, we do allow pets and have spacious rooms with tile to avoid unwanted smells. Our shuttle drivers and bellmen do a great job in ensuring our guests are taken cared of and we offer the best service possible.

Thank you for staying with us prior to your relocation. If you are ever back in Honolulu, please come visit us!

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ala Moana Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing