We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Works for me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Ili'ili, American Samoa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Works for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First, let me say that every single staff member I have encountered has been friendly, professional and helpful. From Kehau at the front desk for check in (thank you again!) to my wonderful housekeeper Marie and even the guy vacuuming the hallway when I had a problem with the doors (sorry I missed your name...) and even the concession store ladies have made the stay easy.

I have stayed here numerous (10+) times over the years, on a VA ticket, on gov rate and for personal travel. I understand the frustration of the higher rates, but the specific advantages of the location and convenience usually trump the cost. I would not choose to stay here for a "vacation", but for VA medical, military in/out and quick layovers it works.

The staff can help you get the bus to shopping, or walk to a small shopping area (5-6 min) or if you have ID there is a free shuttle to the NavEx/Commissary less than 10 min away.

If you rent a car, they do charge for parking (nearly every hotel on Oahu does...) and bear in mind that the parking spaces are REALLY tight (economy ok, compact better, big SUV forget it...)

They permit pets, and I have heard a dog barking occasionally, but not to irritation (more like makes me miss mine left at home...) and the housekeepers like animals!

If you are coming to Hawaii for a vacation, keep looking for a hotel that will meet your vacation expectations, but for a quick layover, a medical trip, or a family (all of the family; meow, woof) move to/from, this one should work for you too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha Amy L,

I would like to thank you for your most recent stay with us, your review of the Airport Honolulu Hotel, and your continued patronage. On behalf of the staff and management, we are appreciative of your continued support of the hotel.

As you mentioned we have a great location and our employees assist all of our guests to the highest level. We strive to present a product that meets the highest of expectations and you can tell our employees take pride in what they do.

Thank you again for continuing to stay with us. Should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact me at (808) 837-5931.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    305
    269
    99
    63
See reviews for
189
325
125
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honol
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our stay here has been very nice..we didn't have any problems during our stay. It was so convenient. Close to the hospital, stores and the complimentary shuttles. One the things we liked most about this trip was our housekeeper DELIA. She is a quick worker and always worked with a smile on her face. She is a committed and hard worker. Aside from her, the whole staff was super friendly and ready to help.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

i never got so nice and great service from any hotel i have ever been... i was greeted, help and shown to my room so fast and so friendly... but the best part was the house keeper ( DELIA ) i never problems on the time speed and the cleanliness of my room. and the trust i have that i can leave my high value items on my room. such friendly and inviting staff kept my stay here one of the best hotel on the island... one negative parking is not enough and too small for my vehicle (SUV)

Room Tip: close to the airport ... free shuttle to the airport and the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakay_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I don't understand the negative reviews here..we are currently staying at this hotel and are enjoying ourselves. We are getting ready to PCS off the island (we're military) and we are staying here for 9 days. We have not had one problem nor one complaint. The staff is friendly and the rooms are quiet, comfortable and very adequate. This is a perfectly lovely hotel. Yes, the decor is a bit outdated but still nice nonetheless.

Honestly, I think people just like to piss over small issues. Some people seem to have champagne taste with beer money. I'm only saying...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jclm1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waianae, Hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a hotel that is on the approved TLA list for PCSing military families. It was the closest we could get to where I worked on the west side that still had a shuttle and took promissory. It was always clean but the beds were not comfortable at all and the detergent was very harsh on my skin. The restaurant downstairs had an odd vibe to it and the prices were very expensive for what you got, even with the little discount they gave you (which covers half a dish).
It is located under the free way off Nimitz and it has the crappiest parking ever. You can walk to a Starbucks, which is nice though.

Bottom line: Stay here if you have to but otherwise, skip it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toastinsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We checked in at 11pm Friday with a contracted rate, yet couldn't find my reservation, so I was charged $169 a night not $109 a night the contracted rate of 8years back when it was still the Ohana Hotel.
The rooms and hotel Dated and old, it smells of old and run down.
The front desk staff was rude, and when asked for extra towels(only had 2sets for double bed room) I had my 2 children with me, I was also questioned if I only had 2 children in my room, then said I'm paying a lower rate? Which was not true and very over priced for this "motel" type place.
DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE, and the restaurant food was terrible!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xmencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent K, Assistant General Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Aloha Xmencroft,

Thank you for your most recent visit and review of the Airport Honolulu Hotel.

We apologize for the confusion with your rate and we will look into it. Your rate may no longer be available as it was 8 years ago and the contract may have been changed. Regarding the service you received at the Front Desk, our staff receives praises and so we will also investigate this matter. The Airport Honolulu Hotel has a great location with many other services catering to our guests, which our staff appreciates.

We thank you for your patronage and I am available to listen to your concerns. You may contact me directly at (808) 836-0661 and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Brent Kitsu
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Not bad for an airport hotel given that there aren't many to choose from. We arrived late at night and flew out the next morning so it worked for us, but for a longer stay I'd probably go to Waikiki as there's nothing much around this hotel (they do have a restaurant and a small convenience store). The decor is somewhat dated but everything was in good repair and not worn-looking, plus the bed was comfortable. It is a bit odd that they provide a fridge and a microwave, but not drinking glasses (just two paper cups for the coffee machine). Phoned from the airport for the complementary shuttle and it was there within 10 minutes. Returning to the airport, the shuttle leaves every 30 minutes (on the hour and half-hour) as long as there are passengers. They don't take reservations for the shuttle so if there are a lot of people waiting in the lobby you have to make a mad dash when the driver opens the door to make sure you get on.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank covecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Ohia Waikiki
#81 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Ewa Hotel
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing