We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap is not always better... wait it never is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap is not always better... wait it never is”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I found 4 cockroaches while I was there. The beds are hard as a rock and the food is very expensive and the taste does not match the price. I slept across from the elevator and had to listen to the door open and close all night. Also my door did not complete match up to the frame so it was louder than it probably would have been if the door actually worked properly. The cleaning folks never actually cleaned my room they just came in and made the beds every night and put towels (that had black hair all over them) back on the racks. How do I know they didn't clean, because my first night there I killed a cockroach on the table, to see if they actually cleaned the rooms I left it there, in PLAIN sight and it was there that night when I got back. Also killed one on the wall and on the dresser, over my 3 night stay. All there when I left on Friday. Trust me there are better places to stay then this dump. Oh and they allow pets so if you don't want to hear a dog whine don't stay here.

Room Tip: DON'T stay on the first floor or by an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needstotravelmore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to advise us on your experience. We are very disapoointed to hear the service failures you experienced. Our housekeeping department has always been the number 1 department that our guests praised. We will address all your concerns and our shortcomings with the respective departments.

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we wish you and your family a very happy holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    351
    304
    106
    69
See reviews for
228
366
141
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed at the Airport Honolulu for 5 nights and were very happy with our accomodations. It was booked because it was the cheapest we could find for that time period and we weren't disappointed. Our room had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker which is always nice to have. When we came back at night Elizabeth had done a great job making up the room. It is not on the beach but couldn't be closer to the airport. We did not notice the noise from the airport and as we had a car we were able to drive all over the island. We did find parking was always in short supply as we tended to get in later at night, however when we would check with security they always found us a spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cud5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed 1 night at this hotel when we first arrived in Honolulu. We were leaving early the next morning to Big Island and getting in late, we needed a place to sleep.

This hotel has all that you would need for either one night or longer. Big rooms, bathroom products, fridge, tv and we were lucky enough to be given a room on the quieter side near the carpark and away from the highway.

Easy airport shuttle - just call the hotel from the baggage claim and they tell you to go to the outside section of baggage claim E where they will be waiting in their van. As the hotel is only 5 mins from the airport, no long waits are needed. Getting back to the airport the next morning the shuttle runs on the half hour, every half hour - couldn't be easier.

They do offer breakfast in the morning which we didn't need as we left early (not included in the price), and the restaurant closes at 9pm and only runs a few days of the week, however, reception staff gave us a map and highlighted restaurants nearby within walking distance as needed.

All staff were very friendly and helpful and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back next to the carpark as is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SchnooksScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My girlfriend and I reserved a room online, only to arrive and find that while we had paid for and reserved a "Superior King" room, we were given a room with two double beds. Nothing superior about it. On top of that, the room smelled (smells, actually -- I'm writing this review from the hotel's WiFi) like some combination of wet dog and dirty diapers.

While the front desk staff was polite, they were unable to offer either a solution or any reasonable compensation for these issues. They offered to: 1) spray down the room with some sort of perfume to cover up the smell, 2) comp our parking, when we JUST returned our rental car because they charge an additional $25 to park, and 3) give us meal vouchers for the hotel's restaurant, which our 8am flight will not allow us to use.

Thanks for nothing.

To make matters worse, the manager I spoke to at the front desk alternated between telling me they didn't have any rooms to move us into, and telling me that since we had already thrown our bags into the room before running off to get dinner, the room needed to be cleaned again and we could no longer be moved to a different room. This seemed to suggest that there WERE other rooms available to move us to, but he just didn't want to go to the trouble of making it happen.

In the end, we overpaid for a smelly room that did not come close to matching what we reserved. We would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately, we sometimes are unable to honor all bedding requests due to high occupancy, since it was Honolulu Marathon weekend. We apologize that your room did not smell fresh and crisp and you were unable to accept our gestures of apology.

We want all our guests to leave our hotel happy and satisfied so please kindly contact me personally at rodolfo.fao@outrigger.com if you would give us another opporutnity to better serve you again.

Warm Regards & Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is real close to the airport - in fact you could actually walk there if so inclined. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Some are close to highway and hence noisy - so be sure to ask for a room away from highway if noise bothers you. Wireless internet is free but there is a charge if you wish to print any document in the reception area. Airport shuttle runs every 30 minutes on the hour and half-hour. By the way, it is confusing but the shuttle van has a Best Western logo on it as apparently the service is shared with the nearly Best Western.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The Airport Hotel is very convenient to the airport and the shuttle service is great. My disappointment is in the overall quality of the hotel, which is different than the website indicates. We were told at check in that our room key was necessary to operate the elevator, which gives the impression of security. This wasn't true - push any floor and there you go. We asked to see another room because of the freeway noise and the outside door to this back building was completely unlocked. We walked in with the security guard who was very nonchalant about the 2 questionable women in skimpy clothing waiting at the door. Again the elevator operated without a key.

Room Tip: Wish I knew.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terry21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location by the airport and our complimentary airport shuttle service.

Thank you for bringing to our attention that our security doors and elevators weren't functioning properly. We will look into them at once as we take safety and security seriously.

We hope your visit to Honolulu was up to your expectations and we look forward to servicing you again at our hotel.

Have a safe and fun-filled holiday seaon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We need hotel near airport with airport transfer for out night flight. Hotel is 5 min drive with airport shuttle. You can call for shuttle from phones located in airport arrival hall. Rooms are clean, spacious and well equiped (microwawe) There is small shop in the hotel, you can buy small necessities. I think there is a bus stop near, but do not excactly know where, we use taxi from hotel to short visit of Pearl Harbour ($15) for taxi. Internet connection in the hotel are complimentary and working without problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tibor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#74 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing